We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not worth the money - there are better places to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2009

we spent 2 nights here in nov after being recommended to us by friends. The room was very spacious and had everything we needed. Unfortunately the pool was not very clean. Breakfast is served at one of two local cafes - you get a voucher for up to R140 per couple - Il de pain nextdoor was fantastic for breakfast -def recommend. unfortunately this was closed on the second morning so we had to go to Jamie Blue - service was very poor here and we were very disappointed. The standard of accommodation -esp guesthouses and B&Bs is so high that you really don't need to spend this amount of money for an 'average' hotel...there are better places to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiltzManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 354 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2009

I can only assume that all the very positive reviews came from guests that stayed in the 'front part' of the hotel.

The place is definitely quirky and original. We were thrilled when we checked in. Unfortunately, our room was at the very end of the corridor, and was directly on top of the bakery/cafe. Thus, there was a permenent smell of baked bread. Believe it or not, this can be quite annoying after the first hour or so. Even opening the window did not help.

Unfortunately, it got worse. At about 5 am, the bakery staff arrive and from then onwards, you can hear the sound of the oven doors opening; pots banging and timers going off.

I would suggest to the hotel management that they simply charge a lesser amount for these rooms, as they are vastly inferior to the others (they do not have a balcony either as do all the other rooms).

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princess_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Upon arriving to The Lofts and seeing our room, my husband and I both wished we were spending more than just one night there. This is the ultimate place to relax--our room had a huge balcony with two memory-foam reclining lounge chairs. The entire hotel has a very serene and calming marine theme, as it is built into an old boatshed--the old beams are visible throughout the rooms and common areas. The building is white wood to matches the seaside look of the other buildings on Thesen Island.

Positives:
-- Rooms are sparkling clean, with very comfortable beds and furniture
-- Beautiful modern bathrooms with tile and glass shower
-- Breakfast coupons for Ile de Pain bistro around the corner
-- Free parking
-- Spa, massage, and exercise facilities/courses on site

Negatives:
-- Obstructed ocean view from rooms; need to go to common lounge areas for full ocean view
-- Front desk closes at 19:30, so if you arrive late, you need to call the management to let you in (not an easy thing to do when you are traveling abroad and have a cell phone that only works in your home country, and there's no one else around to help you

The hotel's location on Thesen Island makes it one of the most exclusive spots in Knysna--very quiet and isolated, without being too far from any of the dining, activities, and nightlife in Knysna proper. The perfect place to chill out, relax, and absorb the cool sea breeze all day! May be better suited for younger travelers and couples traveling without children. The photos on their website do not do justice to the rooms!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stargirlssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Reception "LuLu" was very welcoming and showed me around. The room was quiet and ideally suited for one with a huge balcony. The hotel is centrally located on Theusen Island in walking distance of resturants and little shops. Sunday there is a local craft market.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank futterCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

The Lofts were a really nice place to stay. The rooms were clean and roomy with private balconies that have a albeit obstructed view of the lagoon. The architecture of the boatshed is really unique, you can easily walk to everything on Thesen Island and parking is very easy. The only drawback is the lack of reception after 7:30pm, which if you are late checking in, you will need an international cell phone to call them. Good luck with any dinner recommendations either. They did however give us a late check-out at noon.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveller7074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

The hotel itself is lovely, well maintained and serviced, We stayed in the Tower Suite #1 which has a great view over the lagoon. The room has a large shower with two heads, a toilet in a separate room, but the bath was extremely small. The hotel is located on the very upmarket Thesen Island, which has lovely restaurants, shops and even apartments on the opposite side of the hotel.

We had breakfast (the Lofts provided a breakfast voucher) at Jamie Blue - Boere Bistro, which is excellent and provides a very personal service (Try the Croissant with fried banana & bacon!). The attached Le Spa Tranquille was great, we had a hot stone massage, and foot scrub.

The photos you can find on trip advisor portray the hotel perfectly, everything we asked for was provided, and everything went smoothly. I would definately stay here again, although probably in the Summer months or during the Knysna oyster festival, the island was very quiet during our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

The place for me was really good, comfortable and warm, I love to bring my loved one on the next visit. up to today I still tell my friends and colleagues about that place, and Knysna at large (mind you it was my first time in Knysna). The only problem I've notice is the signs that clearly gives a direction to a place, starting from Town main road at least the turn on the traffic lights can 1st show the direction, then on the traffic lights before fire station can give clear direction, that's my suggestion. when think about it make it easy to find when you know you cross the lovely small bridge, Nice place in all.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
829 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.3 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
1.8 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lofts Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Business Hotel in Knysna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: $200 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What better way to enjoy Knysna than a stay on an island, located not only in the heart of the Knysna Lagoon, but also in a Blue Flag Marina in the very centre of Knysna? Set within the remodelled timber frame of the old Knysna boatbuilding shed, the hotel rooms take one's breath away with their industrial refurbishment and design. This fresh, smart-casual approach is far from the ordinary, and caters well to every desire. Multiple room options are presented in various styles: Exclusive Lagoon Suites Luxury Loft Suites Luxury Units with Self-catering Facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing