We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How Romantic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa
Ranked #17 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“How Romantic!”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We took advantage of Tonquani's Winter Warmer Special and weren't expecting anything out of the ordinary but wow were we very pleasantly surprised!! We stayed in their flagship Loerie Chalet and I couldn't have asked for anything more! Heaters in every room, fire place in the lounge and a large spacious dual level bathroom. Tasty, full breakfast was brought up to our chalet every morning and arranged for the 2 of us while we lay snuggled up in our 4 poster bed.
The spa treatments were awesome - left us feeling pampered and completely relaxed. My only disappointment though was that I had a brow & lip wax and when I returned home I had to complete the neatening of my eyebrows and only one half of my upper lip was waxed. The massage & facial were great!
We'll definitely be back

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    54
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
72
217
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My wife and I spend three nights at Tonquani Lodge and spa during our recent trip to down the Garden Route South Africa.
Initially I was a little dissapointed that the lodge was not nessled in the local yellow wood forest as I had hoped, however my wife really liked Tonquani lodge from the moment we arrived. We had a lovely lodge cabin with our own little lounge with a fire place, kitchen and a spacious bathroom fitted out with a large jacuzzi bath. The bed was amazingly warm and I had the bet 3 night sleep ever. Upon our return site seeing on the second evening we were surprised to find a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine, strawberries and chocolates in our room.
Ever breakfast was delicious, with fresh fruit, coffee and warm breakfast to order.
We also received a complimentary massage for two on our last day and a picknick basket full of snacks for our long drive back to Cape Town.
I would highly recommend Tonquani Lodge, as it is close enough to Knysnaand all the other wonderful sights around the area, yet it is off the main road and a little out of town.
Double thumbs up form us.

Room Tip: The Tonquani lodge website is very good, with pictures of every room with full description, which ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We spent 2 nights at Tonquani on our Honeymoon and we were spoilt from the get go.

Upon arrival our room was lovely and warm, and we received a bottle of sparkling wine in our room. The was beautiful and cosy. They prepared a lovely Orange Zest bath with candles and the whole catoot.

On our second day, we received breakfast in our cabin which was lovely. The evening, we were once again spoilt with Hot Chocolate and DVD's in our room and on our final morning we went to the dining room for breakfast, which was once again lovely and then we were spoilt with a back and neck massage and indian head massage.

If you want to relax and unwind, this is the place to go to. It is 10 minutes drive from Knysna, so easy to go out and do site seeing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Illa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We have recently returned from a very relaxing stay at Tonquani.
We were upgraded to the honeymoon chalet which was very spacious.On arrival there was a fire burning in the fireplace and a welcome bottle of champagn and flowers.The jaguzzi bath and huge shower were amazing.
Although this unit is very nice in that it is spacious, has its own spa area and nice kitchen appliances eg. coffee maker, I do not think it is worth the higher rate been offered. The other units seem just as adequate.
We were not warned about a monkey problem in the area and a baboon did enter our unit while we were out.This was a very unpleasant experience and put a huge damper on our holiday break. Had we not been given an upgrade on check in we would have demanded one, especially since the staff told us they would only clean the stains on the carpet from the baboon faeces the next morning.
There were also a few things that were not expected to happen in a five star rated establishment:
1. bedroom slippers were not new ( they wash them apparently ) and looked like they had been worn beforehand.
2. bedlinen was not changed in 4 days
3. unit was not vacuumed on a daily basis ( not once in 4 days )
4. the toilet area was cleaned daily, but not the baths and shower
Breakfasts were very tasty and well presented. Since the hotel was not busy we could have a continental and a warm breakfast at no extra cost.
The staff are very friendly and do make you feel welcome.
IWarning: Please keep your windows and doors closed when you leave your unit,as there is a monkey problem in the area and they can trash your unit and make an unpleasant stay for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ILANAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertina, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Tonquani's staff met us with a smile at reception where we checked in,afther our beautifull drive to this establishment . A warm fire and flowers greeted us as we walked into our cabinIt was quite chilly that evening so the cozy atmosphere was much appreciated.What also striked us was the amount of space there was in our cabin, not your average hotel room, Enough personal space!
I highly recommend Tonquani !!

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeganduToit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Stayed here for one night on our honeymoon. Wooden chalets very charming. Loved the corner jacuzzi bath. Treated ourselves to a massage in the spa - fantastic! Loved the location of the lodge in the mountain and the layout of the chalets. The only disappointing thing was that I wished that breakfast could have been served outside in the beautiful South African sunshine instead of in a poky dining room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanyaWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

What a wonderful little hideaway. After several recommendations from friends we chose to stay here on the final leg of our SA trip. The accommodation was first class, spacious, high end, it had everything we could have asked for. Brendan and Lusanda were wonderful hosts as were the spa girls who gave us some great local recommenations. We were very thankful to receive an upgrade especially as I am pregnant. Breakfast on the balcony was a real highlight. A great place to stay, 10/10 for sure and I like the nicer things in life ;-)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrissyMC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
4.3 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.0 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#9 of 126 in Knysna
527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa

Property: Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa
Address: Welbedaght Lane | 1 Cherry Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna's multi award-winning lodge offers luxurious individually decorated log chalets and family suites with every conceivable comfort including minibar, complimentary port and chocolates, tea, coffee and biscuits, TV, hair dryer, heater and air conditioner. Four units have a Jacuzzi bath, fireplace and the executive chalet has a private spa area for the ultimate in pampering. All units have private patios, air conditioner and barbecues and are serviced daily. For our guests' convenience we offer an affordable on-site laundry service. Sun loungers invite you to enjoy the welcoming coolness of the main swimming pool which is set in tranquil gardens where you can also enjoy a light lunch on the decked lapa. Three units have private splash pools and there is secure on–site undercover parking. The Spa has been designed to ensure total relaxation and privacy and clients enjoy the exclusive use of the Spa facilities during their treatment. There are all kinds of treatments and therapies to relax, replenish and invigorate. Guests can look forward to enjoying a full and varied breakfast with freshly baked scones, muffins and pancakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Tonquani Hotel Knysna
Knysna Tonquani Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing