We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true pearl”
Review of Blue Oyster B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Oyster B&B
Ranked #19 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A true pearl”
Reviewed October 13, 2007

Perched high on a hill overlooking Knysna, the Blue Oyster was a wonderful place to call home for three nights. We had one of the larger second floor rooms and I would highly recommend paying the extra amount for this as it was beautiful and very large indeed.

Breakfasts were excellent and filling, the hotel was immaculate and Vanessa was quite helpful.

All in all, a great value given what you get for your lodging dollars.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, breakfasts.
  • Disliked — No internet access
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSKAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    57
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
210
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2007

We found the Blue Oyster B&B through a webiste recommended to us by a friend and it did not disappoint.

The B&B is extremely spacious including our room. The rooms are immaculate and have fantastic views of the Knysna Heads.

There is also a two lounge areas, bar and plunge pool.

The staff are very friendly and are willing to provide advice and make bookings for you to the local attractions and good restaurants to eat at.

We feel extermely safe at the B&B and would recommend to others holidaying on the Garden Route.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff and Good Service
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2007

excellent all round. beautiful room with stunning views of bay. nice secluded rere with swimming pool. scrumptious breakfast

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank joe&betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2007

The views are terrific and the Blue Oyster is clean and centrally located. There is a small pool in the back for hot summer days as well as a grill to make your own South African braai. Our room overlooked the lagoon and the pool and was very spacious with a fair sized terrace, separate walk-in closet (also with a view) and private bathroom with a shower and jacuzzi tub. We were very happy here.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2006

The property is high on the hill behind Knysna approx a 3 min drive from the main street or waterfront.

The accommodation is clean and tidy although fairly basic. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room was on the ground floor and as such security was a concern for us ie you could not sleep with the windows open and as there was no air con this would be uncomfortable in the heat.

Knysna appeared to be a fairly sleepy town. We did have a lovely Cape Malay meal at Carmens Corner which we would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonHoothings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2006

Great place to stay with wonderful views. Vanessa will book a restaurant before you arive as the restaurants get very booked up. Cant praise the staff, breakfast and room enough. Lots to do around Knysna. Good place to stay for a few days. We did and stayed for 3 days and still not enough time to see everything.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Bit of walk downhill to town but we are fit so no problem
  • Tips/Secrets — Lots to do in Knysna
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2006

We spent four days in Knysna and it was the highlight of our 17 days in South Africa. The view from The Blue Oyster, run by Vanessa and Charmaine, has to be the best in Knysna. It is high above the town with views of the whole Estuary and the Heads.

The Blue Oyster is just lovely. Everything, from the welcome to the lovely room we stayed in, was just perfect. We stayed in the Mykonos Room which was very large with a VERY comfortable super kingsize bed and a HUGE bathroom (with corner bath), a large dressing room with loads of cupboard and a balcony.

On arrival everything looks so welcoming (little flowers placed on the towels and in the bathroom), coffee and tea making facilities etc, TV etc.

Downstairs there are two sitting rooms with TV and an "Honesty Bar" (you just write down what you've taken and pay at the end).

Breakfast is a great experience, cooked by Charmaine (anything you want, from Full English to Continental, fresh juice, wonderful coffee). The dining room itself has the same wonderful views over Kynsna through the big windows.

I would have no hesitation at all in recommending the Blue Oyster to anyone. We'll be back soon I hope!

Helpful?
14 Thank fionamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
5.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.0 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#14 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Oyster B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Oyster B&B

Property: Blue Oyster B&B
Address: 11 Rio Street | Heuwelkruin, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Oyster B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4 star Mediterranean style villa superbly positioned high on the ridge overlooking the picturesque Garden Route town of Knysna and offering breathtaking 180 degree views of the lagoon and the famous Heads, the majestic Outeniqua Mountains forming a shimmering backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Blue Oyster B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing