We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BREATHTAKING”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
Ranked #6 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“BREATHTAKING”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

A truly special establishment where you are made to feel at home from the second you arrive. All the staff were extrememely helpful and assited with activity information in and around Knysna. The room was gorgeous.. especially the bedding.. and the view will take your breath away! As the lodge is just outside town, you still have the feeling of "getting away from it all" yet are conveniently close to all the sights and sounds of this colourful holiday town. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    59
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
299
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We stayed two nights. The rooms, the view, the serenity - all were a stunning experience.
Ryan (the owner) helped us a great deal in excellent tips for trips in Knysna, in choice of restaurants, and even in reserveing our following night in another lodge in Tzitzikama.

All in all we had a splendid stay, and we felt as if this place desreves another and longer visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opherar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

For our 1-night-stay at the Elephant Hide we booked the Executive Suite, from which we had a unique and overwhelming view on the bay area of Knysna. Service was good, breakfast fantastic and we highly recommend this accommodation to any traveller, except maybe to anyone who is looking for absolute quietness; Even though you have to drive a few km's off from the main road, you can still hear (distant) traffic noise which may or may not affect your wellbeing - depending on what you are looking for.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fab3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at Elephant Hide for two nights- and loved everyy minute of our visit. The room ( a free standing cabin) was spotless, elegant and very spacious. The owner was most helpful with suggestions on places to visit, and recommendations for dinner. The location was a couple of minutes out of town, which I thought was going to bother me, but given the lovely rooms and amazing service, was not an issue at all! The breakfasts were amazing- and very large!! highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

The service was exemplary, nothing too much trouble and every effort made to ensure our stay was pleasurable. The al fresco breakfasts were a treat, tasted good and presented beautifully.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cml121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2011

I cannot describe our experience in words about this wonderful lodge. Though the place is not easy to locate...but with the help of the amazing staff you can reach easily. its at the best location, the rooms are wonderful and not to forget the staff is the best and the most friendly ive ever come across..it was my first trip to SA, if and when I plan another, will make sure i visit them!!.. an example of the truly amazing staff is that I am a pure vegetarian... and they made sure i got a variety for the 4 days i stayed (very difficult for a vegetarian who does not eat eggs to get good variety of breakfast)... Thanks the Mandy and her staff!!! loved them all.. and loved the place

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pratikshavora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed here for two nights on our way along the Garden Route. How I wish it could have been longer. Each lodge is separate and therefore totally private with stunning views over the lagoon. Everything you could want is provided. I especially loved the candlelit spa bath looking out onto the lagoon - sheer decadence. The breakfasts were amazing and the staff were helpful. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
361 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
4.1 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge

Property: Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
Address: Cherry Lane | Welbedacht, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge is situated on top of the Welbedacht Cliff Tops 3km from Knysna Town, the Lodge overlooks the Knysna Lagoon and the Outeniqua mountains. The theme of the Lodge is one based on natural beauty with stone and wood architecture combining to give that comfortable earth feel. This Knysna Accommodation has four suites with magical views of the Knysna lagoon from every corner of the room. The fifth and sixth suite while still enjoying lagoon views are embedded in indigenous “fynbos” surroundings attracting numerous bird species and giving that “hidden away” feeling. Enjoy a relaxing spa-bath while gazing into infinity. All the suites have double showers with views and are private.The lodge is a family run business that prides itself on personal service and ensuring an unforgettable experience for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hide Of Knysna Guest Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing