We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kanonkop Guest House
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

On arrival we were warmly greeted by Mark,Samantha and their father. We are very independent people and have always stayed at hotels, where you are pretty much left to your own devices, so all of the personal attention we received, initially felt a little uncomfortable.(We have subsequently come to enjoy and appreciate,the warm and friendly attention, as we have been back since our first visit). We were whisked off to our accommodation which was absolutely beautiful, and of a very high standard. Our luggage was were there waiting and our vehicle was parked. We were offered drinks on arrival and the family offered suggestions on restaurants for supper and offered to book.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24Howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear 24Howard, Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor (and for surviving the small guest house experience). It was fabulous to host you again and we hope we will see you again for more golf and personal attention :). Due to your review, and others, we have just been awarded top honours in the tripadvisor travellers choice awards...thank you. Warmest regards, Samantha, Chris, Mark et al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    20
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
57
260
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brossard, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

a great place, warm and attentive. Samantha was very helpful and gave us excellent recommendations (restaurants, activities). The house facilities but especially the room "paradise" with a view of the bay. and an experience to relive if you can!

Room Tip: The"paradise" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieGravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Julie, Finally ...I get around to thanking you for your lovely review (it helped us to get top honours as the only guest house in the garden route to make it into the top 25 small luxury hotels in South Africa). I am so glad that you enjoyed your room and the views and the food...hopefully as much as I enjoyed the laughs at the breakfast table? I look forward to meeting you and M again. Warm regards, Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye East Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at Kanonkop on the recommendation of a South African acquaintance who described it as the best guest house in the area. He was not wrong! We had 3 beautiful rooms, lovely breakfasts and Sam is a delightful and enthusiastic host. The bedrooms and bathrooms exude luxury and style and the standard of cleanliness is high.If you are looking for something special in the Garden Route this is the place to go. Everyone in our party absolutely loved it

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stream-House
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear family Stream House, Many thanks for your lovely review, and apologies for my tardy response. It was such a pleasure to host your stay in Knysna and I am delighted that you enjoyed the rooms so much. We have just received great honours from Trip Advisor Travellers with top honours in the travellers choice awards...so many many thanks again to you for your review. I hope that the hospitality business is good on your end too and that the family are all well? Warmest regards, Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamberhurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Fortunately the organiser (Rhino Africa) of our Garden Route itinerary included 3 days in Knysna and we were bowled over by the Kanonkop House. Daughter of the owner, Samantha, was in charge as the rest of the family were away but everything was perfect and we were made very welcome. All 3 evening meal restaurants suggested by Samantha and proved excellent. The room was spacious, comfortable and well appointed and the breakfasts superb. What impressed us particularly was the knowledge of a local eco-guide, and the family's support of their staff's children's education. This place was quite 'out of the ordinary'.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hellooo to you. Many many thanks for your lovely review, and apologies for the late response. It was such a pleasure to host your stay. Particularly gratifying that you made the most of the natural beauty that this area had to offer and got out and about into nature, on the water and in the forests. Thankyou for your interest. Wishing you both all the very best for the New Year. Warm regards, Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have been to Kanonkop Guest House in September 2011. The reason why we are writing the review a year later is because we are on oliday in Thailand and we thought of Chris (the owner) and the beautiful time spent at Kanonkop! Thank you! Mattia and Corinne

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattia79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Mattia and Corinne, How lovely to imagine you on the beach in Thailand thinking of Chris. He is in excellent health and is still keeping the guests entertained and the rest of us in line. He has just celebrated his 70th birthday and the whole family, grandchildren et al are holidaying together on a tropical beach to celebrate. Warm regards and many thanks for your review and kind thoughts. Samantha, Chris and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We recently stayed one night and we felt it is not enough.
the room we had was very nice well designed.
the owners will make all efforts to make your stay as pleasent as it can be. we received recommendation for very good restaurant.
It is a must stay if you are in the Knysna area

Room Tip: view from the rooms is excelent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsraelPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Manager at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear IsraelPaul, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to have hosted you and hope that you will have an opportunity to return to make the most of all the activities and beautiful scenery that this area has to offer. All the very best to you and your family. Warm regards, Samantha and the Kanonkop team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

An ideal place to stay in Knysna for the discerning traveller. This owner-run establishment ensures outstanding service and attention to detail. Rooms are spacious and well appointed; the underfloor heating is a very welcome addition. Kanonkop is central to all the top restuarants in Knysna and close to the lagoon and waterfront area. We will stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbn_Trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear IanJamber, Many thanks for your review :) We hope very much to host you again. Until then, all the very best. Warm regards from the Kanonkop team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.6 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanonkop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanonkop Guest House

Property: Kanonkop Guest House
Address: 6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanonkop Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kanonkop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing