We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Knysna)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveler rating
222
114
35
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
114
35
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsile de painthesen islandbreakfast vouchersharbour townself cateringbreakfast is servedunderfloor heatinggarden routeour room was spaciouswe loved our staythe ground floorgreat roomenjoyable stayoystersoverlooking the lagoonamazing viewsstayed nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 386 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2009

The Lofts were a really nice place to stay. The rooms were clean and roomy with private balconies that have a albeit obstructed view of the lagoon. The architecture of the boatshed is really unique, you can easily walk to everything on Thesen Island and parking is very easy. The only drawback is the lack of reception after 7:30pm, which if you are late checking in, you will need an international cell phone to call them. Good luck with any dinner recommendations either. They did however give us a late check-out at noon.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveller7074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

The hotel itself is lovely, well maintained and serviced, We stayed in the Tower Suite #1 which has a great view over the lagoon. The room has a large shower with two heads, a toilet in a separate room, but the bath was extremely small. The hotel is located on the very upmarket Thesen Island, which has lovely restaurants, shops and even apartments on the opposite side of the hotel.

We had breakfast (the Lofts provided a breakfast voucher) at Jamie Blue - Boere Bistro, which is excellent and provides a very personal service (Try the Croissant with fried banana & bacon!). The attached Le Spa Tranquille was great, we had a hot stone massage, and foot scrub.

The photos you can find on trip advisor portray the hotel perfectly, everything we asked for was provided, and everything went smoothly. I would definately stay here again, although probably in the Summer months or during the Knysna oyster festival, the island was very quiet during our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

The place for me was really good, comfortable and warm, I love to bring my loved one on the next visit. up to today I still tell my friends and colleagues about that place, and Knysna at large (mind you it was my first time in Knysna). The only problem I've notice is the signs that clearly gives a direction to a place, starting from Town main road at least the turn on the traffic lights can 1st show the direction, then on the traffic lights before fire station can give clear direction, that's my suggestion. when think about it make it easy to find when you know you cross the lovely small bridge, Nice place in all.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We tried this place out after doing some googling, and found that it exceeded our expectations. For the amount of money they charge, the rooms are huge (we got a double storey apartment, with 2 x bathrooms + lounge + kitchen etc).

They don't have a lot of rooms, so you don't have to contend with hordes of people. The place is small enough, and the staff friendly enough for it to be "comfortable" and feel like a home away from home.

There's not much in the sense of facilities in the hotel itself, but there's no need as Knysna has tons of things to do, and you do after all go on holiday to places like Knysna to see the area, and not spend all day in the hotel.

They don't have cartoon network or Disney on their TV entertainment system which to me is a big plus, as the kids don't want to spend the whole day in front of the tv.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jge97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

this hotel is in a great location on Thessen Island - nicely away from the noise of Knysna, short walk away from the waterfront - possibly the best location in Knysna.

Hotel is beautiful - rooms well appointed and large terrace area with day beds - perfect for drinks before an evening meal. And for that, we would recommend Scirocco or Lush (just 2 mins away) - both part of the same company (although give 34 South at the waterfront a miss - service was awful and the food not a patch on Scirocco).

Breakfast is served in one of a number of restaurants. Although Il de Pain (joined to the hotel) is the nearest and also very good, we would recommend trying the others too - you get a voucher each morning from reception, but if you're not going to Il de Pain make sure you get a voucher specific for one of the other restaurants as they're specific. If you dont want breakfast, use the Il de Pain voucher for a good lunch - the sandwiches are great!

the only slight downside of the hotel is the walls - they are very thin between the rooms and we were able to converse with our friends in the next room!! but this isnt really a problem - dont let it put you off staying at an otherwise excellent hotel with really good customer service and very friendly housekeeping.

We also recommend a horseriding safari at the Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve - and we've never ridden before!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews