We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical hosts magical place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kanonkop Guest House
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

After spending my birthday just outside of Kruger National Park (Ngala) Phil and I travelled onto George and drove to Knysna were we stayed at Kanonkop Guest House. On arrival we were welcomed with a glass of cool wine and by a wonderful warm and friendly hosts Chris/Sam/Mark. The food, the location, attention to detail and helpfulness was very much appreciated by me. It is a gorgeous place to stay and I thankyou so much for making my trip soooooo enjoyable. The rooms I understand were designed and decorated by Chris's wife Sue - Absolute "class" - I recommend this location to stay at 10 out of 10. Jeni Wait, Neutral Bay Sydney Australia.

Room Tip: They are all excellent.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeni w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Jeni,
Thank you so much for your review. We love getting your feedback and really appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with future guests. Sue is delighted by your reference to her input in the rooms and we will certainly strive to continue to keep the rooms fresh, unique and interesting. We will also keep the wine cold in preparation for your return ...one day :)
Warm regards,
Samantha, Chris, Mark and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Kanonkop Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 369 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you always wondered what your living room, bedroom and kitchen might feel like in South Africa go to Kanonkop House. Set on top of a "kop" with stunning views of the Knysna lagoon and "the Heads" you are in a unique location where you 3-4 minutes from downtown but totally isolated in your own world of stunning views ensconced in lush carefully nurtured and maintained local flora. Even more impressive is that all of this done in the most Eco-friendly sustainable manner.

We stayed for four nights and our son and his girlfriend joined us for the last night. Their suite was immediately below ours but with a totally different floor plan and feel. Each of the suites has totally different ambience so that you could come 5 different times and experience utopia five different ways.

The Conyers family: Chris, Sue, Mark, Samantha, and.Alexander (all nine years of him) made our family part of their breakfast table where.we gained insight on local and national issues to how best enjoy our day. The attentiveness and attention to detail Was unbelievable. Chris, on sending us to the Olive Tree restaurant for dinner not only made a personal introduction to the owner but gave detailed instructions on how to best navigate and park since we were still getting used to driving on the "wrong side" of the road. Mark was incredibly attentive and attuned to the type of experience we were looking for from places to go to introductions to local merchants.

The hospitality gene runs deep in the Conyer family as Alexander would often be sitting at the kitchen table late afternoon doing his homework. To his mother's dismay he graciously discuss his day with any guest and integrate his homework "how to use the different parts of cow to make things" seeking ideas on how to complete. We understand he his quite the hockey player.

Sue's genteel warmth permeated everything as Samantha's smile and quick wit and keen observations did.

In short we have travelled extensively worldwide and while are always seeking a"Kanonkop" type of experience we rarely do. We will treasure our stay at Kanonkop!!!


PS. Didn't even mention Neumsie's breakfasts were vast, varied and wonderful.

Room Tip: Paradise suite has the best view of the lagoon and the heads
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wmccfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Wmccfp,
WOW! We are all thrilled to have received your amazing review. Thank you for taking the time to share the details of what made your stay special. It is so helpful for both our own reference and for future guests. We strive to create a relaxed but luxurious space and we are so delighted that you enjoyed the rooms and elevated 'birds eye' views from Kanonkop House as well as the personal element of our service. In being personally involved we have the wonderful advantage of the opportunity to enjoy our guests and all that you have to offer too:) Thank you once again. Warmest regards, Samantha, Mark, Chris, Sue, Numsie, Alexander and the rest of the Kanonkop Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We highly recommend it for a calm relaxing get away. The hospitality , the room and stunning nature are priceless . Chris will go out of his way to ensure you have a pleasant stay .


Thanks chris, sam, mark for an exceptional warm welcoming ... We truly felt special .
Regards
Dima , shagha, john and wael

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Wael and friends,
We are so delighted that you drove all the way from Cape Town for 1 night in Knysna...and enjoyed it so much! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We look forward to you returning to take advantage of the natural beauty of the area that you enjoyed so much. The 'ancient forest' will be waiting (and so will your rooms:).
Our very warmest regards, Chris, Mark and Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We highly recommend Kanonkop Guest House if you are travelling through the Garden Route in the Western Cape in South Africa. This is the place to stay. I am going to steal some words of another guest : "We came as guests, stayed like friends and felt like family when we left!"
Perfect rooms, lovely view, great location, best hospitality ever!
Altamente recomendable! Sin lugar a dudas es el sitio ideal para hospedarse en Knysna.
Habitaciones impecables, linda vista, excelente ubicación, delicioso desayuno y muy buenos vinos! Pero lo mejor de todo es la atención de Chris, Mark, Sam & Sue !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariluQ68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear MariluQ,
Many thanks for your lovely review. It was so lovely to meet you too and to learn more about your own beautiful country. We are so happy that you were enjoyed the rooms and of course the local beauty of the area. Guests like yourselves continue to make our job a priviledge and a pleasure. Thankyou for visiting South Africa and for choosing to stay at Kanonkop House.
Our warmest regards, Chris, Mark and Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our third stop in South Africa and we thought it would be impossible for Kanonkop to maintain the standards of our earlier stops, fortunately however we received yet another wonderful greeting, a beautiful room, terrific service and by far the best view yet! It's worth noting that it is a bit out from the centre but this isn't a problem as Chris/Sam/Mark go out of their way to make sure you have a recommendation, arrange a taxi or even give you a lift. Once again we couldn't fault anything and would love to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_and_Katie_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Neil and Katie,
Many thanks for your lovely review of Kanonkop House and your helpful comment on our location. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy the tranquility and beautiful views afforded by our location in the forest at the top of Kanonkop Hill overlooking Knysna and the lagoon to the ocean. It is always a pleasure to assist with a quick transfer to the centre of town and the waterfront 5 minutes away Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. All the very best to both. Warmest regards, Chris, Mark and Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We booked at Kanonkop as part of our annual golf trip. From the pictures on the website, we knew we were in for a treat, but nothing could have prepared us for what we experienced!

From the first call we received from Mark on Friday morning to confirm our arrival time to the last sms we received after we left, everything was a blueprint for how we believe an establishment like this should be run.

We were treated to great food and drink while our accommodation was absolutely first class. Chris, Mark and Samantha Conyers are fastidious in their detail yet extremely polite and courteous while at the same time being friendly and loads of fun (sounds too good to be true, but believe me I can add a few more). The kitchen staff share their tangible enthusiasm and friendliness.

My friends and I have between us had the privilege to visit and stay over in top hotels around the globe, but this was unanimously voted by us as the best accommodation experience any one of us had ever had - bar none.

We came as guests, stayed like friends and felt like family when we left!

Room Tip: Just go there and enjoy!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Hennie and friends,
Thank you so much for your super review of Kanonkop House. It was such an great pleasure to host your stay and we are delighted that you enjoyed your accommodation as much as our hospitality (oh and don't forget the golf!). We look forward to the next time.
Our very warmest regards, Samantha, Mark and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our trip to South Africa was for birthday celebrations and for myself, recuperation. This was a trip of a lifetime for our family. Our suite at Kanonkop House ticked all the boxes for relaxation, comfort, luxury and great attention to detail, even down to bath salts and scented candles, cosy slippers and gowns, fresh ground coffee and filtered water in the bedroom. The views from the balcony in Paradise suite were stunning, no better place in Knysna to enjoy a complimentary glass of wine! Fabulous bathroom and shower facilities, soft towels and extremely well appointed.
We received a very warm welcome from Chris with drinks on arrival including hot chocolate for the girls. The whole Conyers family clearly work as a team and strive to achieve the very best in hospitality at Kanonkop House. As per all the other reviews, everything was perfect. I booked our stay here based on Trip Advisor reviews, our stay exceeded all expectations, our only regret is that we didn’t stay longer!
Many many thanks to Chris, Sue, Mark and Samantha. We hope very much to return, perhaps in summer to enjoy the wonderful pool and outdoor area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the luxurious Paradise suite.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulu-Abz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Lulu-ABZ,
Many thanks for your encouraging and helpful review following your stay at Kanonkop House. We are delighted that you enjoyed all the touches in the room and in particular the birdseye views from Paradise. Thank you for choosing to stay with us to as part of your birthday celebrations and special family holiday. Thank you again. Our very best regards to your family from all of us, Chris, Sue, Samantha and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
822 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.6 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanonkop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanonkop Guest House

Address: 6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: $277 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanonkop Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Kanonkop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing