We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wake up to a great view”
Review of Blue Oyster B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Oyster B&B
Ranked #21 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A great B&B at the top of a hill that overlooks the Knynsa heads and waterfront. A sizable property with all the comforts of home in its 3 levels. Well worth the slightly higher premiums. Its owner run so expect personalized and professional service.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the top floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VBJ_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Blue Oyster B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 299 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

The view is really beautiful specially in the morning at my terrace..

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rimji_112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The property is well signposted from the main road and therefore easy to locate. The house is beautiful, our top floor room (mykonos room) was large, well furnished and spotlessly clean as was the large en-suite bathroom. The private balcony has stunning views over Knysna lagoon as does the breakfast room where breakfast of your choice is freshly cooked to order. Vanessa was extremely helpful and we would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: top floor mykonos luxury room
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mam007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at Blue Oyster for 3 nights at the top floor room. Becuase it is on the hillside so it has a very nice view over Knysna lagoon and town. We stayed at the room "Santorini" which is with a big bathroom as you can see from my photos. I would say the best rooms at Blue Oyster are the two top floor luxury rooms, "The Mykonos room" and "The Santorini room".

Room Tip: The Mykonos room and The Santorini room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KL1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We booked a small room for two persons, no problem at all. Large enough and with a nice view. The breakfast was excellent with an even better view over the Knysna lagoon. Friendly and helpfull staff. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raimund L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Vanessa went out of her way to make us both feel at home on our anniversary weekend stay. The Mykonos Room is stunning and has a luxurious king sized bed. The morning breakfasts (whilst viewing the Knysna harbour) we scrumptious. Our view from the private balcony in our room was wonderful.

We will definitely be visiting and staying again!

Awesome stay in an exceptionally comfortable B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosephShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The best B&B we had on our 4 weeks trip through South Africa. The place is situated on a hill overlooking the Knysna Lagoon, which was really, really great! Blue Oyster is a wonderful decorated house with nice rooms, you fell like home. Thanks to Vanessa&Charmaine

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful, the two on second floor have balcony, all rooms have lagoon view!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ute m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.0 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#15 of 127 in Knysna
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 127 in Knysna
646 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 127 in Knysna
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bridgewater Manor
Bridgewater Manor
#5 of 106 in Knysna
173 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
3.2 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#16 of 127 in Knysna
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Oyster B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Oyster B&B

Address: 11 Rio Street | Heuwelkruin, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $76 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Oyster B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4 star Mediterranean style villa superbly positioned high on the ridge overlooking the picturesque Garden Route town of Knysna and offering breathtaking 180 degree views of the lagoon and the famous Heads, the majestic Outeniqua Mountains forming a shimmering backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Oyster B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing