We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing experiance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
Ranked #6 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
1 review
“amazing experiance”
Reviewed February 4, 2011

I cannot describe our experience in words about this wonderful lodge. Though the place is not easy to locate...but with the help of the amazing staff you can reach easily. its at the best location, the rooms are wonderful and not to forget the staff is the best and the most friendly ive ever come across..it was my first trip to SA, if and when I plan another, will make sure i visit them!!.. an example of the truly amazing staff is that I am a pure vegetarian... and they made sure i got a variety for the 4 days i stayed (very difficult for a vegetarian who does not eat eggs to get good variety of breakfast)... Thanks the Mandy and her staff!!! loved them all.. and loved the place

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pratikshavora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    60
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
60
306
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed here for two nights on our way along the Garden Route. How I wish it could have been longer. Each lodge is separate and therefore totally private with stunning views over the lagoon. Everything you could want is provided. I especially loved the candlelit spa bath looking out onto the lagoon - sheer decadence. The breakfasts were amazing and the staff were helpful. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Elephant Hide is a very special place for us. This was our 3rd trip to South Africa together and our 3rd time at Elephant Hide. Not to mention in the midst of our stay we celebrated our wedding day at this beautiful location. Elephant Hide has the most amazing staff so attentative and besides looking after our every need the lovely owner Louise planned the most amazing wedding day for us. Our family and firends are still talking about the wedding and their stay at Elephant Hide. I recommend this beautiful location for anyone who is looking for something a little specail!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyandFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2010

This was our 5th visit to Elephant Hide - a family run guest lodge.

The views of the lagoon are amazing either from your room (if lagoon facing) or from the main reception area where breakfast is served.

The staff are friendly and willing to go the extra mile for you. They gave us a complimentary dinner this time due to our many previous visits. The breakfasts are personally made and have amazing attention to detail.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin111170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Lovely place with very nice decor / style and very friendly, helpful staff (always on call), located up in the hills (approx. 5-10mins drive to Knysna downtown). We stayed with 2 small kids (2,5 and 1 year old) in the family-room, which was great, as we had 2 attached rooms and a huge bathroom and a private terrace, just next to the little (but very cold) pool (the whole suite was very spacious). We loved the breakfast a la carte, although a bit more variety would be nice after some days staying there. It is a very calm place targeting rather elderly people or honeymooners though.
Downside: They do not offer dinner; but help to organise take a way that you can have on the terrace, if you wish. No highchairs etc. available for the kids.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We chose Elephant Hide for a small, intimate wedding with a party of eight. Everything went superbly and we couldn't possibly have had anything better. Louise, the owner, was amazing. Right from the start when we first started enquiring about Elephant Hide as a possible wedding venue, she was so helpful and friendly that we knew it was the right choice for us. She co-ordinated everything for us, from the menu to the ceremony and booking the perfect photographer, minister, florist, make-up artist and hairdresser. Trying to organise a wedding in South Africa from the UK, it was invaluable having someone so experienced and knowledgeable arranging it all for us. She even cooked the most delicious food for the night of our arrival and the wedding reception - better than any restaurant we've ever been to. Along with the rest of the staff (especially Fish), she went above and beyond to make sure everything about our stay was exactly what we wanted and more. The attention to detail meant we could relax knowing that everything would be taken care of to perfection for our special day.

Our party stayed in four separate chalets and everyone was blown away by the accommodation, the service, the location and the delicious breakfasts. The little extras like the iPod docking stations in the rooms made it easy to relax and enjoy. Everything was clean and modern but very cosy and relaxed at the same time, with a huge log fire up in the main lodge for the cold winter months.

All in all, we would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting an amazing holiday, romantic honeymoon or perfect wedding. We wouldn't stay anywhere else if we go back to Knysna (which we hope to do soon). A million thanks to Louise, Ryan, Fish and everyone else who helped make our stay so special.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travels_Muse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

My wife and I were lucky enough to stay at The Elephant Hide Guest Lodge in Knysna for a couple of nights as we made our way along The Garden Route portion of our South African honeymoon. This family run Lodge was spectacular, from the beautiful private huts overlooking the lagoon/estuary and the town of Belvidere across the way, with their spaciousness, great beds, big chairs, and bathrooms with big, amazing whirlpool tubs and huge double headed showers, to the amazing breakfasts dreamed up by the executive chef and daughter of owner and innkeeper Wendy, who was so lovely, helpful and accommodating. We relaxed, enjoyed the gorgeous scenery, and had so much fun planning and doing amazing things with Wendy's help, who booked an ocean safari for us in Plettenberg Bay, made dinner reservations for us, and told us what not to miss. After the potato pancake topped with scrambled eggs wrapped in smoked salmon with rocket and chive creme fraiche and the cream cheese stuffed French toast topped with raspberry sauce, we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dansethpNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
808 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
0.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge

Property: Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
Address: Cherry Lane | Welbedacht, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge is situated on top of the Welbedacht Cliff Tops 3km from Knysna Town, the Lodge overlooks the Knysna Lagoon and the Outeniqua mountains. The theme of the Lodge is one based on natural beauty with stone and wood architecture combining to give that comfortable earth feel. This Knysna Accommodation has four suites with magical views of the Knysna lagoon from every corner of the room. The fifth and sixth suite while still enjoying lagoon views are embedded in indigenous “fynbos” surroundings attracting numerous bird species and giving that “hidden away” feeling. Enjoy a relaxing spa-bath while gazing into infinity. All the suites have double showers with views and are private.The lodge is a family run business that prides itself on personal service and ensuring an unforgettable experience for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hide Of Knysna Guest Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing