We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Oyster B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Oyster B&B
Ranked #20 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Loved the Blue Oyster! Wonderful huge room with a killer view over Knysna. Close to the shops and restuarants (if driving) and if you wanted to burn a few calories then you could walk back up the hill. Vanessa was a really fantastic host, super helpful with directions and things to do and see. We spent 2 nights there and I am only sorry it was too cool to use the pool. Breakfast was really lovely and all the staff were great. I would hightly reccomend this B&B. Thank you Vanessa for all your help!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    57
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
209
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Unic view over the bay of Knysna, steep high. Not so far away from Plettenberg bay beach or Wilderness. Great view at breakfast. Nice and helpfull service. Only pool area needs some facelifting but even the beach ist not far away.

Room Tip: Higher floor with the best view, and lot of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We were very impressed with The Blue Oyster. Beautiful views from our very spacious upstairs room, large bed, nice corner bath & a shower. The staff were very friendly & the breakfasts tasty. Great personal attention from the owner. Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kazlov7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Oyster and for once it was great to stay in a place that looked like the internet photos. The view day and night from the Mykonos room was astounding. Vanessa our host really took trouble to assist us in our ventures to explore and finally when I forgot an ID there, faxed it to our airline so we could send some one to fly on time! The lounge area creates an additional space to relax in and the free WI-Fi that worked fast is a necessity for business people, even when on holiday, we will be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristaLoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne
2 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We recently stayed at the Blue Oyster and enjoyed it a lot. The room was spacious with a stunning view over Knysna. The breakfast was delicious. Vanessa was helpful and gave us useful recommandations and suggestions. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franziska6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This 4* guest house meets all the features one might expect - a clean, bright bedroom and spacious bathroom; a comfortable lounge in which to relax and unwind with an honour bar; a swimming pool; adequate wi-fi and a swimming pool.

But the location is about two kilometres from the centre of gravity in Knysna which is The Waterfront and it is 400 ft above sea level reached through a labyrinth of hilly suburban streets - too far to walk to and from the restaurant area.

Breakfast was modest and unimaginative with a menu that never varied - not an issue if one is only staying for a single night.

Owner Vanessa made every effort to make our stay pleasant and provided helpful guidance on how we might advantageously tour the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Recently returned to the Blue Oyster for the third time. We are regular visitors to SA and find the B&B fantastic value and the views over Knysna are really stunning. Bedrooms are very spacious and the bed was huge and comfortable. Breakfast is superb and sets you up for the day. There is WIFI throughout which is great if you want to keep in touch. Vanessa is the perfect host and her knowledge of the area and local restaurants is invaluable particularly if you are a first time visitor to Kynsna. All in all a great experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
5.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
632 reviews
2.0 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#13 of 126 in Knysna
328 reviews
3.0 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Oyster B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Oyster B&B

Property: Blue Oyster B&B
Address: 11 Rio Street | Heuwelkruin, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Oyster B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4 star Mediterranean style villa superbly positioned high on the ridge overlooking the picturesque Garden Route town of Knysna and offering breathtaking 180 degree views of the lagoon and the famous Heads, the majestic Outeniqua Mountains forming a shimmering backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Oyster B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing