We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concept - but some serious issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great concept - but some serious issues”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

First things first - The Lofts is not a hotel in the conventional sense: there is no 24 hour staff presence at all, and no meals available - even breakfast (you get a voucher for a cafe round the corner). The good news is that it is a quirky concept, stylishly designed and furnished, in a nice setting.

Perhaps the most serious flaw relates to the unusual layout of the rooms opening onto an atrium which is shared with totally unrelated business premises on the ground floor. As a result we were woken at 7.15 am as business owners opened up, playing music and even sorting through piles of crockery. The single glazing between our 2-bedroom suite and the atrium was a major problem in this respect.

The suite was nicely furnished, but there were some oddities such as no air-con in one of the bedrooms. There were also some examples of basic lack of attention to design detail such as no shaver socket in the bathroom.... surely a basic amenity at this level?

It's a truism that good hoteliers always sleep in each of their rooms, to find out what the experience is actually like. That clearly hasn't happened in The Lofts - how else to explain a rooflight directly over the bed in our upper bedroom, with no curtain or blind, so that it was impossible to sleep beyond daybreak?

Security would concern me at The Lofts - not only are there multiple points of entry to the atrium via the business premises, none of which the hotel can control, but after mid-evening, access to the hotel is via a set of patio doors with a single conventional key lock - hardly secure!

My impression of The Lofts is that a huge amount of effort and thought was put into creating a stylish concept, but far too little was spent thinking through the details.

Room Tip: Although I don't know what the room themselves are like, the 2 rooms over reception (don't w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grimble22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager55, Owner at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Security Measures at The Lofts Boutique Hotel

“Our Tripadvisor critic would not necessarily have been aware of the following”

The Lofts Boutique Hotel regards security a high priority. We like our security to be unobtrusive but, in order to put our guests’ minds at rest, the following measures are in place:

1) Thesen Harbour Town has 24 hour on-site security managed by ‘Allsound Security’
2) Any suspicious person or suspicious activity is reported to the security company at any
time – 24/7
3) The areas surrounding ‘The Boatshed’, which includes The Lofts Boutique Hotel, have
cameras which are monitored on a 24 hour basis
4) The Lofts Boutique Hotel is locked at 19h30 after which the doors and windows are
checked twice on the rounds of the person in charge
5) Thesen Harbour Town’s security patrols check the doors on a regular and controlled basis
throughout non-working hours
6) Each business in the commercial area has a “panic button”
7) The independent businesses within The Boatshed that are on the ground floor are all
‘owner run’ and close their doors at 17h00 every day. Each owner only has keys to their
own shop
8) The Lofts Boutique Hotel has keys for all doors leading to the courtyard inside the building
– thus all doors can be locked if accidentally left open after designated working hours

If a guest requires any further information regarding our security, please contact reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    102
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
69
184
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here about 6 years ago as a one night stop over on the garden route and I wish we had booked more time. The place is truly amazing and I felt at ease. The room we had looked out over the water and the views were brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The lodge is very nice to stay, both for families as couples. It's location is very nice, breakfast is just around the corner and/or you have to option for self catering. Dinner at Waterfront is also very close (walking distance). There is a small, but nice pool.
Brenton has a nice (but rough) beach and for families the beach a Leisure Island is a very good option. For both you will need a car though.
The Lofts has a canoe which can be used complementary, for the little ones a life vest is available.

Room Tip: The apartments are all different, it is hard to say where to stay, but if available have a look and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dereksdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Good setting on the very safe Thesen Island. Room was comfortable and of a good size; a few rooms have views over the lagoon. A couple of points of which you should be aware: 1. internet access is not included (you have to pay for it at R35 per 100MB, only usable on 1 device at a time). 2. as stated on the website, there is no breakfast provided. Instead, a voucher is offered to make a contribution towards the cost of breakfast at a nearby establishment (the marvellous Isle de Pain is much recommended). We found that the voucher was of insufficient value to cover a glass of fruit juice, a coffee and one modest plate of food, so you will probably end up paying towards your breakfast. These two issues are pretty minor but were a shame given the prices charged, and the very pleasant nature of the guest house.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmam34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the lofts for 5 nights in December and we absolutely loved it! The rooms themselves were beautifully decorated and on top of that we had a wonderful view of the lagoons from our balcony! But what really made our visit memorable was the excellent service we received during our stay, in particular from the lovely Rhoda. There are many hotels, guesthouses in SA and the world where you will find similarly luxurious accommodation, but it the personal touch that Rhoda gives to this establishment that differentiates it from the rest. Throughout our visit we found Rhoda to be engaging, warm and extremely helpful, she is someone who clearly enjoys her job. By the way if you do plan to stay at the lofts, make sure you to listen to Rhoda's recommendations, as a a result of her tips we had some great day trips and also ate some great food!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilChou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have stayed twice at the Lofts and both times has been an excellent experience. Can't recommend enough. Rooms are well appointed and you can't beat the location right on the Estuary. The staff were polite and friendly and it makes a welcome change.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My son and I were travelling the Garden Route and liked this hotel so much we extended for a second night! The ambiance is incredible as the rooms have been created out of an old boat-buiding hall. There are lovely old timbers everywhere, yet the rooms are ultra modern, ours had twin white leather couches, a great contrast to the old warm wood. We were in a two-storey, two full bedroom and 2 bathroom self-catering unit - the kitchen was super attractive, too. We even had a balcony, although that did look over a parking lot. The pool is small, but the deck around it has a great view over the lagoon and the sun is there until just before sunset. I even visited the attached spa for a treatment, which was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skib99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.3 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lofts Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Property: The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lofts Boutique Hotel is housed in the old Boatshed on Thesen Islands, Knysna. The refurbished building with its architectural design gives The Lofts Boutique Hotel an individuality which is also reflected in the difference in the Luxury Loft Rooms & Self catering apartments’ decor. Our accommodation consists of 3 lagoon suites with uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the lagoon, 7 luxury loft rooms and 5 luxury 2-bedroom suites all overlooking the beautiful architecture of Thesen Harbour Town. We also offer our guests a beautiful splash pool to laze around on sunny days & a martini bar lounge area where you can relax with a cup of coffee in the morning or enjoy a drink while watching the sun set in the afternoon.Our friendly service will spoil you and will make your stay memorable. Visit the privately owned spa and pamper yourself with luxurious treatments or stroll through The Boatshed and enjoy the unique shops open for you to experience or enjoy a superb meal at famous île de païn bread café, one of South Africa’s top ten restaurants.The location on the waters’ edge provides our guests with a tranquil relaxing experience. Here you will enjoy the serenity of an island, the magnificent views of the surrounding green hills and the power of nature expressed by the changing moods of the lagoon.The Lofts Boutique Hotel will be your most memorable escape to date! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing