We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Honeymoon...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Honeymoon...”
Reviewed February 8, 2009

Absolutely brilliant! Stunning rooms, breathtaking view.
Unpretentious, We felt comfortable being ourselves.

If we didnt feel like eating at a fancy place, we were comfortable to just buy some take-out from spur,

It was really lovely, I didnt feel like i was living in a snooty place, and i would recommend it to anyone, well worth every cent...

Dr Sadhai

  • Liked — Unpretentious
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank N_S_Cape_Town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    102
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
69
184
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

Wonderful place to stay for Honeymoon, very friendly staff, amazing views over Knysna Lagoon! Best holiday ever!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — A bit expensive
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

The Lofts are on Thesen Island, which is a relatively new development of vacation homes and not a "organically grown" area and therefore has a certain athmosphere that one should be aware of. The guest house itself feels like a guest house, which it is, and NOT like a hotel. The staff is helpful but services are somewhat limited. Pool is the size of a large bath tub and not very well maintained. So are the rooms (we stayed in one of the regular rooms): On the smaller side, a little worn/rusty/moldy, permanently stained towels, the bathroom had an automatic fragrance sprayer of the kind used in public bathrooms that emitted the smell of an airport urinal every fifteen minutes. The decor was not done with a lot of attention to detail and to me did not feel very individual or tasteful, but as if someone went to IKEA and carted back a truckload of stuff. Still, it definitely is a good base to explore Knysna and its surroundings. Overall a decent but not perfect place.

  • Liked — maritime feel
  • Disliked — lack of attention to detail
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10179k79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

We stayed in one of the suites that other reviewers have described as "all in one room". They are indeed arranged almost completely open plan, but are very well done. I guess if this isn't to your taste it could be a problem, but we liked it a lot.
Also stunning was the view - you could see right out over the whole lagoon.

The surrounding area is nice enough. It's very modern and "New England" in design, but is perhaps a little sterile to spend too much time exploring.

We actually found the staff very helpful. They booked us several very good trips out, and suggested replacements when one was unavailable due to weather.

Overall a very nice hotel in one of the better towns on the garden route.

  • Liked — Views
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2008

Beautiful view; that was the positive part. About the room: the design of the room was terrible. The designer took more effort in the design than in functionality. Everything but the toilet was in one room.
Our check in was handled in a rush. The staff was very friendly, but on two occasions they failed to pass us information in time and on one occasion they gave us wrong information about the costs of a trip with an external guide, which gave us a very uneasy feeling. Of course we paid the full amount.

Furthermore, the reception desk was unmanned after 19.30; guests had to rely on a telephone number in case of any questions or an emergency. Finally, for a 4-star hotel one would expect the breakfast to be inclusive of the hotel rate without any additional costs; the concept of a breakfast voucher of R 50 is, in our view, unprofessional. The breakfast was not even in the hotel itself, except on Mondays. If Mondays are possible, why not offer your guests breakfast in the hotel during the whole week?

  • Liked — We are very sorry, but only the view was positive
  • Disliked — The design of the room; not African at all and not functional.
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulMaastricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

We really had a lovely time in the lofts. It's a small place, across the bridge from Knysna on Thesen island. It was quiet when we were there, but it was low season. The area is really safe, a few boutiques nearby and on the lower floor of the guesthouse, and some nice restaurants.

We were a walk-in group and they gave us two lovely rooms. There is a nice set of self-service bars in this place, with really nice views over the water. There are boardgames and cards in the bars.

The breakfast was very good, great selection of muffins, cold meats, cheese, fruit on a buffet table, and a hot breakfast available too.

I had a chest infection and asked for directions to a lcoal doctor to get some medication (didn't want to wreck my holiday letting it get worse). The really helpful receptionist booked the appointment for me (on a sunday!), drew directions and was really really helpful.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pwurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

We stayed here for one night in August as it was mentioned in a guide book. The rooms were all nicely decorated with balconies. It is located on Thesen Island (just across the bridge from Knysna) which has a number of restaurants and interesting shops all within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.3 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lofts Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Property: The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lofts Boutique Hotel is housed in the old Boatshed on Thesen Islands, Knysna. The refurbished building with its architectural design gives The Lofts Boutique Hotel an individuality which is also reflected in the difference in the Luxury Loft Rooms & Self catering apartments’ decor. Our accommodation consists of 3 lagoon suites with uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the lagoon, 7 luxury loft rooms and 5 luxury 2-bedroom suites all overlooking the beautiful architecture of Thesen Harbour Town. We also offer our guests a beautiful splash pool to laze around on sunny days & a martini bar lounge area where you can relax with a cup of coffee in the morning or enjoy a drink while watching the sun set in the afternoon.Our friendly service will spoil you and will make your stay memorable. Visit the privately owned spa and pamper yourself with luxurious treatments or stroll through The Boatshed and enjoy the unique shops open for you to experience or enjoy a superb meal at famous île de païn bread café, one of South Africa’s top ten restaurants.The location on the waters’ edge provides our guests with a tranquil relaxing experience. Here you will enjoy the serenity of an island, the magnificent views of the surrounding green hills and the power of nature expressed by the changing moods of the lagoon.The Lofts Boutique Hotel will be your most memorable escape to date! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing