We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - couldn't fault anything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent - couldn't fault anything”
Reviewed March 16, 2011

This was our second visit and we stayed 16 nights. It's quiet, peaceful and comfortable. Location is good, away from the bustle of Knysna town but lots of choice for eating on the island or just across the causeway. Above all the management and staff can't do enough for you. We plan to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fungus21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    105
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
70
189
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We had a huge loft suite (1a) - by far a better room than others. Great views over the lagoon and the sun deck is on the water. Spacious well appointed loft, modern and fresh. Open plan bathroom. Great recption from super helpful host. Honesty bar in nice spot. Pool a sun trap and relaxing if perhaps a little small. Free kayak and bicycles were great for sunset paddle or cycle around the Island. Spacious place in brilliant location. Walking distance to good restaurants, but a short drive to brilliant places. Il de Pain just perfect for breakfast or brunch. Undercover car parking. Just a lovely feel to this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnM_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We had a wonderful time at The Lofts. The hotel is wonderfully unusual which we loved. It made a great base to discover the Knysna area and the views from the pool, during the down time and for sunsets, were spectacular.

The front of house were amazingly attentive and helpful and made the stay more pleasant.

The arrangement for breakfast could not be better. We loved going around the corner to the restaurant, with its freshly baked bread and wonderful breakfast selection. The restaurant was the main area of activity in the morning and made for great people watching.

We made use of the bicycles for local trips and the kayak for a buzz into the lagoon (darned hard work with an incoming tide!).

The Knysna Island might not be everyones taste due to its modern style and it certainly isn't a "taste of Africa", but we felt safe and secure in the area and would go back. it made a brilliant base for our 3 day trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WadeGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent. England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

To be honest I am bemused by the negative reviews on here for the Lofts, we have just enjoyed our second visit, extending the stay to a week this time and have nothing but praise.
Yes, the breakfast is served in a neigbouring bakery cafe - but it is an award winning one less than a minutes walk away and the food is delicious, people come for miles around to breakfast there ! We have stayed on two different rooms, when the hotel was busy/full and had no problems with noise or smells, or cleanliness / laundry in the rooms.
Both Rhoda and Lulu on the front desk are friendly and helpful, and I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone travelling to Knysna.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Absolutely fantastic place, excellent decoration, very relaxing, wonderful location, very friendly staff, what else... HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GKG2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We chose The Lofts as a base from which to explore the Knysna area and it fulfilled that role OK.
It is located in a classic gated development packed with time shares and holiday homes, quite characterless and not worth a visit. Although located on an island it is linked by a short road bridge to Knysna town and wharf area which is of much more interest.
Fortunately we stayed at a quiet period but when the adjacent room was occupied it became apparent how thin and poorly sound insulated the walls of the rooms are. There was no breakfast served at the hotel but a voucher is issued which allows a choice from nearby eateries - fortunately a good French bakery/cafe was nearby, but not very convenient. A receptionist was present at the front desk all day, but no late evening or night coverage.
The rooms are well appointed but the provision of a large inviting bath was pretty pointless as there was insufficient hot water to fill it.
Not a highlight of our holiday.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

I'm not normally one to write negative reports but I need to warn you. The Hotel is lovely and the staff are very engaging and helpful. The location is amazing and it is a 5 start hotel.
However, my wife and I had a bad stay- one off maybe:
- No towels in our room so had to call for them post shower.
- Toilet was dirty and had not been properly cleaned.
- We got the room right over the local bakery, sounds nice in theory, however we were unable to sleep as after about 2 hours in bed we both began to feel very very sick, the stink of butter was just too over powering and sickening. We asked to move rooms but they were full. Then to top if off the bakery opens up at 3 in the morning and is loud....We got the room for 1/2 price and the staff were most apologetic, however it was a bad nights sleep....
For the money that you pay we have stayed in better hotels in Knysna.....hunt around.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JordyPieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager55, Owner at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. The Lofts takes note of all comments as this assists us to improve our standards. As you are a valued guest we would like to welcome you back in an alternative room type for you to experience true Lofts Hotel service and hospitality.
The Lofts Boutique Hotel is a unique hotel with regards to the building structure and setup. These features lay the foundation for the unique and distinctive experience. We appreciate the fact that these features are more appealing to some guests and less to other. We are not a traditional run of the mill hotel.
Thank you for the generous comment on the hotel's friendly and helpful staff. The Lofts Boutique Hotel prides itself on service excellence and the three awards won in 2010 for service and hospitality excellence is proof of our service commitment to our guests
The room that was occupied by you – one of our Luxury Loft Rooms is situated on top of the bakery, which in most cases is not a problem to the majority of our guests that stay in this room and in actual fact they are full of compliments and praises for the lovely smell of freshly baked bread. However should the smell of bread not appeal to you in person, we recommend you rather book another room type. Apologies for that!
Regarding the towels; The Lofts goes the extra mile to ensure that our towels and linen are clean and crisp when put back in the cleaned rooms. Due to this commitment it might take slightly longer to get a new set of clean towels back in the room(s). We would rather place the towels in the rooms 30 min later, than putting in them in if they are not up to standard. It is unfortunately not always possible for the staff to determine post shower intent by the guest and for this we apologize for any inconvenience caused. Upon an earlier than usual request for a clean set of towels, it will always be presented in a timely and professional manner.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you enjoy a happy stay at The Lofts Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
1.8 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lofts Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Property: The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lofts Boutique Hotel is housed in the old Boatshed on Thesen Islands, Knysna. The refurbished building with its architectural design gives The Lofts Boutique Hotel an individuality which is also reflected in the difference in the Luxury Loft Rooms & Self catering apartments’ decor. Our accommodation consists of 3 lagoon suites with uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the lagoon, 7 luxury loft rooms and 5 luxury 2-bedroom suites all overlooking the beautiful architecture of Thesen Harbour Town. We also offer our guests a beautiful splash pool to laze around on sunny days & a martini bar lounge area where you can relax with a cup of coffee in the morning or enjoy a drink while watching the sun set in the afternoon.Our friendly service will spoil you and will make your stay memorable. Visit the privately owned spa and pamper yourself with luxurious treatments or stroll through The Boatshed and enjoy the unique shops open for you to experience or enjoy a superb meal at famous île de païn bread café, one of South Africa’s top ten restaurants.The location on the waters’ edge provides our guests with a tranquil relaxing experience. Here you will enjoy the serenity of an island, the magnificent views of the surrounding green hills and the power of nature expressed by the changing moods of the lagoon.The Lofts Boutique Hotel will be your most memorable escape to date! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing