We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B & B I've ever stayed in.”
Review of Blue Oyster B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Oyster B&B
Ranked #19 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best B & B I've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed March 29, 2009

The previous reviews have said it all...a really beautiful house in a great location. The views are fantastic, although you really do need a car to get up and down the hill to the town. (A 5 minute drive).
The Santorini room was spacious, beautifully decorated and with a fantastic bathroom and large balcony area.
Good breakfasts prepared by the lovely Charmaine.
Can recommend the restaurants on the waterfront..."Dry Dock" and "JJ's". Would also recommend a visit to the Monkey Jungle and Birds of Eden at nearby Plettenberg Bay. (Not half as corny as they sound!).
Only downside was the lack of aircon.
Can't wait to return...in fact if I had the cash I would buy the place..!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyBHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    57
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
210
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Blue Oyster is fantastic and must have some of the best views in Knysna perched up on the hill you can see pretty much the entire lagoon and the heads. We stayed in one of the rooms upstairs wth a private balcony this was perfect to watch the sun go down. The bed was massive and v comfy and the bathroom v big. Great pool out in the garden too. Vanessa made you feel v welcome and was v helpful with tons of leaflets for things to do around the area. Knysna itself isa great place with loads to do in and around. The breakfast was cooked by charmaine who looked after you every morning. Great value for money. We would definitely return as we loved it. Hayley & Ryk UK.

  • Liked — the views over Knysna
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hazza79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2008

We stayed at the Blue Oyster for one short weekend as we had a wedding to go to on the Saturday. Arriving late on the friday night after plane delays proved no problem for the owners who met us after hours. The views are really incredible and the place is quiet and peaceful. We found the rooms spacious and tastefully decorated, the cooked breakfast was good but i had the continental breakfast on the second day and felt that could have been better. Nevertheless we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we are back in Knysna, and I have already recommended it to friends and family.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet ( no children under 12, not close to traffic), views
  • Disliked — Am not crazy about spa baths. GIve me a nice straight long bath any day!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookwormCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

Out stay here was excellent. Everyone was very helpful and pleasant, the room was very nice, with many small touches that made it extra special. The views from our room and the bar were fantastic - worth the trek up the hill.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzyhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area, california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2008

The Blue Oyster is a beautiful B&B located up some windy roads on a hill overlooking Knysna, and a direct view of the Knysna Heads (the inlet to the lagoon). The views are stunning, the rooms are spacious and immaculate (we booked the larger room on the second floor, which was well worth the splurge). There were large floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the town and the lagoon, and a long balcony from which to enjoy the sea air. There is a small pool in the back (too chilly for us to try out, unfortunately), and several sitting areas for reading or relaxing. It's primarily reachable by car, and a bit too far from downtown by foot, but the view are worth it!
We had a light lunch at Ile de Pain Bread and Cafe, on Thesen Island, a bustling, quaint cafe with fantastic food (unforgettable but simple sandwich with ham and rocket, and a curried fish dish). Also later had dinner at Zachary's, the restaurant at the chichi Pezula Resort. The food there was absolutely fantastic and the service was impeccable. They have a beautiful dining room, which is perfect for a romatic dinner.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

Having planned a dream vacation in South Africa, i was amazed by the quality of this lodge. Vanessa's kind assistance to get us clothes as our luggage got delayed was the first of many positive aspects.
The Santorini Room lives up to its name, having one view only comparable to Greek island itself. The decoartion was simple but with an incredible sense of harmony and tranquility and the bathroom was very spacious with a great bathtub to relax...
Then breakfast in the terrasse enjoying the sun was another great experience with that splendid view from everywhere you where on this B&B... and we had such a great balcony to appreciate the views that we really felt sorry for only staying one night there!!
As said by others this property is located on top of one of the hills around Knysna and is an easy 5 minutes drive from the waterfront and downtown that are really the highlights around the lagoon. You might also go for a cruise around the lagoon and to the Heads as it can be really nice. Nearby i would like to advise to go to gracious Plettenberg Bay, wild Storms River, Cape Knysna, Wilderness Beach and National Park and finally Buffel's Bay, a wonderful more secluded beach side with warm waters and a calmer sea... As a last information if you want to make Garden Route, don't hesitate and believe me that its a quite nice drive from Cape Town (about 5-6 hours) and its well worthy!! Go also to Mossel Bay as it is a lovely location with a great museum about the Portuguese discoveries... So enjoy Blue Oyster as great base for all these places!! I will come back surely and thank you so much for everything dear Vanessa!!

  • Liked — Location, Comfort, Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2007

Perched high on a hill overlooking Knysna, the Blue Oyster was a wonderful place to call home for three nights. We had one of the larger second floor rooms and I would highly recommend paying the extra amount for this as it was beautiful and very large indeed.

Breakfasts were excellent and filling, the hotel was immaculate and Vanessa was quite helpful.

All in all, a great value given what you get for your lodging dollars.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, breakfasts.
  • Disliked — No internet access
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSKAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
5.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.0 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#14 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Oyster B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Oyster B&B

Property: Blue Oyster B&B
Address: 11 Rio Street | Heuwelkruin, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Oyster B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4 star Mediterranean style villa superbly positioned high on the ridge overlooking the picturesque Garden Route town of Knysna and offering breathtaking 180 degree views of the lagoon and the famous Heads, the majestic Outeniqua Mountains forming a shimmering backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Blue Oyster B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing