We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location”
Review of Graywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Graywood Hotel
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant location”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had 2 nights in Knysna during a tour of the Garden Route, the Graywood is in a lovely position so that you can walk to the waterfront within minutes. It had been hubbys birthday the day before our arrival and the staff commented on it during check in and then we found a small bottle of champagne and some chocolates in our room which was a lovely touch. The deck over looking the pool is a lovely place to sit and chill and breakfast was of a good standard. All the staff were friendly and helpful, we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Our room was number 4 which was fine except it was close to the deck so if anyone had early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsDosamigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    49
    45
    11
    5
See reviews for
29
78
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I enjoyed it here. Secure parking, clean and comfortable rooms and very helpful staff. I was only stopping overnight so missed out on the delights of Knysna, but I can report it was very safe. I liked the place so much before I left I booked a night on my drive back. If you're staying here, don't miss out on the ribs at Oldes on the same block :)

Room Tip: I wouldn't want to be on the ground floor, I would imagine as guests leave it would be noisy wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFP777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Location of this hotel was excellent to walk to the Knysna Waterfront. It was close to many restaurants and shops. The theme is like an old train....lots of wood. For a newer hotel the rooms weren't that great. Shower was horrible. Room was cold and musty.
Grounds were beautiful and staff friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTraveling56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The rooms were clean and offered more than I expected for a 3 star hotel. Situated close to the Lagoon and Knysna Waterfront. The service from checking in to checking out was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. I will definitely return when in Knysna again. As an inbound tour operator in Cape Town, I will definitely promote this hotel to my foreign and local guests. Real value for money. I received 5 star treatment from the moment I entered the reception area and it continued throughout my stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms surround the swimming pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AladdinCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

The hotel staff were very friendly, from the bar to the front desk. Breakfast was grand. We did not eat dinner in the hotel but rather at the nearby waterfront with a fine selection of seafood restaurants. Good shopping in Knysna. The John Benn cruise on the Lagoon is a nice break.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingAllena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Perfect location,lovely staff,really nice place, so glad we stayed there!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mal2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stayed at the Graywood for one night as a stop-over for our Garden Route drive. We stayed in an upstairs room which I found spacious (bigger than what we stayed in at Cape Town) and bathroom large. No issues with noise at night or early morning. Breakfast was the usual buffet with to order hot breakfast.

We had dinner at The Anchorage (walking distance from the Graywood). The seafood platter for one was divine.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki70_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.0 mi away
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
#17 of 30 in Knysna
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#28 of 30 in Knysna
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yellowwood Lodge
Yellowwood Lodge
#24 of 30 in Knysna
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
87 reviews
2.8 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#21 of 30 in Knysna
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graywood Hotel

Property: Graywood Hotel
Address: Gray Street | PO Box 2044, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Graywood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Graywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graywood Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing