We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful family vacation”
Review of Conrad Pezula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Conrad Pezula
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a magnificent location, complimented by a warm and friendly resort. Staff were expremely accomodating and willing to help from arrival to departure.
The shuttle to noetzie beach was an excellent bonus- one of the highlights of the trip for my kids.

Initially had some housekeeping problems which got sorted on discussion with management.

Thank you for making it a truly memorable holiday.

Room Tip: rooms small for parents with 2 kids- perhaps better to take interleading rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safiyyah i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2015

Dear safiyyah I

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

I am proud to hear that you were made to feel welcome and that you and your family had a memorable holiday.

The entire team looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 849 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Loved my stay and was treated like a rockstar by staff. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. The spa in particular is a treat. All around hit, will definitely recommend to anyone visting the Knysna area, especially in February, the area is at its absolute best. Hot hot days and cooler nights.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2015

Dear JJ M

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience and that the weather treated you well.

Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back or another excellent stay.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently had our company year end function at Pezula and the hotel excelled in every aspect. The very best in rooms, views, activities, conferencing facilities, food, staff and Spa. A MUST when visiting Knysna or considering a company conference in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing with lovely views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2015

Dear Simone G

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

It's wonderful news to hear that your company year end function was a great success and we are grateful for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a first class 5 star resort. Suites are beautifully decorated with large baths (separate tub & large shower), dual sinks, walk in closet, full wet bar with minibar & Nespresso machine, wood burning fireplace, crisp cotton linens & comfy beds.

Activities – first class golf course & clubhouse, tennis, horseback riding (thank you William!), small pool, nice workout room. Spa is lovely with excellent service & technicians & is reasonably priced. Noetzie Beach (essentially a private beach) is about 10 minutes by car & the resort runs regular shuttles.

Food was the best part – everything we had was excellent. Most is locally sourced & excellently prepared. Our group had a braai (outdoor barbecue) at the boma one night & it was perfect. Wine list obviously focuses on South African wines.

If any downsides – 1) resort is isolated & well away from Knysna (~15 minutes by car); 2) as noted by some other reviewers, lower level staff can be English-challenged and unaware of the resort amenities. I witnessed a couple asking a housekeeper in the lobby where the spa was & she didn’t know, so I told them it was literally just below them on next floor. But the resort is well staffed & there is always someone ready to try to take care of your every need.

Room Tip: Rooms – ask for one upstairs to get a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyLu_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2015

Dear LucyLu_Texas

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Conrad Pezula.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and had an excellent overall experience.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at a number of Hotels in recent trip to SA and this was easily the best. Beautiful location and views, friendly and helpful staff, lovely room. Wished we had stayed for longer but will return next time we are in south Africa

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Peter S,

Thank you for giving us such a wonderful review. It is much appreciated and it is travellers like you that make our jobs such a delight. We are happy, when we please our guests.

See you at Conrad Pezula on your next trip.

Best Regards

Gert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I wondered about this hotel/resort because we are not golfers or spa people. It proved to be an excellent choice. Bert Venter and his entire staff, especially Leanne (Front desk manager) made for a wonderful stay of 3 nights. The beach was tops and we and enjoyed touring one of the beach castles where Nelson Mandela stayed after being President of South Africa.
Three cheers for each of this wonderful staff! What a beautiful and relaxing stay we had here.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SaratogaJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear SaratogaJC,

Thank you for giving us the chance to show you what we are made of.

I am pleased that you had a wonderfull stay with us and that we managed to exceed your expectations, connect you with the environment at Pezula as well as the town of Knysna.

I look foward to welcoming you back to Conrad Pezula.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a fabulous place, with great facilities. The food was fantastic as would be expected from an hotel of this standard. My only criticism is that the staff although very friendly, and in most cases enthusiastic, they just don't seem to get things quite right. I wanted to go fishing with a guide, as was advertised on their excursions. Firstly they told me the guide wasn't available on the day I wanted, but would be the next day. They then told me he would be available at 7.am. I eventually spoke to him and he said pity you didn't want the day before, which is what I wanted. This was because he wasn't available till after 9.30. This made things akward, as I had booked an afternoon trip with my wife, so needed to cut the fishing short. Also, the waiting staff didn't always get things quite right, though one of the waitresses, Patricia worked hard to make sure that other staff's mistakes were put right.

Room Tip: Most roooms are really very good, with your bags taken by golf buggy. Ours had a view over the lagoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Conrad Pezula, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Mac M,

Thank you for rating us on Tripadvisor. Feedback like this is valuable and assists us in getting better in service delivery and also recovery. Please accept my apology for not getting the fishing trip right. The waters in and around Knysna is great fishing territory and judging by your profile picture, you love fishing.

I undertake to personally make sure, at the next time when you do stay with us in Knysna that you will have a guide on the day that you wish to go and fish.

We constantly train our team members in the restaurants and will be sure to reinforce your message to sharpen up on the attention to detail.

Best Regards

Gert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
3.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
16.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
4.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.1 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Pezula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Pezula

Address: Lagoon View Drive, Eastern Head | Pezula Estate, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Knysna
#1 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#2 Family Hotel in Knysna
#4 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: $176 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Pezula 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conrad Pezula delivers a whole new world of luxury and privacy in elegant African style. Situated in Knysna, just a 40-minute flight from Cape Town, it is known for its gourmet restaurant, award-winning spa, exquisite location and secluded beach. A wide choice of activities includes golf, tennis, horse riding, canoeing and hiking. Accommodation is in 78 stylish suites each with its own fireplace, balcony or patio and spacious bathroom and 5 two bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Conrad Pezula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pezula Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing