We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanonkop Guest House
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have just returned stateside and wanted to leave a review while everything was still fresh in our memory. The location of Kanonkop Guest House in Knysna is spectacular and the hospitality is unparalleled! We arrived after dark following a shark dive and long drive. We were greeted by Chris with a lovely glass of chilled white wine, and introduced us to Biltong - which we welcomed with gusto! The breakfast meals were fabulous, fresh and relaxed and you really felt like guests in someone's private home! Their helpful recommendations from tours and driving routes, to dining and nail appt. suggestions were very much appreciated and bang on! We enjoyed visiting with Sam, Mark and Chris and other guests and sharing stories. Mark's playfully mischievous laugh still rings in our ears!! We could have easily stayed for another few days - 3 nights did not seem long enough in our beautiful Paradise room!! Sue did a gorgeous job with the decor and we loved the inviting colors and the subtle S. African feel of the house and room. The nearly invisible staff was so openly friendly and seemed to enjoy being a part of the "Kanonkop Family" and we were so pleasantly surprised to wake up to a spotlessly clean car!!! Magnificent! Thank you again and we hope to visit here again and will be recommending Kanonkop House to any who ask us!! P.S. Mark - Mala Mala was remarkable, breathtaking, life changing and unforgettable, as you said it would be! Brilliant!! ~ Debbie and Dale Jones, Bellingham, WA.

Room Tip: Simply put, Paradise Room was paradise!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debjaloha56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Debbie and Dale, Wow, thanks for your fabulous review. We are always thrilled when guests enjoy their private rooms and the shared spaces that we try to create as well as the opportunity to meet other interesting guests. Thank you for the time you have taken to review your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful part of the world as well as the safari that followed. Thank you again. Our warmest regards, The Conyers family and our 'invisible' staff :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 378 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Quite simply, one of the classiest places I've ever stayed in. Breathtaking views that are matched by wondefully relaxed hospitality and spectacular service (they even washed our car in the morning!!). From the moment we arrived we felt completely at home and I was just sorry that the two nights we stayed went by so quickly. If you are visiting the Garden Route you have to stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear David J,
Many thanks for your super review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience of Kanonkop House and our hospitality and service. We try to create an atmosphere of relaxed luxury in a home from home environment so we are really happy that you felt so at home. We wish you a happy and healthy 2014. Warmest regards, The Conyers and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had the Wonderful opportunity to stay in the most awesome guesthouse. We stayed over for 2 nights in the Forest Suite and enjoyed every minute. The family team are very inviting and really go out of their way to make your stay as fantastic as possible. The views from the room were amazing and it was a really awesome getaway that wont be forgotten for many years to come. Sam, Mark and Chris are extremely helpful and with their knowledge of ''what to do'' and where to go really makes your stay in Knysna so much more special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline_Chris2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Caroline_Chris,
Many thanks for taking the time to revue Kanonkop House. We are delighted that we were able to give even you, as 'Locals to the Garden Route', some tips to maximise your enjoyment of this beautiful area. We hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Sam, Chris and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

It's definitely the best place to stay if you are traveling through the Garden Route. The welcoming family team had made our stay unforgettable. Chris helped with itinerary for the day and restaurant reservations. We've stayed in Forest suite and Paradise suit and both are gorgeous with great attention to all the details. Homemade breakfast was always great. Highly recommended place!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Olga S,
Many thanks for taking the time to revue Kanonkop House. We are delighted that you enjoyed both the Forest and the Paradise suites and took the time to share your experience of the rooms and our Kanonkop Hospitality with future guests. We wish you well in 2014. Many thanks again and warm regards, Sam, Mark and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We loved the warm welcome, the luxurious rooms with stunning views, delicious home cooked breakfast and afternoon/evenings drinks at the family bar made us feel like a part of the family, a big thankyou to Chris, Mark and Sam and all of your staff, we'll definitely recommend you to our friends and family.....

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear David M,
Many thanks for your lovely revue. We are delighted that you have taken the time to share with other travellers the things that you enjoyed about your stay at Kanonkop House. We wish you all the very best in 2014 and look forward to the opportunity to host those that follow your recommendations :). Warm regards, The team, Sam, Mark and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

After spending my birthday just outside of Kruger National Park (Ngala) Phil and I travelled onto George and drove to Knysna were we stayed at Kanonkop Guest House. On arrival we were welcomed with a glass of cool wine and by a wonderful warm and friendly hosts Chris/Sam/Mark. The food, the location, attention to detail and helpfulness was very much appreciated by me. It is a gorgeous place to stay and I thankyou so much for making my trip soooooo enjoyable. The rooms I understand were designed and decorated by Chris's wife Sue - Absolute "class" - I recommend this location to stay at 10 out of 10. Jeni Wait, Neutral Bay Sydney Australia.

Room Tip: They are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeni w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Jeni,
Thank you so much for your review. We love getting your feedback and really appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with future guests. Sue is delighted by your reference to her input in the rooms and we will certainly strive to continue to keep the rooms fresh, unique and interesting. We will also keep the wine cold in preparation for your return ...one day :)
Warm regards,
Samantha, Chris, Mark and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you always wondered what your living room, bedroom and kitchen might feel like in South Africa go to Kanonkop House. Set on top of a "kop" with stunning views of the Knysna lagoon and "the Heads" you are in a unique location where you 3-4 minutes from downtown but totally isolated in your own world of stunning views ensconced in lush carefully nurtured and maintained local flora. Even more impressive is that all of this done in the most Eco-friendly sustainable manner.

We stayed for four nights and our son and his girlfriend joined us for the last night. Their suite was immediately below ours but with a totally different floor plan and feel. Each of the suites has totally different ambience so that you could come 5 different times and experience utopia five different ways.

The Conyers family: Chris, Sue, Mark, Samantha, and.Alexander (all nine years of him) made our family part of their breakfast table where.we gained insight on local and national issues to how best enjoy our day. The attentiveness and attention to detail Was unbelievable. Chris, on sending us to the Olive Tree restaurant for dinner not only made a personal introduction to the owner but gave detailed instructions on how to best navigate and park since we were still getting used to driving on the "wrong side" of the road. Mark was incredibly attentive and attuned to the type of experience we were looking for from places to go to introductions to local merchants.

The hospitality gene runs deep in the Conyer family as Alexander would often be sitting at the kitchen table late afternoon doing his homework. To his mother's dismay he graciously discuss his day with any guest and integrate his homework "how to use the different parts of cow to make things" seeking ideas on how to complete. We understand he his quite the hockey player.

Sue's genteel warmth permeated everything as Samantha's smile and quick wit and keen observations did.

In short we have travelled extensively worldwide and while are always seeking a"Kanonkop" type of experience we rarely do. We will treasure our stay at Kanonkop!!!


PS. Didn't even mention Neumsie's breakfasts were vast, varied and wonderful.

Room Tip: Paradise suite has the best view of the lagoon and the heads
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wmccfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Wmccfp,
WOW! We are all thrilled to have received your amazing review. Thank you for taking the time to share the details of what made your stay special. It is so helpful for both our own reference and for future guests. We strive to create a relaxed but luxurious space and we are so delighted that you enjoyed the rooms and elevated 'birds eye' views from Kanonkop House as well as the personal element of our service. In being personally involved we have the wonderful advantage of the opportunity to enjoy our guests and all that you have to offer too:) Thank you once again. Warmest regards, Samantha, Mark, Chris, Sue, Numsie, Alexander and the rest of the Kanonkop Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
848 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.8 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#18 of 30 in Knysna
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanonkop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanonkop Guest House

Address: 6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: $236 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanonkop Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kanonkop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing