We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanonkop Guest House
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was the best stay of our trip. It's a small boutique hotel (5(?) rooms) in which the owners (Mark, Chris and Samantha) evidently take pride in the place and go out of their way to make their guests comfortable.

It's quiet, you feel safe and welcome, breakfast can be hearty should you decide it to be so. The room we in, above the swimming pool, was large. And so was the bathroom.

A small improvement I would liked there is the shower stall. The water drains through the centre of the stall, which is also where one has to stand. It feels eeky to have to stand in wash water. The drainage hole should be to a corner.

And it would be good to have sandals one can slip on, as opposed to the sock-like sandals offered for wearing in the room.

But picking on the drainage hole and the sandal illustrates just how many things the owners have got things right.

If it was our best stay, it was also our most expensive stay. If you can take that and if there is a vacancy, it's worth a stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Panguin,
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a helpful review. We see from the number of hotels that you have reviewed that you are very well travelled and are delighted that Kanonkop House rates as 'the best stay' on your trip to South Africa. Thank you for your comments which we will certainly take into account and apply where and when we can. We wish you all the very best for a very happy 2014. Our warmest regards, Samantha, Chris, Mark and the Kanonkop team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 384 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

We have stayed at kanonkop previously, but were still astonished at the greeting we received from Chris Samantha and Mark. This is a real family affair with each one in turn hosting the arrivals. Drinks and snacks in the bar before even being taken to the room is such a great touch.
Our room was Paradise, literally. The paradise suite is absolutely beautiful and so tastefully decorated. The bathroom is amazing and both rooms have amazing views over the Knysna lagoon to the heads where the lagoon meets the sea.
Numpsie and the girls make wonderful breakfasts, delivered with Beaming smiles.
Then when you think it cannot get any better, each morning the cars are cleaned by Evans
Even though ours was covered in mud after fighting our way through flood water in the Karoo.
This place is so relaxed, the hosts even suggest an itinerary and will make restaurant
bookings, and Mark joined us for golf at Simola.
After 5 nights we were wishing we had booked more but we had to move on.
We will be back
Ann and Ron

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent but paradise, forest and sunbird give the best views over the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saywell6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Ann and Ron,
Thank you for your fabulous review. We are always so thrilled to have guests who return to really enjoy the idea of 'home away from home'...and before long start to feel like family members:)Thank you for your ongoing support and for taking the time to share your comments and experience with other travellers. We look most forward to your next visit. Warmest regards from all the Conyers and the Kanonkop team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Kanonkop for 4 nights and wish we'd have booked for longer. From arrival we were made to feel so welcome by Mark and Chris. The house is beautiful with outstanding views of the lagoon. We were on honeymoon and they very kindly upgraded us to their executive suite which was out of this world. Breakfast was delicious each day- especially the omelette (ask Chris for the recipe- he won't tell you!!). Mark, Chris and Samantha were very helpful each morning and would recommend day trips and restaurants. There is also a complimentary bar which is great. The whole house has a very homely feel to it and it was a pleasure to share it with the family- they all went well beyond our expectations and genuinely wanted to ensure we enjoyed our
time in South Africa. If you want boutique luxury with a homely touch then this is it!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wishyouwerhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear wishyouwerehere,
We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at Kanonkop House. Aside from relieving us of the pressure of doing the maths, our complimentary bar is designed to ensure exactly what you commented on so eloquently; that our guests enjoy the comfort of a luxury home environment without any of the effort. We thank you for your lovely comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your room, the views our 'secret' recipe breakfast omlettes...the secret is to 'cook with love' :)), and our hospitality. We wish you a happy health 2014 and a long and happy life together.
Warm regards, Sam, Chris, Mark and our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We recently visited South Africa for three weeks and were blessed with uniformly excellent accomodation wherever we went , but Kanonkop was the probably the best of all. Chris and Samatha, as so many others have said, were very welcoming indeed and the room, breakfast and views were all spectacular. Even the Africology products in the room were way above average. Very highly recommended indeed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear John L,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Kanonkop House. We are delighted that your stay with us was such a highlight of your stay in South Africa and that you enjoyed our 'in room spa' products so much. We try to be have in place a natural, organic, environmental awareness and, aside from being fabulous, our chemical free Africology products complement that nicely. Many thanks again and all the best for a super 2014, Warm regards, Sam, Chris, Mark and the Kanonkop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My father and his wife, my Husband and I spent a few days in Knysna on occassion of a visit to South Africa. Samantha, Chris and Mark could not have been more welcoming. They were absolutely wonderful and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. And my father’s 80 birthday a memorable one. We’ll try to be back !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timm1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Timm 1203,
We are delighted that we could share in your families birthday celebrations. Thank you for choosing Kanonkop House and for going out of your way to find a date where we could host your whole family together. We wish you well for 2014 and hope to see you for the next "big celebration'. Warmest regards, the Kanonkop Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My Husband and I just returned from the most amazing honeymoon, and our stay at Kanonkop was a definite highlight during our three weeks in South Africa! Mark could not have been more welcoming, and the staff at the house were absolutely wonderful, they made our stay!
The property itself is stunning with the most spectacular views across the lagoon, and The Paradise Suite is beautiful with a fantastic balcony. The breakfast also deserves an extra special mention, with the best omelettes in SA! If we could have stayed longer we would have done, once again thank you Mark for making our stay such a memorable one! Lauren & Gareth

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Lauren and Gareth,
Many thanks for your lovely review, We are delighted to have contributed to making your honeymoon special. Thank you for the positive feedback, both our staff and ourselves are delighted that enjoyed your room, the views and, in particular, your breafast omlettes! Thank you again for taking the time to write. All the very best for a happy health 2014 and your future together. Warm regards, Sam, Mark, Chris and the Kanonkop team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This family run place is out of this world, father and children are very helpfull to point you to the good attraction and restaurant in the area, the view is so spectacular that you have to force yourself to go out, when you leave the father will give you a dedicated book on the garden route

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinceCadoret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Vince Cadoret,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Kanonkop House in Knysna and hope that our parting gift to you continues to bring back wonderful memories of this spectacular part of the world. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All the very best to you for 2014. Warm regards, Samantha, Mark, Chris and the Kanonkop team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
862 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#16 of 30 in Knysna
42 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.6 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#2 of 30 in Knysna
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanonkop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanonkop Guest House

Address: 6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: $257 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanonkop Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kanonkop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing