We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A veritable oasis on the garden route” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conrad Pezula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Conrad Pezula
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
india
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A veritable oasis on the garden route”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Conrad Property is one of the better properties that South Africa has to offer.......both in terms of location as well as staff. We unfortunately spent only a day and a half on the property which we felt was too short to enjoy all the awesome facilities at a guests disposal....... A tip if u are travelling to S Africa.... Spend one day less in Cape Town and one day more in Knysna.... All the activities are along this route..... The ostrich farm, cango caves, cheetah reserve, quad biking etc.......Knysna becomes the focal point to enjoy all these activities at leisure. The property itself is well managed with a fantastic team of staff who go out of their way to make ur visit an enjoyable one. The golf course is an added bonus to the property. Would definately recommend staying in this property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelindia09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Travelindia09,

We love hearing compliments like this and are very grateful for receiving such a raving review.

We have to agree with you about the Garden Route and what it offers compared to Cape Town. Here you can be as busy or as relaxed as you like. Thank you for staying at Conrad Pezula and recommending us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    139
    51
    25
    17
See reviews for
232
359
7
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Good facilities and an excellent venue. Staff generally very friendly and helpful baring one small incident that does was handled well and does not change my opinion that this is one of the best facilities of it's type in South Africa

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Seetella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Seetella M,

Thank you very much for giving us this review and filling out our post stay survey. Your feedback is valuable and we appreciate guests interacting with us after their stay.

Keep well and we look forward to welcoming you back to Conrad Pezula in the not too distant future.

Best Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I found the staff were very friendly and attentive at all times and the under floor heating in the bathroom was a l real pleasure. The view from our room was spectacular and the location of the hotel is perfect for going into town and or to The Heads.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Gillian W,

The underfloor heating does make the difference on a cold winters day. Thank you for providing us with a review and allowing other travellers to see what it is like to stay with us. We appreciate it.

We look forward to receiving you back at Conrad Pezula in the not too distant future.

Best Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our 12 day tour from Cape town to Port Elizabeth. This was our first visit to South Africa and we had been surprised at the standard of all the places we had stayed at on our tour but, this hotel surpassed them all. And just when we had got used to the excellent service, beautiful room and stunning views and didn't think it could get better, we took the shuttle down to the beach. An expansive picturesque beach which we had to ourselves, apart from when someone came to setup our sunlounges and to bring down our lunches.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkpudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear yorkpudding,

We are so pleased that you had such a fabulous experience at our hotel. The month of May is a beautifull month in the Garden Route and you obviously experienced the best our region has to offer.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review about us, we are grateful and look forward to welcoming you back in South Africa and the Garden Route.

Best Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Staff anticipated our needs and provided us with what we needed even before we knew we needed it. The hotel catered for our every need and ensured that we were well taken care of. Never did we feel the staff were intrusive and it seemed as though everything just happened without effort. Thank you for an amazing stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Lirene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Lirene V,

Thank you for the review and recognizing the Team members as a key touch point during your stay. We pride ourselves in the way our team connect with our guests but still allowing you, "The Luxury of being yourself"

I am pleased that you enjoyed the time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived at the Pezula after a LONG drive and although the first porter showed us to the balcony and offered us drinks, it was not long until a receptionist came to see us and asking whether we wanted to join the Conrad club for points or something.... we didn't really need all that after such a long journey.

We were shown to our room which was ok- nothing really personal just standard. This is the problem with this hotel so far our experience in SA had been incredible and this lacked all the care and attention to detail we had so far (we did the garden route from cape town). We went for lunch not long after we arrived and the waitress was shockingly bad, I mean faulty towers bad, I am a clumsy person but she topped me big style. This hotel can do the big things well- the championship golf course, the food, the hotel all very nice but the small attention to detail things they miss and very obviously miss to.

We wanted to do some clothes washing before our next holiday and found that to launder a pair of shorts was nearly £7.00, they charged you an extortionate price for everything, you didn't even get water in your room free!

On the day we checked out we had to get to the airport to catch a flight, we ordered a buggy service twice to our room for 10am and no one turned up, we wouldn't of minded if the hotel was not made up of scattered houses all over the resort- we ended up walking to the reception our self and asking for the car. Again the basic stuff just not being fulfilled, I would say avoid this hotel if you are a couple who like the attention to detail and want to feel really looked after on your holiday in this place you are just a number with no personal touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CatJens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear CatJens,

Thank you for your time in writing a review and advising us of your experience at Conrad Pezula. It is unfortunate that you felt we lacked attention to details. We pride ourselves in being in touch with our guests and allowing you the Luxury of being yourself.

I assure you that we have looked into the first interactions when guests check in and allow me to apologise about the poor service in the restaurant and not collecting you from the room.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Conrad Pezula and I will invite you to a lovely lunch at Cafe Z on the terrace.

Please feel free to contact me direct should you wish to make further comments of perhaps receive a preferential rate from us.

Best Personal Regards

Gert Venter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed for 4 days at Pezula with our kids. Our rooms were interlinked suites, the rooms are really big, with a fireplace, which came in handy as it was cold at times. The bathroom was also large with beautiful facilities. The private beach was the highlight of our stay, the hotel prepared a picnic basket for us which they brought to the beach for us. The views of the hotel are amazing, with the golf course on one side and ocean views from a distance on one side. The spa is excellent, we all booked sessions there and used the sauna, steam room and the heated pool. The only gripe I had was the menu in the Zachary restaurant, we felt they did not offer variety. The staff was absolutely excellent, they more than made up for it though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fundiswa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Fundiswa,

Thank you for flattering us with your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Our Chef, Geoffrey Murray cooks as close to the season as he can and he sources everything on the menu locally. One of the traitmarks at Conrad Pezula is the concept of "From the Farm to the Table" Having this in mind the menu might feel slightly limited compared to other mainstream restaurants.

Having said that, thank you for giving us to opportunity to look after you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards

Gert Venter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.8 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
4.7 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
9.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.2 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Pezula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Pezula

Property: Conrad Pezula
Address: Lagoon View Drive, Eastern Head | Pezula Estate, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#1 Business Hotel in Knysna
#4 Family Hotel in Knysna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Pezula 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conrad Pezula delivers a whole new world of luxury and privacy in elegant African style. Situated in Knysna, just a 40-minute flight from Cape Town, it is known for its gourmet restaurant, award-winning spa, exquisite location and secluded beach. A wide choice of activities includes golf, tennis, horse riding, canoeing and hiking. Accommodation is in 78 stylish suites each with its own fireplace, balcony or patio and spacious bathroom, 5 two bedroom villas and the grand Pezula Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Conrad Pezula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pezula Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing