We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and clean hotel near to the waterfront”
Review of Graywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Graywood Hotel
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“comfortable and clean hotel near to the waterfront”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This motel-style hotel was comfortable and clean, and was a good base for exploring Knysna, being close to the waterfront and shops etc. Amenities were fairly basic, with a good breakfast but the bar was always empty and no evening food is served. Reception staff were not particularly friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harold59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    49
    45
    11
    5
See reviews for
29
78
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We chose this hotel for the convenient location--walking distance to the waterfront quay & restaurants, bars, shops, water activities, etc. Free wi-fi is available in the public areas, the breakfast is simply outstanding, & the small bar (open evenings) is located beside a cozy sitting area w/fireplace--it was cold in the evenings--large screen TV, & comfy table & chair groupings. What we did not expect was the fantastic courtyard w/mature plantings & pool like a hidden oasis, the immaculate condition of the whole property, the comfort of the rooms, & the friendly, helpful staff. The desk staff & bartender helped me/w computer issues on more than one occasion & the housekeeping staff could not have been more thorough. Did I mention this hotel is immaculate? All in all a lovely, comfortable place to stay in Knysna. A true gem you wouldn't anticipate from the rather plain exterior. There are larger properties nearby but this one has everything you need & much more! Loved it!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms do not have wi-fi but it is available in all public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here for the knysna marathon and while the staff at the breakfast and bar were lovely, I acidently left my earrings on the TV stand..went back to the room which was being cleaned and there was nosign of them. We contacted management hen we got home and still no joy..really disappointed as they we very sentimental. I only didn't sue the safe as I took them out to sleep..so unfortunately my stay the this hotel was ruined by someone stealing my stuff.

Room Tip: Walls are paper thin so if you are looking a quiet night I'd avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulineDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Knysna hotels

Udupi, India
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had been to Knysna on our Garden Route trip in April 2014. And we were booked at The Graywood by our travel agent for 2 nights. The hotel is located at a walkable distance from the knysna quays which harbours some shopping areas and good restaurants. The wooden interiors are fabulous & staff are pleasant . The rooms are neat and clean. In bathroom the shower head needs to be changed as it’s become old. This hotel has got a clean, small & cute pool. Breakfast is good but has limited options when compared with other hotels at this price range. The hotel is situated near good restaurants such as Anchorage & Rasoi located at walkable distances.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Priyankashenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I wasn't keen on the outside of this hotel- but after driving into Knysna late afternoon we decided to check it out. What a lovely surprise ! The outside doesn't do it justice- it wont disappoint. The mature plants surround a small but adequate pool which give the upper wooden floor a charming outlook. The cabosse theme and train artefacts gave Graywood an added extra.
The room was a decent size with a good shower ensuite. Breakfast was good with a quick and pleasant service. Very quick walk to the port side shops and restaurants in stunning Knysna.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazzy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

03/4 Garywood
Our stay at the Garywood was very good. The rooms are very adequate if you want to have 3 or 4 person on the Sofa bed.
The breakfast is very good.
The hotel is within walking distant of the water front

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Spotless rooms with great touches. Good pillows :-) you see I like pillows. They determine my sleep. Friendly staff. Well situated. Substantial Choice of Breakfast to meet everyone's taste. A great recommendation from a friend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank neoprene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.0 mi away
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
#18 of 30 in Knysna
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#28 of 30 in Knysna
30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowwood Lodge
Yellowwood Lodge
#24 of 30 in Knysna
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.6 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graywood Hotel

Property: Graywood Hotel
Address: Gray Street | PO Box 2044, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Graywood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Graywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graywood Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing