We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice trendy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location and nice trendy hotel”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at this trendy place for 2 days and loved every moment of it and Knysna what a place to be. there is no restaurant or breakfast in the hotel but they hand over vouchers instead where we can chose from nearby restaurant or coffee shops. And in a way it was good. Loved the food at the places we went. will write a separate review for it. The room we had was a lagoon intrigue suite loved it. Although the bathroom and the bedroom had no walls or curtains. it was open. Since we had a 3 year old with us we had to be careful to use the tub. Shower was in a cubical so that was fine. Rest all the room was great, staff friendly and the bar area was quite nice. they have a spa too but we never used the services. And overall a nice experience. Loved Knysna. the best place ever.

Room Tip: Lagoon suite rooms are quite good for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namanpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    102
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
69
184
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benoni, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Lofts in August. The luxury suite was very comfortable and we had a lovely view of the lagoon. We liked the fact that you got a choice of different restaurants for breakfast, every morning was something different. Eventhough we had very little to do with the staff, they were always friendly and welcoming. We would return to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharlee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Lofts in Knysna in August. The staff while friendly was not especially helpful for local area information as they seemed unfamiliar and were quick to jump to a brochure for more info. Fortunately, their positive attitude and willingness to help made up for the lack of info.
The rooms and common areas are awesome. The lofts are two stories with a full kitchen, two bathrooms and bedrooms, and a balcony. The entrances open into catwalks that cross over a wildly designed common area, spa facilities sprawled beneath, giving you an almost tree-house feeling. The rooms would be perfect fitting two couples traveling together or a family.
We recommend against any sort of breakfast options that the hotel offers as they provide only a voucher ($ for $) for a choice of a couple local restaurants. Instead just go to the restaurant yourself (Il de Pan is an incredible bakery/cafe located less than a 1 minute away). Location wise, Thesen Island boasts a safe area where visitors/residents have a handful of restaurants within a short walk of anywhere on the island.
Overall, 4-stars for this hotel and we would return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dms797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed for 1 night during the past weekend. It was a nice big room and I like the rustic styling in the bathroom area. My biggest gripe is the fact that the shower was in the bath (one of my pet hates!) and no mirror at the washbasin, which made shaving difficult for my husband, and I had to carry my make up to the bedroom to do in front of a mirror.
The bathroom had 2 framed mirrors against the wall over the bath. In the top one you could see your forehead and the bottom one, your navel!

We paid for a luxury suite and just expected more. Small things like these pointed out, can make a difference.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Songbird7900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port elizabeth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Friendly staff, rooms are cosy and comfortable. Ours had a lovely view of the lagoon. Quiet and peaceful location.We visted when it rainy and cold, but the underfloor heating made our stay very comfortable. I can recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavinapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

What a find! We were welcomed by friendly staff, and treated to the most spacious family accommodation in the self catering apartments. The rooms and facilities are all modern and the decor is beautiful. Our children felt welcome, and the underfloor heating and air conditioning made for a cosy stay in the cold winter weather. We will definitley be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Our past weekend at the Lofts proved yet again that self catering and hotel luxury CAN work and be great. We really like the studio we were allocated, VERY spacious, beautiful & tastefully furnished, very well equipt. We enjoyed the freedom of being able to do our mails ( the ones we chose too) but also because of the great location on These island we could easilt walk to a number of stunning restaurants. We enjoyed the extra space with our son when the weather turned foul. The staff was super helpful and friendly. We had a small issue with a power failure and they handled it beautifully efficiently. There were 2 things that we were not happy with and unfortunately for us it spoilted our stay a little. The lovely spacious place had the weirdest, tiniest shower bathroom right in the reception area. Surely with such an abundance of space this could have been avoided. The main bedroom shower was right next to the front door! Strange. The thing that REALLY annoyed us was the extreme lighting in hallway outside our room. VERY bright and disturbing, not even the blinds could make our rooms dark. Surely the foot lights are enough at night and no bright overhead lights are needed?? We will nowever return again but will request a room with better bathroom set up and next time I will go and turn off the passage lights myself.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JolizeSheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.3 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lofts Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Property: The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lofts Boutique Hotel is housed in the old Boatshed on Thesen Islands, Knysna. The refurbished building with its architectural design gives The Lofts Boutique Hotel an individuality which is also reflected in the difference in the Luxury Loft Rooms & Self catering apartments’ decor. Our accommodation consists of 3 lagoon suites with uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the lagoon, 7 luxury loft rooms and 5 luxury 2-bedroom suites all overlooking the beautiful architecture of Thesen Harbour Town. We also offer our guests a beautiful splash pool to laze around on sunny days & a martini bar lounge area where you can relax with a cup of coffee in the morning or enjoy a drink while watching the sun set in the afternoon.Our friendly service will spoil you and will make your stay memorable. Visit the privately owned spa and pamper yourself with luxurious treatments or stroll through The Boatshed and enjoy the unique shops open for you to experience or enjoy a superb meal at famous île de païn bread café, one of South Africa’s top ten restaurants.The location on the waters’ edge provides our guests with a tranquil relaxing experience. Here you will enjoy the serenity of an island, the magnificent views of the surrounding green hills and the power of nature expressed by the changing moods of the lagoon.The Lofts Boutique Hotel will be your most memorable escape to date! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing