We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy little huisie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa
Ranked #18 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“Cozy little huisie”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Complementary port, preheated cabin, welcoming staff - the perfect start to a chilly winter holiday.

We would highly recommended this little gem. Close enough for quick access to Knysna and surroundings but far enough to experience peacefulness of rural living.

Room Tip: Room (5) - Hands Down
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    54
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
217
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
George, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife's friend of over years visited us and I sought a special breakaway as they are both still working as Nursing Sisters in a very busy ironment. what a wonderful experience! they were met with such warmth and caring making the surprise booking into the lodge exceptional!
The staff and management were amazing displaying such hospitality and outstanding service you would expect at the Mount Nelson! girls LOVED their masage and being so mollycoddled!!!
definately a place to arrange anotherrprise event!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emelius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Tonquani lodge is a beautiful complex with cosy huts in the middle of the forest. The owners and all members of staff did their utmost to make us feel welcome and home. Breakfast outside at the pool was wonderful as was the massage at the Tonquani spa. Was part of our honeymoon, and we can recommend a stay here not only for other honeymooners. :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingWiebke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay on Wye
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Nice setting with well laid out garden areas... lodge accommodation is large, clean and very well fitted out... a perfect place to stay... staff very friendly & helpful... highly recommended especially if you are touring the Garden Route

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at Tonquani Lodge for the last two nights of our honeymoon and we would definitely recommend it to anyone and everyone.
The hospitality and the excellent service was amazing!
We had a facial and a foot massage which was fabulous!
We will never stay anywhere else when we visit Knysna.
The breakfast served in your room is super!!!

Room Tip: Room 11 is the best!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zelda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We recently stayed at Tonquani in Room 10. The two bedroom was great--we took our one year old, so having the extra bedroom was great for everyone's sleep. The views from the balcony was incredible--so nice to be able to be close to the town but also get away at the same time. The breakfast was good and well put together. We didn't take advantage of many of the other services offered--but that is more our style.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerbadenATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was really an amazing venue, just outside the main city. Very relaxing and best place for romantic get away. The restaurant area is amazing with the forest at your back and the wildcoast to your south.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moseswithabeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.0 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.1 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
2.3 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa

Property: Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa
Address: Welbedaght Lane | 1 Cherry Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna's multi award-winning lodge offers luxurious individually decorated log chalets and family suites with every conceivable comfort including minibar, complimentary port and chocolates, tea, coffee and biscuits, TV, hair dryer, heater and air conditioner. Four units have a Jacuzzi bath, fireplace and the executive chalet has a private spa area for the ultimate in pampering. All units have private patios, air conditioner and barbecues and are serviced daily. For our guests' convenience we offer an affordable on-site laundry service. Sun loungers invite you to enjoy the welcoming coolness of the main swimming pool which is set in tranquil gardens where you can also enjoy a light lunch on the decked lapa. Three units have private splash pools and there is secure on–site undercover parking. The Spa has been designed to ensure total relaxation and privacy and clients enjoy the exclusive use of the Spa facilities during their treatment. There are all kinds of treatments and therapies to relax, replenish and invigorate. Guests can look forward to enjoying a full and varied breakfast with freshly baked scones, muffins and pancakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Tonquani Hotel Knysna
Knysna Tonquani Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing