We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Knysna”
Review of Blue Oyster B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Oyster B&B
Ranked #18 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a View!
We had the Hydra room with direct view on the lagoon!
The owner was very helpful and recommended a boat trip on the lagoon and some restaurants. We opted for "34° South" which was a really good choice.
Breakfast was excellent, the room was very clean and spacious.
We were greeted personally by a letter and nicely decorated towels.
Thanks for your attention!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AA_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 308 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

The view from our room and the rest of the guesthouse is brilliant.

The rooms are decorated basically, and are smaller than other places I stayed, but they are clean and well presented.

I also found the place pretty difficult to find (I think this was the only place out of 10 that we stayed in that didn't email us directions), and it was around a 20 minute walk from the waterfront.

Certainly not a bad place to stay, but also not the best that we stayed in. If I went back to Knysna I would find somewhere else to stay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Blue Oyster B&B during our recent visit to South Africa and would highly recommend this exceptional guesthouse. The rooms are spotlessly clean and more spacious than you would find at many hotels that charge far more. The small personal touches such as the provision of an honesty bar and a bedtime chocolate really mark the service as a cut above the norm at this price point. Vanessa & Charmaine are charming and full of ideas and advice to make your stay worthwhile as there is much to do in the local area and choosing is sometimes difficult! There is a wide choice available for breakfast, which is enjoyed looking out at the spectacular view afforded by the Blue Oyster's position perched on a hill overlooking the town and the lagoon. This rates as one of the finest guesthouses I have stayed at anywhere and would struggle to believe that you could do any better for a stay in Knysna.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick_Debi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here in January with my wife as part of our honeymoon trip.
Guesthouse is located on on top of a hill in knysna, it is walking distance from town but its a steep hill and a tough walk back. The guesthouse is lovely.we stayed in a luxury room which was spacious and comfortable.it had a balcony with spectacular views of knysna heads and lagoon.there is a pool at the guesthouse but we didn't use it.
Free wifi is included. Breakfast is made to order and very tasty. Vanessa is helpful with recommending trips and hints.
We would highly recommend this guesthouse.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms have incredible views of knysna
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and thought it was very well kept. Santorini room had a fantastic view, great bathroom and very large and comfortable bed. Service (inc. breakfast) was very nice and a great addition. Definitely worth a stay if you are passing through town.

Room Tip: Santorini Room had big bathroom, nice balcony, nice view and comfortable large bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

During our roundtrip in the Western cape we spent 2 nights at the Blue Oyster.
Beautiful guesthouse at the top of a hill overlooking Knysna harbour.Great room,very clean,very spacious and beautiful vieuw.
Very friendly welcome and delicious breakfast.
Perfect place to stay when you visit Knysna area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette227913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

It was our 12th year wedding anniversary, early January, and both my wife and I have never been to George and always wanted to visit Knysna, so i booked our flights... and our stay at Blue Oyster Guest house. It was the best thing I could have ever done. The Guest house has the most amazing view, the rooms are very nicely situated, clean and very well looked after...what made the biggest differense though...was the service we received. Vanessa is a brilliant host, always going the extra mile to help and recommend and...well we were really blown away. I would highly recommend Blue Oyster. Thank you Vanessa and Charmaine....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dimitris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#23 of 129 in Knysna
330 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
283 reviews
3.2 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#11 of 129 in Knysna
212 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Islander Knysna
The Islander Knysna
#32 of 129 in Knysna
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Oyster B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Oyster B&B

Address: 11 Rio Street | Heuwelkruin, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $70 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Oyster B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4 star Mediterranean style villa superbly positioned high on the ridge overlooking the picturesque Garden Route town of Knysna and offering breathtaking 180 degree views of the lagoon and the famous Heads, the majestic Outeniqua Mountains forming a shimmering backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Oyster B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing