We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the quays”
Review of Graywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Graywood Hotel
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great little hotel in Knysna, very well priced compared to the others in the area. Walking distance to all the restaurants in the quays. Love the train theme. Excellent staff. I dropped my ipod on the bed without noticing, and the staff organised for a travel guide on her way to Cape Town, to bring it along for me to pick up in Cape Town. That's one step beyond in customer service. It shows that great customer service is possible, even when it is a budget hotel. Safe parking downstairs, and nice little pool.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank budgetfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 160 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Expect a very warm welcome. And the lobby is fabulous. We were a family of three and often request one room so that we enjoy more.
Gary woods had the information that we are three to a room and the room was prepared for thee. Three cups, three set of towels three sets of every thing. Please trust me not even 5Star do this. You have to ask for them every time.
The dining though only breakfast is fabulous. The staff is exceptional and can easily be a example how it should be.
We were late from whale watching. May be an hour too late. Breakfast was cleared and we had no reason to ask for breakfast. We had barely reached our room and we were invited to have breakfast- full well laid breakfast.
This hotel can be training ground of hospitality.

Room Tip: Every room is identical. Immaculate, spotlessly clean. And house keeping is so fast, you will feel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AG1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Graywood is a moderately sized cabin-like hotel. They do have a swimming pool for those interested. The rooms are simply furnished, but clean so we had no complaints. As we were part of a tour group, we were offered their breakfast buffet in the morning, which again was simple, but was good enough. They have a nice lounge for evening cocktails. I think the highlight if the Graywood was the courtesy of the staff. Although this hotel is for the budget minded, our group was given first class treatment.

Just down the street is the waterfront, with restaurants and shops, as well the lagoon with a boat dock. The view here is just lovely.

Room Tip: If you are NOT with a tour group, ask for a room away from any groups, as the groups usually leave v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachlifelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed at the Graywood hotel with family 11 of us.On arrival rooms were already allotted with room keys in place,welcome drink and luggage stickers to specify which piece of luggage would go to which room.The extremely friendly staff settled us very quickly.The room temperature was already adjusted.The rooms were clean n comfortable,the ambience really soothing.The food was excellent and as we had to catch an early flight on check out day,our breakfast packets with delicious food were ready well in time.The smiling staff made us feel very comfortable.Also the waterfront,shops and dining places are located within walking distance making it an excellent choice to stay in Knysana.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vibha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

You will not find a more central location from where to explore Knysna. It is within walking distance from the lovely waterfront and lots of little quaint shops. The hotel is built with log cabins and this gives a lovely ambiance. It is decorated with interesting railway memorable. The staff is fantastic in creating a comfortable stay and giving advise on what not to miss in the area. Breakfast on the deck over looking the swimming pool is a great way to start your day in Knysna!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Booked here for 1 night but extended for 1 extra night. Staff is very friendly, efficient and helpful. Has secured parking. Close to the waterfront 5min walk. Room service also available but closes at 9:30 pm. The rooms ate clean with new linen. Good no frills accommodation. Similar hotels at the waterfront will charge double price for the same service.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mig26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon. Definitely not to be recommended. The hotel works mainly with tour groups and about two bus loads are arriving every day. This means that you will be woken up at early morning hours by people rattling their suitcases across the wooden floors. Shame because the hotel with its wooden construction is very pretty. Obviously this could have been avoided by not giving us a room directly next to the stairs where everybody goes past!! The rooms are tiny and the bathrooms seriously need renovation. Shower hardly working. Three stars?? No way! In addition the staff was very rude. They knew from the booking that we were on honeymoon. No special attention like some little decoration or attention in the room was made. When we hinted at it the receptionist just gave us a ridiculous laugh. The only person who really made up for all of this was the extremely friendly waiter at breakfast.
In summary: not to be repeated and clear feedback will be given to the honey moon organizer to avoid this hotel in the future. They are just not up to the standard of the other ones they are compared with.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yellowduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Yellowwood Lodge
Yellowwood Lodge
#25 of 30 in Knysna
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.6 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#21 of 30 in Knysna
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#18 of 30 in Knysna
269 reviews
0 mi away
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
#19 of 30 in Knysna
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graywood Hotel

Address: Gray Street | PO Box 2044, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: $77 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Graywood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Graywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graywood Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing