We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanonkop Guest House
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

From the moment we arrived to the time we left our stay at Kanonkop Guest House was perfect. Our room was beautifully appointed with a wonderful view, we were made to feel important, not just welcome. Our three night stay was far too short.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rikbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear rikbarb,
Many thanks for your lovely review. Thank you too for choosing to stay at Kanonkop House for your holiday in Knysna. We hope to see you again and thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us. All the best. Warm regards, Samantha, Mark, Chris and the Kanonkop team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Kanonkop Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 369 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

What luxury lay in stall for us on our way to the Eastern Cape. The bed was super comfy and the bath products a treat, Breakfast was tasty too. Great place to kick back and enjoy Knysna at its best. Great Work Sam and Co.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClemD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear ClemD,
Many thanks for your cool review. We are delighted to have provided a comfortable bed and a tasty breakfast to fortify you for your onwards journey. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again. All the best for the year ahead. Warmest regards, 'Sam and Co'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Mark and the family really do a great job to make you feel very welcome and "at home" Great attention to detail on small things pays off as the rooms are lovely and well appointed Mark is a great source of information on what to see and do locally as well as make reservations at difficult to get restaurants We loved the family atmosphere that was at the same time cool and sophisticated We will be back for sure It is a small place with I think five rooms only so be sure to book well in advance to avoid a sold out situation which we had on the second night that we wanted to stay there

Room Tip: Get a front room in the main house for a lagoon view if you can The three rooms behind the pool ha...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Michael F,
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted that we were able to assist with getting you a restaurant booking at the restaurant of your choice and are thrilled to be 'cool and sophisticated' too - Thank you :)
Wishing you all the best for the year ahead and looking forward to your return for a longer stay. Warmest regards, Sam, Mark and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were lucky to stay again at Kanonkop Guest House with friends at the end of 2013.
And again, it was really excellent. It was coming home for us.
Mark welcomed us with more than a strong handshake. The family Conyers treated us again as real guests. The location of Kanonkop is stunning with beautiful views over the lagoon.
Every morning you are looking forward to the very tasty breakfast. The rooms are big, and very clean. There is no negative remark we can make about this accomodation.
A real thank you to Chris, Mark and Sam.
We hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent located, so a tip is not really necessary to choose one.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filip_rosselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Filip_Roselle,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Kanonkop House. It is always a great pleasure to us to catch up with returning guests and their friends and we thank you for your ongoing support. We are delighted that you enjoyed your accommodation, the great views, tasty breakfasts and our family hospitality. We look forward to your next visit. :)
Our very warmest regards and best wishes for a happy healthy 2014. Mark, Chris, Sam and the Kanonkop team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

What a wonderful place. From the first welcome Mark, Chris and Sam cannot do enough for you. Their attention to detail and their knowledge and subsequent organisation will make you have the most perfect and relaxing holiday in the Knysna area. Do not miss this unique place we will definitely return - if allowed! Thank you so much

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank scanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Scanne,
Wow...thank you for your great recommendation. We really appreciate you taking the time to review Kanonkop House and your feedback is valuable to us. We are so delighted that we were able to contribute to the quality of your holiday experience in beautiful Knysna and we look most forward to welcoming you back:) Our very warmest regards, Sam, Mark, Chris and 'the team'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was the best stay of our trip. It's a small boutique hotel (5(?) rooms) in which the owners (Mark, Chris and Samantha) evidently take pride in the place and go out of their way to make their guests comfortable.

It's quiet, you feel safe and welcome, breakfast can be hearty should you decide it to be so. The room we in, above the swimming pool, was large. And so was the bathroom.

A small improvement I would liked there is the shower stall. The water drains through the centre of the stall, which is also where one has to stand. It feels eeky to have to stand in wash water. The drainage hole should be to a corner.

And it would be good to have sandals one can slip on, as opposed to the sock-like sandals offered for wearing in the room.

But picking on the drainage hole and the sandal illustrates just how many things the owners have got things right.

If it was our best stay, it was also our most expensive stay. If you can take that and if there is a vacancy, it's worth a stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Panguin,
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a helpful review. We see from the number of hotels that you have reviewed that you are very well travelled and are delighted that Kanonkop House rates as 'the best stay' on your trip to South Africa. Thank you for your comments which we will certainly take into account and apply where and when we can. We wish you all the very best for a very happy 2014. Our warmest regards, Samantha, Chris, Mark and the Kanonkop team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We have stayed at kanonkop previously, but were still astonished at the greeting we received from Chris Samantha and Mark. This is a real family affair with each one in turn hosting the arrivals. Drinks and snacks in the bar before even being taken to the room is such a great touch.
Our room was Paradise, literally. The paradise suite is absolutely beautiful and so tastefully decorated. The bathroom is amazing and both rooms have amazing views over the Knysna lagoon to the heads where the lagoon meets the sea.
Numpsie and the girls make wonderful breakfasts, delivered with Beaming smiles.
Then when you think it cannot get any better, each morning the cars are cleaned by Evans
Even though ours was covered in mud after fighting our way through flood water in the Karoo.
This place is so relaxed, the hosts even suggest an itinerary and will make restaurant
bookings, and Mark joined us for golf at Simola.
After 5 nights we were wishing we had booked more but we had to move on.
We will be back
Ann and Ron

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent but paradise, forest and sunbird give the best views over the lagoon.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saywell6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Ann and Ron,
Thank you for your fabulous review. We are always so thrilled to have guests who return to really enjoy the idea of 'home away from home'...and before long start to feel like family members:)Thank you for your ongoing support and for taking the time to share your comments and experience with other travellers. We look most forward to your next visit. Warmest regards from all the Conyers and the Kanonkop team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
823 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.6 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanonkop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanonkop Guest House

Address: 6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: $274 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanonkop Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Kanonkop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing