We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good view over Knysna lagoo and big bathroom”
Review of Blue Oyster B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Oyster B&B
Ranked #19 of 130 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at Blue Oyster for 3 nights at the top floor room. Becuase it is on the hillside so it has a very nice view over Knysna lagoon and town. We stayed at the room "Santorini" which is with a big bathroom as you can see from my photos. I would say the best rooms at Blue Oyster are the two top floor luxury rooms, "The Mykonos room" and "The Santorini room".

Room Tip: The Mykonos room and The Santorini room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KL1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 318 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

We booked a small room for two persons, no problem at all. Large enough and with a nice view. The breakfast was excellent with an even better view over the Knysna lagoon. Friendly and helpfull staff. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raimund L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Vanessa went out of her way to make us both feel at home on our anniversary weekend stay. The Mykonos Room is stunning and has a luxurious king sized bed. The morning breakfasts (whilst viewing the Knysna harbour) we scrumptious. Our view from the private balcony in our room was wonderful.

We will definitely be visiting and staying again!

Awesome stay in an exceptionally comfortable B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosephShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The best B&B we had on our 4 weeks trip through South Africa. The place is situated on a hill overlooking the Knysna Lagoon, which was really, really great! Blue Oyster is a wonderful decorated house with nice rooms, you fell like home. Thanks to Vanessa&Charmaine

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful, the two on second floor have balcony, all rooms have lagoon view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ute m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Friendly staff. The place is situated on a hill above Knysna Bay. Walking down into the centre is easy-walking up a little harder..
Good breakfast and well-kept rooms. You'll get a lot of information about the local activities if you ask for it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night during our garden route drive in November 2012. Both Vanessa and Charmaine were charming hosts, very informative and made us feel very welcome. Vanessa gave us great suggestions on where to eat and how to plan our one and only day in Knysna. The room was immaculate, the views of the lagoon were great and the bottle of fizz awaiting our arrival was an extra special touch! 100% recommend! Thank you Vanessa and Charmaine

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VineshAndShivani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Oyster in Novemeber this year and our experience was amazing. Vanessa and her wonderful assistant Charmaine were informative, gracious and very hospitable. They would go the lengths to ensure that we had a memorable experience.The room we were allocated was just fabulously spacious and the views from them were amazing. the breakfasts were simply amazing and we were lovingly greeted by Charmaine and her warm smile and charming personality. we would definately recommend! Recommend, recommend!!!

Room Tip: The Room with the Walk in closet is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kavita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#25 of 130 in Knysna
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hide Away Guest House
Hide Away Guest House
#14 of 130 in Knysna
409 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 130 in Knysna
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
292 reviews
3.2 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#13 of 130 in Knysna
216 reviews
3 mi away
Pumula Lodge
Pumula Lodge
#18 of 130 in Knysna
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Oyster B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Oyster B&B

Address: 11 Rio Street | Heuwelkruin, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $80 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Oyster B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4 star Mediterranean style villa superbly positioned high on the ridge overlooking the picturesque Garden Route town of Knysna and offering breathtaking 180 degree views of the lagoon and the famous Heads, the majestic Outeniqua Mountains forming a shimmering backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Oyster B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing