We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kanonkop rocks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kanonkop Guest House
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kanonkop rocks!”
Reviewed March 21, 2007

The first 5 minutes was enough to make us rework our travel plans to stay longer. Like the other reviewers say... Kanonkop truly is fantastic!

I don't want to be redundant so I'll just add a few things from our experience:
- the hospitality from the family and staff was warm and friendly, and above and beyond -- memorable.
- the size of the entire guesthouse was perfect -- not too large that it's impersonal, and not too small that you lack privacy.
- the location was great for us... just minutes from the town centre and right off the highway.
- Friday afternoon/evening there is an outdoor festival/picnic/BBQ just down the street, run by locals. Fun! Food, music, lots of people,... kind of like a beer garden with lots of families.
- Pictures speak for themselves... but again, don't do justice. The atmosphere is perfect for any person(s) looking to treat themselves.
- One night is definitely not enough.

  • Liked — The "stupendicular" rooms!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wicksta74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    20
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
57
260
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swede in Barsebäck
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2007

My wife and I stayed at Kanonkop with another couple from Sweden during 8 days. This was our third stop during a roundtrip taking us from Cape Town to Lalibela Safari and back. Kanonkop and the Conyers family was the highlight of a fantastic vacation in Soth Africa. The guesthouse is just very charming and with an excellent standard. The Conyers family provide hospitality and service unparalell to anything we have met during many holiday trips around the world. We felt like priviliged members of a family and terribly spoiled. Advice and bookings of restaurants and the service to play some outstanding golf courses made our stay top class all the way. We can strongly recommend Kanonkop to anyone!
Anders Sundqvist
Lödeköpinge
Sweden

  • Liked — Style, charm, hospitality and service
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sunkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidingo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2007

Just returned from SouthAfrica (first visit ever) with lots of beautiful memories. One of the outstanding was a weeks stay at the Kanonkop Guest House in Knysna.
You do have high expectations for a 5 star venue and not always are they met.
The Kanonkop, owners and staff, exceeded our expectations in all imaginable ways. Their mode of op's is obviously based on (at least) 100% quality and still they over-acheive all along and surprise you all the time. Nothing is ever a problem and everything is possible and doable. Flat tyres on cars, need for doctors, fixing meals on the veranda...whatever. Woundered one morning why one outside mirror on my rented car was not 100% in place....next morning I got the explanation, saw the staff cleaning the car. Fantastic!
Owners and staff are top-of-the line, extremly positive, friendly and generous in a perfect non-pushing way, best possible ambassadours for SouthAfrica. Needless to say, bedrooms and bathrooms exquisit, whole lovely site in perfect order.
Lovely breakfast whatever time needed and missing nothing.
Drinks and refreshments on the house, at your fingertips.
Wount give away all surprises...
Sum up as in headline; Best ever!

Sven & Inger, Lidingo, Sweden

  • Liked — Gerosity
  • Disliked — _
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf near Heidelberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2006

The family welcome was perfect. Suites and estate were just what we wanted. We got all the help you could think of. So we enjoyed special help to get access to golf courses, good advice for reaturants or excursions to the whole area. At breakfast and for extra drinks we felt like members of the family.

The family and the dogs had a feeling for when we wanted them and when not.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank jumbowalldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
803 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanonkop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanonkop Guest House

Property: Kanonkop Guest House
Address: 6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanonkop Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Kanonkop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing