We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marisa is worth the visit”
Review of Isola Bella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isola Bella
Ranked #62 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Travel Exclusively African organised our 5 week self drive tour of Western Cape and highly recommended visiting Knysna. We had originally booked the self catering accommodation at Isola Bella but on arrival asked to change to one of the main rooms. Marisa immediately changed our accommodation and continued to do everything she could to make our stay special.

Situated on the Lagoon with amazing views the bedrooms are large, spotless and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 85 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Wonderful location and a very warm welcome from Marisa. Ideally located on Leisure Isle a safe and beautiful spot facing the Knysna Heads. An abundance of restaurants a short drive away and a refreshing 4k walk around the island for those enjoying light exercise. A stop over not to be missed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a classy, elegant guest house in a waterside location on Leisure Isle. Rooms and bathrooms are clean and large although some lack a little privacy. However, the house is very secure and there is off road parking. Breakfasts are a little minimal but adequate and served on a balcony with amazing views. Marisa, the owner, is extremely friendly and welcoming. Highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AncientmarinerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a very pleasant one night stay at Isola Bella just last week - 12 October. We were driving around Leisure Isle after a superb lunch at the East Heads cafe when my husband spotted Isola Bella. We were on a driving holiday and had planned to spend the night closer to our final destination Cape Town, but couldn't resist Isola Bella and its beautiful surroundings. Our impromptu stop did not let us down.

We didn't meet the owner but had a very very friendly welcome from the manager, Maria, who was very personable and professional.

The room we had (2 adults and our 6 year old son) was sufficiently large enough for one night, the breakfast Maria and Evelyn cooked was superb. As it was a beautiful morning Maria and Evelyn had set up breakfast on the balcony for us. Nothing was a problem for these two formidable but very friendly ladies.

Whilst the indoors area of the Guest House is cosy - the balcony is huge and offers great views of the lagoon and Heads. There were two other men staying at the Guest House when we were there but it wasn't a problem as the living area is large enough to accommodate everyone's needs.

We enjoyed a great afternoon on the beach and found a restaurant at the Waterfront without too much effort. Slept in a plush bed with great linen after a long hot shower with beautiful toiletries supplied. Maria and Evelyn were so friendly with my husband and I and our energetic 6 year old. It felt like we had known them for ages. What else could you need ?

Isola Bella - beautiful !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WF1PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

been there a week ago - 3 couples group, for 2 nights. quiet relaxing location, and great atmosphere and hospitality by marisa - the owner. three seperate room units sharing common living room and well equipped kitchen. rich sufficient breakfast, 10 minutes ride from the waterfront restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehud f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is our 2nd stay at this beautiful Guest House and we are looking forward to our next stay in the near future. The rooms are beautifully decorated, good quality bedlinen and are kept nice and clean. Marisa, the owner is very kind, friendlyand helpfull. Would highly recommend this Guest House to anyone who is looking for a good location with great views in the Knysna area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdeleJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Firstly, let me say how great Marisa is, I cannot fault her in the slightest. we booked 3 rooms for 2 nights, the website implies great views and good facilities. to be honest, the shared facilities are too small, especially as it was raining and cold, so we were stuck indoors.
one of the rooms we were given was the 'self catering' unit. this has a terrible damp problem and we had to sleep with all the windows open, not great when it is pouring with rain outside.
this is a beautiful house, but do bear in mind that guests do not have access to most of it, so it is a little misleading.
breakfast was good. i think one of the upstairs rooms would perhaps be better, but overall I think that it is over priced for what we got.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BelmontGuestH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.9 mi away
Brenton Breakers
Brenton Breakers
#4 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
12 reviews
2.3 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#23 of 129 in Knysna
330 reviews
1.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
160 reviews
2.4 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
283 reviews
8.1 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isola Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isola Bella

Address: 21 Hart Road | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $92 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Isola Bella 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Isola Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing