We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kanonkop Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
$302
$158
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$119
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
$142
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blackwaters River Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$84
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$53
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveler rating
373
22
1
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
22
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparadise roomforest suiteguest housegarden routeplace to stayglass of winesouth africaamazing viewsknysna lagoonother guestsdinner reservationsthe main housethe penthousespent three nightsold friendscape townknysna heads
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 399 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We spent two INCREDIBLE nights here after our wedding. Our suite was aptly called Paradise - what a stunning room with an amazing view! Our hosts were warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them - although we didn't need to ask for anything, as their attention to detail is perfect. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very special and we had the best 2 magical days ever!!
A breathtaking, beautiful place with beautiful special people!

What an AMAZING way to start our life together - Chris, Mark and Sam ... THANK YOU!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelleyPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

I can't think of anything new to add, the previous reviewers hved said it all.
This place is stunning, the views are magnificent, the hosts are superb, they make you feel like personal guests, rather than paying clients. Mark hosts breakfast, Sam hosts pre-dinner drinks. I left there feeling as if I've gained 2 new freinds...I hope to see them again. :-)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

A wonderful place to stay, could not ask for better.

The Hotel is beautiful and Mark and Samantha are the the lovliest hosts you could wish to meet. Nothing is too much trouble for them or their staff are friendly and the rooms and views are to die for.

If you like hosts who are go out of their way to be friendly, attentive and helpful and make sure you have a great time then this is the place to stay.
Over yummy breakfasts, especially the omelletes and Mark sat and chatted with us every morning and helped us decide what to do that day, whilst Sam sat and chatted with us over drinks every evening - its more like a very luxurious home than a hotel.
We spent a fabulous few days at Kanonkop Guest House and would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone. We will certainly be returning.
It really is as good as it sounds

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carofree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

What more can I say this was the perfect end to our time in South Africa. We had been in Capetown for a conference and by the time we arrived at Knysna were in need of some time to really relax. I was unwell and was nurtured with so much empathy by the gorgeous Samantha with Hot Toddies and lemon and honey teas. Chris and Mark also went out of their way to make us feel so welcome and very much at home. Our dinners were booked in advance by carefully selecting eating places suited to our taste and we were given a really good run down of the local area and things to do. We went to Marios on the Waterfront, Firefly and also the local food market.
On our final day my husband was booked to play golf at Simola - a truly beautiful course with some interesting challenges - I followed around in a buggy and as the scenery was so spectacular it was a unique way of seeing the local coutryside with views right out to the heads. I really enjoyed the 5 hours on the course with even a fabulous lunch available at a mini restaurant (halfway house) (Included in the fees for those that are playing)
Kanonkop provides exceptional breakfasts every morning and the open bar and evening turn down of our bed was just another way of making you feel so very welcome.(They even one night set the TV to a rugby game that we wanted to watch!)
We would certainly return to Kanonkop again and in fact I would be confident that they would put together a well researched itinerary and travel experiences to ensure we saw the very best of South Africa and beyond. Their own experiences and contacts giving them a ability to ensure your experience would be a truly unique adventure.
I can not imagine ever having a negative experience here and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loumike29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

What a great guest house. We booked the Paradise suite for five nights which was amazing and had stunning views over the lagoon. There was a lovely pool and sunbathing terrace. Mark and Chris were the perfect hosts. They were very helpful at all times and loved Chris' sense of humour. It's a shame the same can't be said for his wife who we found false and rude but luckily we didn't see much of her!
We were recommended the food market for supper on the Friday night which was brilliant. It was like a giant picnic area where the locals gather with fabulous food stalls (great food and really cheap). There's live music, big fire pits and a fantastic atmosphere and just two mins away.
All of the recommendations we were given by the guys were spot on. Our highlights though had to be the sailing trip through the heads with Steffan.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brecon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews