We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited our needs”
Review of Graywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Graywood Hotel
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stayed at the Graywood for one night as a stop-over for our Garden Route drive. We stayed in an upstairs room which I found spacious (bigger than what we stayed in at Cape Town) and bathroom large. No issues with noise at night or early morning. Breakfast was the usual buffet with to order hot breakfast.

We had dinner at The Anchorage (walking distance from the Graywood). The seafood platter for one was divine.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki70_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 161 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed at Graywood on our Garden route tour in SA. It was a one night stay and it was okay. we found the room was small and since it was on the ground floor, it had no view no window to the outside. There was always some noise and disturbance. A big group of people arrived at the hotel late that evening and they created quite a din.
Otherwise the hotel is fine, breakfast & service was okay.
Location is very convenient with the waterfront at walking distance and lot of interesting places round the corner. Anyway the place is fine for one night.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bloretravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We booked a 2 night stay through Flight Centre, UK about 7 weeks before travel. The hotel is on the corner of Gray Street, about three short blocks up from Knysna Quays.
Behind the Reception is a huge blown-up photo of British (GWR) steam engines on shed. The railway theme, mostly South African, persists throughout the hotel and grounds. The buildings form a two-storey square around a central garden and pool. Car parking is beneath the building on two sides of the square, with entrance from the side street. Most rooms are upstairs and all are wood-panelled. Rooms are a little smaller than average, although well appointed and with opening windows. A kettle and tea/coffee is provided. The breakfast room is immediately above Reception and there is also outside seating on the verandah by the pool. Breakfast is from a good cold buffet selection, with hot food cooked to order. Many restaurants, to suit all tastes and budgets, are within a couple of blocks walking distance and particularly in the Knysna Quays and Main Street areas.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourmanagerSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Lots of wood going on here - and a train theme also. Rooms are on either ground or upper level and there is a pool and sunbathing area with trees/plants etc at the centre of the smallish complex. very easy to walk down to the waterside and also easy to walk to the main street which had the tourist info office - and lots of other restaurants etc

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyTriLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

The outside of this hotel looks like a wooden fort - quite impressive. The rooms inside however were not the greatest. Our room smelt quite damp, and sadly being encased in wood you can hear everything. If you wish to stay here I would suggest that you book a room upstair and not downstairs, and certainly not rooms 43 to 50 as they sit under the breakfast room. So you will be woken up at circa 5.45 am as we were by the footsteps of the staff preparing the buffet.
Situation-wise however the hotel is handy to the main shopping street and also to the waterfront with some lovely restaurants, bars, and boat tours.
Helen

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nlbulh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

We spent two nights at this hotel when on a Jules Verne tour of South Africa. The room was not enormous but adequate for the two of us and was nicely decorated. The hotel was very conveniently situated for either a walk into town or to the waterfront where there were several restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

Felt like a 1* motel in the US, fluorescent lamps and very small rooms (well, to give proper kudos to US motels, rooms in those are usually bigger in size). The hotel seemed to be populated by tour groups (the one night we stayed, drunken Swedes).

Breakfast was surprisingly good.

The Dry Dock restaurant, claimed to be the best restaurant in town, is only a few blocks away in the Waterfront, and there are tons of other good restaurants as well if you failed to make a prior booking as we did.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank villeww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Yellowwood Lodge
Yellowwood Lodge
#24 of 30 in Knysna
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.6 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#21 of 30 in Knysna
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#18 of 30 in Knysna
270 reviews
0 mi away
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
#19 of 30 in Knysna
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graywood Hotel

Address: Gray Street | PO Box 2044, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: $79 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Graywood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Graywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graywood Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing