We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sheer Luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conrad Pezula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Conrad Pezula
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sheer Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Arrived here late at night without a reservation after a long drive from Capetown and stayed for two nights. The hotel suites are beautiful and full of every luxury you can imagine, sitting lounge, wood fireplace, well stocked bar, every detail was thought through. If you want a quite get away with a loved one this is the place to be. I visited the spa for a massage and that was fabulous. The food at the hotel is not first class but given the great resturants around that is not a ploblem. The staff are wonderful and gracious and Henry did everything to get us settled in and made our stay memorable. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear kitty 1234567,

I am so pleased that you found our team members, Henry in particular very helpfull and accommodating. Thank you for the generous compliments on our accommodation offering as well.

Our Restaurants operate at the highest level in terms of quality and integrity of product so I am disappointed that you did not enjoy the offering. We will at the next encounter improve on your experience if you highlight your particular preference.

Thank you for letting us know about your experience at Contrad Pezula and I look forward to seeing you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    138
    51
    25
    17
See reviews for
232
358
7
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

after a long and rainy drive from Cape Town, we finally made it to the hotel.All the rain and misery was quickly forgotten thanks to the kindness of the people at the reception,the great valet service and the FANTASTIC room (we were upgraded to a junior suite).The view from our room/villa was breathtaking and I can't think of anything that was wrong or missing .On the contrary: when we returned from the in house restaurant 'Zachary's' (wich I can equally recommend) , the open fire was burning and the bed was prepared .
the bathroom was of course in line with expectations but the one item that made the difference were the bathrobes; I was actually tempted to steal them (but I didn't) Go there and try them.
Next morning we had a great breakfast on the terrace and again, staff made the difference: discreet and friendly and always with a smile.

Room Tip: i would recommend a room with a lagoon view if you happen to have 'Hilton HonourPoints', th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 190bart190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, April 14, 2015
Dear 190bart190

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

I am pleased to hear that you had an excellent overall experience and we thank you for your positive and encouraging feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Spent a romantic weekend away here and we were not disappointed. The personal touches of for instance a seated check-in with complimentary hand massage make you feel like a VIP. Valet service was flawless, staff courteous and friendly and the room very spacious and well appointed.

There were some slight hick-ups in the service delivery, but nothing that was not recovered. Also some elements of the room could use a refurb, though also this did not detract from the experience.

Dinner at Zachary's was an experience and though not cheap an absolute winner. Breakfast was similarly impressive and so was were the spa treatments and facilities. The Gym was well appointed and throughout the spa and gym one finds complementary drinks and water.

We had a little canoe trip from the beach which was lovely. Also the pick-nick basket service is a winner.

The front office / guest relations gave us excellent dinner suggestions in Knysna during our second night. Also the complementary DVD library service was great to just lounge in the room and rent a nice DVD.

We felt that 2 nights was actually too short to fully experience all the activities on the estate, and I guess one could easily spent a week or longer without getting bored. Would definitely recommend, especially for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which was very close to the main building and had an excellent view of leisure island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, April 14, 2015
Dear woudo

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

I am delighted to hear that you and your loved one had an excellent weekend away.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for another special stay.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have recently spent a week at the hotel which certainly has excellent facilities. It is in a great location and the staff are extremely friendly and enthusiastic, very keen to make sure you enjoy the Pezula experience.
Our slight disappointment was that this was our second visit, the first being again for a week in 2009. We had then been so impressed with our luxury suite (79) , its convenient situation, spacious and well appointed layout ,that we asked for the same suite again. We were allocated the same but were very surprised that 4 years on there appeared to have been no change to the decor and felt it looked a little tired. No doubt the new owners will have a phased refurbishment scheme in hand.
The spa facilities are first class and at least one visit to Noetzie beach is a must.

Room Tip: The higher and lower numbered suites are within easy walking distance to the hotel and golf facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, March 25, 2015
Dear Alan W

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback that we continuously improve.

I am proud to hear that you were made to feel welcome and that you enjoyed the resort facilities.

We do hope that we will, once again, have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a magnificent location, complimented by a warm and friendly resort. Staff were expremely accomodating and willing to help from arrival to departure.
The shuttle to noetzie beach was an excellent bonus- one of the highlights of the trip for my kids.

Initially had some housekeeping problems which got sorted on discussion with management.

Thank you for making it a truly memorable holiday.

Room Tip: rooms small for parents with 2 kids- perhaps better to take interleading rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank safiyyah i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, March 25, 2015
Dear safiyyah I

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

I am proud to hear that you were made to feel welcome and that you and your family had a memorable holiday.

The entire team looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Loved my stay and was treated like a rockstar by staff. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. The spa in particular is a treat. All around hit, will definitely recommend to anyone visting the Knysna area, especially in February, the area is at its absolute best. Hot hot days and cooler nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, March 25, 2015
Dear JJ M

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience and that the weather treated you well.

Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back or another excellent stay.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently had our company year end function at Pezula and the hotel excelled in every aspect. The very best in rooms, views, activities, conferencing facilities, food, staff and Spa. A MUST when visiting Knysna or considering a company conference in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing with lovely views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Simone G

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

It's wonderful news to hear that your company year end function was a great success and we are grateful for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.8 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
4.7 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
9.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Pezula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Pezula

Property: Conrad Pezula
Address: Lagoon View Drive, Eastern Head | Pezula Estate, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#1 Business Hotel in Knysna
#4 Family Hotel in Knysna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Pezula 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conrad Pezula delivers a whole new world of luxury and privacy in elegant African style. Situated in Knysna, just a 40-minute flight from Cape Town, it is known for its gourmet restaurant, award-winning spa, exquisite location and secluded beach. A wide choice of activities includes golf, tennis, horse riding, canoeing and hiking. Accommodation is in 78 stylish suites each with its own fireplace, balcony or patio and spacious bathroom, 5 two bedroom villas and the grand Pezula Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA and Agoda so you can book your Conrad Pezula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pezula Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing