We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word to describe Tonquani Lodge - 'Magic'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa
Ranked #20 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“One word to describe Tonquani Lodge - 'Magic'”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at Tonquani for 7 days, it was just a magical break for us as we had been traveling around Cape town and the garden route for 4 weeks and were in need of some rest and relaxation which we certainly had and made very special by the family and staff who made sure that we were comfortable. Our chalet was lovely within its own garden and the whole site was beautiful with lovely well attended gardens.
It will be top of our list upon our return.

Brian and Maureen B

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    54
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
72
217
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2012

From the moment of arriving to the time of departure the staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. The rooms were spic and span, with bourgenvilia scattered around the bed and bathroom - it was like being on honeymoon again! A welcome pack and flowers on the table, fluffy dressing gowns and decent bathroom products if you ran out of milk, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were fab as was afternoon tea. Will definitely be back, spoilt us for the next accommodation...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The accommodation, the staff, the spa, the surroundings, everything about Tonquani was amazing. The saddest part about staying at Tonquani, was saying goodby! My wife and I will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2012

It's a beautiful, quiet and tranquil hotel, but it is the genuinely friendly and very attentive staff who will do whatever they can to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible that really gives this hotel the edge.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we felt welcome and relaxed.

Superb little place and if (or when) we visit Knysna again we will without a doubt choose Tonquani Lodge again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We received the warmest welcome possible and was immediately made to feel at home. The professional staff catered to our every need with a smile that's worth millions! Tonquani made our 1ste Year Wedding Anniversary an experience we will never forget. Set in the most tranquil surrounding Knysna has to offer, we were spoilt rotten-with a Welcome Basket, Champagne & Breakfast to die for. We opted for a Couples Spa Package and was pleasantly surprised with the professional, but relaxing atmosphere whilst enjoying a memorable Full Body Masage, Foot Theraphy and 30 minute Sauna Session. Afterwards, we enjoyed a lovely Health Smoothie which rounded off the experience. We would highly recommend going for a picnic-Tonquani Lodge catered to our own specific needs, which made the experience so enjoyable. What more can you ask for-a home style picnic, without any of the trouble of doing it yourself. All that's left, is finding the perfect picnic spot-one that's not hard to come by as Tonquani is ready with directions whenever you say go. A stay at Tonquani Lodge & Spa will never be disappointing-the only disappointment will be when you have to leave this wonderful Lodge. Be sure to return soon, I most certainly know we will. Mr & Mrs Viljoen Oudtshoorn, RSA

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalpjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I took my girlfriend to Tonquani as a surprise for our 4 year anniversary. From the moment we arrive till the moment we left, we were made to feel like royalty. It was one of the most relaxing experiences of my life, and i was sad that we could only stay for 1 night - next time i will make sure we're there for a few days at least!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend visited Tonquani for the week of the 16th of January 2012. If you're seeking a relaxing, tranquil, serene and romantic experience, look no further than Tonquani. The log-cabin style chalets were amazing, the decorations rustic and full of character - with all the modern amenities. Air-conditioning was amazing as it was 38 degrees celsius at the time of our arrival! We didn't make too much use of the jacuzzi bath as it was a little too warm for that - but I can imagine that in winter it would be absolutely sublime. But by far the most amazing part of our experience at Tonquani was the service received from all the staff. They are absolutely amazing (thanks especially to Ruth - wha a wonderful lady!), and would go out of their way to ensure that all your desires are met. On two mornings we ordered breakfast in bed and it was absolutely stunning - the omelettes are highly recommended! Outside the gardens are tranquil and beautiful. If you are a fan of birdlife I imagine this would be paradise. Set in the forest it sets the mood for a tranquil and serene holiday. If you're looking for a romantic getaway, or a break from the hustle and bustle of city life this is the place for you. Highly recommended!

Ziyaad Adams

Room Tip: Leatherleaf chalet is right by the pool - very handy! Aircon was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZiyaadA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
812 reviews
0.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.1 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.3 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
10.8 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 21 in Sedgefield
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa

Property: Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa
Address: Welbedaght Lane | 1 Cherry Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna's multi award-winning lodge offers luxurious individually decorated log chalets and family suites with every conceivable comfort including minibar, complimentary port and chocolates, tea, coffee and biscuits, TV, hair dryer, heater and air conditioner. Four units have a Jacuzzi bath, fireplace and the executive chalet has a private spa area for the ultimate in pampering. All units have private patios, air conditioner and barbecues and are serviced daily. For our guests' convenience we offer an affordable on-site laundry service. Sun loungers invite you to enjoy the welcoming coolness of the main swimming pool which is set in tranquil gardens where you can also enjoy a light lunch on the decked lapa. Three units have private splash pools and there is secure on–site undercover parking. The Spa has been designed to ensure total relaxation and privacy and clients enjoy the exclusive use of the Spa facilities during their treatment. There are all kinds of treatments and therapies to relax, replenish and invigorate. Guests can look forward to enjoying a full and varied breakfast with freshly baked scones, muffins and pancakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Tonquani Hotel Knysna
Knysna Tonquani Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing