We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Guest House makes huge impression!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kanonkop Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kanonkop Guest House
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small Guest House makes huge impression!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

Chris, Mark and Samantha certainly welcome their guests with open arms. Nothing is too much trouble, from booking golf, restarants, sundowners on yachts, to giving excellent advice on what to do and where to go in Knysna - and always ensuring there's a glass of wine or G&T waiting for you on your return from a hard day's exploring! High quality interiors in each of the rooms. We stayed in the Paradise Suite which has THE most amazing, uninterrupted views of Knysna Lagoon. Top quality breakfast which caters for all tastes. Superb service with genuine attention to detail from all members of this family run business. We highly recommend you experience this accommodation for yourselves - don't just take our word for it! We can't wait to make a return trip! Sarah & Chris Macrow, Solihull, England

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahmacrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Sarah and Chris,
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We are so delighted that you stayed long enough to make the most of much that the garden route has to offer particularly sailing on the lagoon and golf at the beautiful local courses. We would love to host you again and hope that your future travels bring you back to Knysna and to Kanonkop House in particular. The newly renovated Paradise suite will be ready from June this year :)
Warmest regards, Sam, Mark and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    19
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
51
252
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lendelede, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We are frequent travellers to Southern Africa but this was our first discovery of the Western and Eastern Cape.
What an experience at the Kanonkop Guesthouse!
The family Conyers did their outmost best to give as a top holiday experience.
Thank you to Chris and Mark for all the advises they gave us regarding restaurants, golf courses and Tsitsikamma and so much more.
We'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank filip_rosselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Filip Rosselle. Many thanks for your review. We are so delighted that you discovered Kanonkop House on your first visit to the fabulous garden route. We hope that you will have the opportunity to return again and again and, of course, to the opportunity to share many more glasses of wine!
Warm regards,
Samantha, Mark and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

I and my partner stayed at Kannonkop house at the beginning of March and it was absolutely wonderful.
The hospitality and the warmth we experienced was just superb and was truly sincere.
Our thanks to Chris, Mark and Samantha (Sam) who made our short stay hard to end.
The ambience of Kannonkop and the gloriously tranquil setting set off the stunning views.
A little piece of paradise here on earth.
We would not go elsewhere and look forward to renewing a friendship when next we go to Knysna.

Room Tip: The suites are idyllic, do yourself a favour and stay in one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesO54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Charles054,
Many thanks to you for your lovely review. We too look forward to your next visit too! In the meantime; all the best and warm regards,
Sam, Mark and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Kanonkop has to be the best place to stay anywhere along the Garden Route. We stayed there again in January this year, and were delighted to be met and treated as old friends by the family who run this beautiful guest house. Knysna is in itself a wonderful place to be, but Kanonkop's accommodation, setting, location, and views are spectacular, the service perfect [where else is your car cleaned each evening & and an umbrella left outside your door on the one day rain threatened?], breakfast prepared to order, and every need anticipated. We left with plans to return already made, and cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: We loved Sunbird, but they are all wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill and Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Gill and Bill,
You are always such a pleasure to host and you certainly know how to make the most of the garden route travelling far and wide (intentional and unintentional?) to enjoy the surrounding areas. We certainly look forward to the next time...maybe Paradise or Forest suite this time (Paradise is currently being renovated so it is going to be super amazing when it re-opens in June). Warmest regards from all of us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, Western Cape
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We found the whole experience of staying at Kanonkop to be an absolute pleasure. It was luxury down to the last detail and we appreciated their sensitivity to the enviroment and loved their indiginous gardens. The views overlooking the Knysna Lagoon are spectacular and Chris, Mark and Sam were the perfect hosts and made us feel right at home. Nothing was too much trouble yet our privacy was respected. The breakfast was delicious and I can't wait to stay at Kanonkop again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Gavin,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and in particular our indigenous garden and forest. It was a pleasure to host your stay and we hope to see you again. All the best. Warm regards, the Conyers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Fantastic location in the hills above Knysna, overlooking the lagoon and just a 4-minute drive from the water-front. Lovely pool area and the rooms are beautifully and imaginatively designed.
But what really sets Kanonkop apart is the relaxed but excellent hosting from Chris, Sam & Mark (father and his daughter & son). They are completely involved with making your stay perfect - getting you the best table at local restaurants, booking great trips and so on.
Truly outstanding.

Room Tip: The family also own some local villas which guests said were fabulous - good if you have a large fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelmeistersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Dear TravelmeistersLondon

Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor! We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and we will look very forward to having you back here with us!

Have a stunning 2012 and hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards from all of us here.
Mark and the Conyers family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is a beautiful guest house with amazing views over the lagoon at Knysna . All of the rooms are well appointed with attention to detail . The hosts Chris , Mark and Sam are the best - nothing is too much trouble in a friendly relaxed way . The opportunities for sightseeing and eating are fantastic on the doorstep . If the hosts book your restaurant table you have the best seats in the house ! We loved the golf at Pezula especially - all arranged via the GH . We cant wait to return for a 3rd visit .

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the lagoon have stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Dear Sarah g

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor! We will look very forward to your 3rd visit and perhaps a game of golf together! Remember Kanonkop House and our guests at the Knysna Heights Villa always get discounted rates at both Simola and Pezula!

From all of us here have a stunning 2012!
Warm regards
Mark and the Conyers family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
1.7 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanonkop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanonkop Guest House

Property: Kanonkop Guest House
Address: 6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanonkop Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kanonkop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing