We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to Stay In Knysna”
Review of Blue Oyster B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Oyster B&B
Ranked #19 of 130 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We spent two fabulous nights at Blue Oyster Guest House in June 2012. Having read the trip advisor reviews I was fairly certain this would be a great place to stay and we were not disappointed in any way. Vanessa was extremely helpful right from the start with my booking enquiry. She thoughtfully and throughly answered all my questions regarding the different rooms to ensure booking the best room for us.

Upon arrival at the guesthouse, both the Mykonos and the Santorini rooms were available. We were shown both rooms and allowed to select between the two.

Both rooms are fantastic and it was a difficult decision but we decided to take the Santorini room. The Mykonos room is a bit bigger, but the Santorini room has both a larger bathroom and balcony. Views from both rooms are magnificient. The room is very tastefully decorated and the rose petals scattered about are a nice touch. The huge bed is very confortable, and despite the cold weather outside, the room temperture was just right.

Upon our arrival, Vanessa gave us a tour of the common rooms (encouraged us to add more wood to the fire as needed if she wasn't present), explained the honesty bar, and gave us a great dinner recommendation (JJ's and reserved it for us) based on our personal preferences.

Breakfast is very good, a choice between Continental or Full English and was served in the dining room with a great view of the Knysna Heads. I ordered the Full-English, but without meat as I am vegetarian, and it was a nice surprise to have veggie sausage substituted instead of the meat. Charmaine takes care of the breakfast service (and the rooms) and we really enjoyed our morning chats with her. It is easy to see that she really enjoys her job and helping guests have the best possible stay.

The two days we spent in Knysna were a bit windy and rainy, and Vanessa was extremely helpful suggesting both rainy and non-rainy activities for us and really helped to tailor our short stay to make the most out of our time. Her restaurant recommendations were spot on for us as well, and her suggestion of Sirocco for dinner was appreciated as she even arranged for them to come pick us up giving us a break from driving.

Thank you both Vanessa and Charmaine, we throughly enjoyed our stay with you and we will be back. I can easily recommend the Blue Oyster Guest House without hesitation, especially for the friendly and welcoming service, great rooms and the out of this world views. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Both Santorini and Mykonos are very nice, we did not see the other 2 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapePenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 318 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were attracted to the Blue Oyster by the positive reviews and were not disappointed. It is a special spot with wonderful views over the Knysna lagoon. Our room was amazing: spacious and comfortable with an outside balcony to watch the light change on the water. Vanessa was a charming host and we could not have asked for better.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SchalkNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We had a great stay at the Blue Oyster wonderful views of surrounding
area and Lagoon , really nice room super breakfast great and very helpful
staff to make your stay special .
Vanessa really makes sure all your needs are taken care of for your
stay only small point if you are not that fit you will need a car as
guest house is on top of a hill above town of Knysna .
Would stay again .

Best Wishes
John Keane & Ann Marie Harrington .

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I've stayed here a few times and Vanessa and Charmaine make you feel at home. The rooms are very clean, well appointed and have amazing views.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had a perfect experience at the Blue Oyster. It's a beautiful place, inside and out; it offers extraordinary views of the Knysna harbor, town, and surrounding mountains; its rooms are spacious, modern, and tastefully furnished and decorated; its garden lovely and peaceful; its breakfast excellent -- served with cheerful attention and readiness, even eagerness, to meet special requests. We would stay there again, and this time stay a lot longer than three days.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glessd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed three nights single, business/pleasure. Fantastic stunning views over the Knysna Lagoon and inlet.
The room was spotlessly clean, decor was excellent, bathroom clean, warm, and spacious.
Being English the English breakfast was just that, superb, with plenty to eat and drink.
Business facilities excellent, WiFi and spacious lounge with table to spread out.
Staff could not have been more charming, nothing too much trouble.
All in all a very pleasant experience and would highly recommend, will be returning shortly for another break.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Any facing the Lagoon. Priceless views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights as a weekend getaway. Awesome views of the Knysna lagoon! We all in all really enjoyed out stay. Comfy bed, huge bathroom and a nice warm fire in the common room is all we could wish for. Breakfast was a choice of continental or english or whichever combination prefered ;)... nice! Thank you Vanessa for making our stay a great experience!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#24 of 130 in Knysna
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hide Away Guest House
Hide Away Guest House
#14 of 130 in Knysna
409 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 130 in Knysna
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
292 reviews
3.2 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#13 of 130 in Knysna
216 reviews
3 mi away
Pumula Lodge
Pumula Lodge
#18 of 130 in Knysna
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Oyster B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Oyster B&B

Address: 11 Rio Street | Heuwelkruin, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $80 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Oyster B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4 star Mediterranean style villa superbly positioned high on the ridge overlooking the picturesque Garden Route town of Knysna and offering breathtaking 180 degree views of the lagoon and the famous Heads, the majestic Outeniqua Mountains forming a shimmering backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Oyster B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing