We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SA Trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
Ranked #6 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“SA Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Room very hot on arrival but the baboon problem was explained to us now it makes sense why you cant leave room windows open. Couple of chips in bathroom tiles easy to fix.......otherwise great time had. Thanks

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    57
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
55
293
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was our second visit and was just as perfect as our first. There is something very special about having one's own private, detached suite, with complete privacy yet only a step away from the comfortable lounge/breakfast room. Our suite was elegantly furnished with high quality furniture with a tasteful "African" ambience and we loved the bathroom with its Jacuzzi bath complete with candles and luxury toiletries. The uninterrupted view of the Lagoon was thrilling at any time of the day, but especially in the evening. The breakfast was excellent and the service exemplary. We would highly recommend this guest lodge which is in a tranquil area, yet only minutes from the bustle of Knysna.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholasp391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freestate
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Everything in its place from hassle free booking and quick comfirmation . Beautiful view and well managed lodge. The stay over were hassle free and very pleasant . management are very eager to assist with any info regarding your visit or daily activities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wikus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were fortunate enough to spend a night in the Fynbos Suite in November. It is not in the centre of town but that is what appealed to us. Also, we did not hear any traffic noise. It was very peaceful. It is also close enough to the waterfront and to town itself. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated. It would have been nice to have had a small table on the deck / balcony area but this certainly did not effect our enjoyment of our stay. The bathroom and shower are luxurious but I had very mixed feelings regarding privacy. The units are really not that far away from each other and I felt a little uncomfortable taking a shower. We loved the spa bath. Our room rate did not include breakfast so we are unable to comment on the food. We took a dip in the pool which offers a great view. The only person we had any contact with at all was Fish who was fantastic. He ensured that we had everything we needed and was on hand to offer us a refreshing drink while we were enjoying the view from the swimming pool. This is not family accommodation but a great place to enjoy a escape with your other half. We look forward to going back sometime.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
340 reviews
326 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was one of the best places we stayed on our trip through the garden route. As soon as we arrived we were blown away by how beautiful this place was – spectacular sunset views over the lagoon. We were further blown away when we saw the equally spectacular views from our unit. We couldn’t believe how nice it was.

The guesthouse is situated on the side of a hill facing west over the lagoon to catch the breathtaking sunsets – very beautiful and romantic. Our room was large and airy with lots of windows, sun streaming in. The bathroom was nearly perfect – spa bath with a view, double sinks, and double shower heads – not to mention non-slippery tiles on the floor. The king size bed was very comfortable and we had a great night’s sleep. The morning alarm clock was the numerous birds singing outside in the bush. The place was beautifully furnished and decorated. We had DSTV and a good AC unit as well as a fridge and small kitchenette.

The guesthouse doesn’t serve dinner so we ate our dinner down at the waterfront. The breakfast was excellent, a great menu of mouthwatering choices. The cream-cheese and berry infused French toast was amazing! I’m sorry we had only one night at this place. Highly recommended to other travelers who want a magical romantic getaway. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Elephant Hide Lodge is a superb place to stay. My wife and I enjoyed every moment of our stay. The View is superb. The rooms are amazing!! everything is wonderful about this place. not to forget, the owners are really cool and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank abdulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

What an amazing stay. Friendly staff. Romantic views. Beautiful rooms. And the views are breath taking. A truly memorable experience and well worth the money. Very romantic and a definate must for couples.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.5 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge

Property: Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
Address: Cherry Lane | Welbedacht, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge is situated on top of the Welbedacht Cliff Tops 3km from Knysna Town, the Lodge overlooks the Knysna Lagoon and the Outeniqua mountains. The theme of the Lodge is one based on natural beauty with stone and wood architecture combining to give that comfortable earth feel. This Knysna Accommodation has four suites with magical views of the Knysna lagoon from every corner of the room. The fifth and sixth suite while still enjoying lagoon views are embedded in indigenous “fynbos” surroundings attracting numerous bird species and giving that “hidden away” feeling. Enjoy a relaxing spa-bath while gazing into infinity. All the suites have double showers with views and are private.The lodge is a family run business that prides itself on personal service and ensuring an unforgettable experience for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hide Of Knysna Guest Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing