We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay”
Review of Isola Bella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Isola Bella
Ranked #64 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
shropshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Delightful stay”
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We loved staying in Marisa's delightful home, overlooking the lagoon and the Heads.
Marisa's hospitality is first class, a perfect place to stay, enjoy and relax.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    14
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
54
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We had a beautiful stay at Marisa's guest house last year. Have made an unplanned stop at Knysna as another pre booked venue on route had failed to meet our expectations we turned up on Marisa's door stop completely unannounced with no booking. The housekeeper quickly contacted Marisa who was out at the time and we were offered our complete choice of rooms and made totally welcome. Isola Bella is a spectacular property, real luxury living but also very friendly and welcoming so you feel right at home from the minute you arrive.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire_wedlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2010

What a lovely place! Isola Bella is superbly situated on the tranquil Leisure Isle and so inviting and hospitable we could have stayed on for months! Marisa really made us feel comfortable and at home with her warm, relaxed atmosphere and generous Italian spirit.
We didn't feel like guests, but like old friends which we really appreciated.
The guesthouse is charming, incredibly clean and has everything you could possibly need.
We will definitely be coming back to Isola Bella for years to come.
Thank you Marisa!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonDiane100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We would like to thank Marise for the wonderful stay at her Isola Bella.
The rooms were perfectly appointed, staff friendly, maginficant breakfast whilst looking over the heads...nice walks on the island, quiete, calm, simply spectacular!

Ian Cloete

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanCloete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INternational
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

The place looks great from the outside and you walk in and have this great view into a room with a piano, open kitchen, really nice, but as guest you just walk by and go up some stairs to stay in a small room which is really nice and friendly, but that is it. No refrigerator, no TV, no radio, no tea and coffee in the room and no view. Should you need anything you can get it in the small kitchen, but it is a help yourself at a high price for a room. You can watch TV where the small kitchen is, but it is loud for any other guests, as you can hear anyone talking or opening a door while you are trying to sleep. There was construction work going on right next to the place and they started work at 7am! Not my favorite unfortunately...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HipZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Marisa is a warm and generous host who made us feel at home from the first minute of our two night stay. The property is beantifully designed and perfectly located opposite "The Heads". The 3 double guest rooms are located on the top floor with a lounge and beautifull balconey that stretches around the whole front of the property. This is not an impersonall 100 bed hotel but if you want to stay in the best propoerty on Leisure Isle this is it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuildfordRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2007

A stay in March 07, Leisure Isle is quite tranquil & Isola Bella's location is first class as are it's views. Original attempts to stay at other B&B's on leisure Isle met with sorry wer'e full, one actually endorsed Isola Bella, & from there contact was made direct in a prompt and business like manner, good attention to detail both with the booking and the accomodation..

We had the feeling that if we could have negotiated a rate a fact seemingly underlined in a overheard conversation with an opportunist guest who called and negotiated a rate for a one night stay.

Our experience was of clean somewhat clinical accomodation, if you like neutral colours and masses of white & net curtains it's for you. It was rather expensive by comparison to other B&B's and small hotels we stayed at which all had a five star accreditation as opposed to Isola Bella's four.

Marisa offers excellent endorsments, places to visit, restaurants etc and holds court over everything she surveys, this lady clearly has a busy lifestyle and this was reflected in the greeting we received on arrival, no-one at home but a note on the door.... we departed with the feeling that our host's hectic lifestyle seems takes precidence over that of her guests, that apart we were made literaly feel at home,

Plus points: well managed clean pristine accomodation, excellent location with superb views, breakfast while convenient to prepare needs more variation, Down side pricey for what you get....

The TV mounted high up on the lounge wall is a mystery, which gave as a bad neck crick, but that's no justification not to book a stay at Isola Bella.

  • Liked — Location. attention to detail, accomodation style, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Pricey by comparison
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank VanguardAction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Turning Tides B&B
Turning Tides B&B
#72 of 126 in Knysna
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vue Grande
Vue Grande
#32 of 103 in Knysna
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Knysna Belle
The Knysna Belle
#33 of 126 in Knysna
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#8 of 126 in Knysna
522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bollard Bay House
Bollard Bay House
#44 of 126 in Knysna
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cuningham's Island Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isola Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isola Bella

Property: Isola Bella
Address: 21 Hart Road | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Isola Bella 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Isola Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing