We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My family and I stayed over just for a night, on the trip back from CPT to JHB. I tried getting accomodation in a few places but was not successful as most of them wanted a min of 2 nights stay. The reception at Knysna Hollow was so efficient, they assisted me within minutes. When we arrived, we were surprised to see that they had even put in an extra bed for one of the kids. The sheets were clean, the bathroom was clean and neat, it was fantastic after a long drive. The staff at breakfast were extremely warm and welcoming, the food was great. We actually decided that on our next outing down the Garden Route, we will definitely stay for more than just one night!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travelfairy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your overnight stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all very happy to hear that we could accommodate you on your trip and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future. With best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 538 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

The room is spacious but the setting is average. The TV is old and only a few English channels available. The bathroom is quite dated. There is a pool just outside of our villas but I didn't see anyone usingit. The restaurant serves fine food in a very classy and warm surroundings. The food is yummy and the price is right. We enjoyed our two nights there because of the restaurant. As said, the room can be improved.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We're sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations but are very happy to hear that you enjoyed dining with us in our restaurant. Thank you again for the proactive feedback and all the best from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed here as part of a Riviera Tour for 2 nights. Very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was similar to other Hollow Hotel we stayed at in Hazy View. It was rustic cane furniture but very clean and comfortable. The meals and breakfast we had were excellent. They have a strange numbering system for the rooms and our room number 9 was next to number 32

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillericayEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay here at Knysna Hollow - we are all glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and trust that you had a safe trip back home. Thanks once again and best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We were booked into this property by our travel agent and since we were travelling by hire car we did not mind that it was well outside Knysna township. It looked to be a nicely kept establishment, with pleasant internal views, however it did not match up to the description provided by our agent. Points in favour were the lovely staff in the restaurant, the shop, laundry service, the staff on the hospitality desk and the fact that they allowed us to upload photos on the computer there. Disappointments were the facilities in the room (lighting, phone to reception, proper compendium of services), the loud noise made by workers and guests on the gravel pathways early in the mornings but worst of all the terrible and totally unexpected noise of traffic roaring along to a nearby school also in the mornings, which shocked us awake on the first morning and was frustratingly familiar from then on.

Room Tip: Ask if it backs on to the road behind the estate running to the school and don't accept it if it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roslyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow - we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service from our staff and are obviously disappointed about the disturbances you experienced from guests, staff and traffic noise during your stay. We do our best to try and minimise the impact of noise on the property caused by some guests leaving earlier than others and unfortunately have no control over the movements of traffic around our hotel at certain times of the day. We trust this did not impact on your stay too much. With kind regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Absolutely gorgeous, only booked in for one night as stop there along our trip down garden route. Wish we had booked in for a week. Accommodation set around swimming pools, we were going to do some sight seeing in knysna, but could not leave. Enjoyed the day by the pool instead, enjoyed a relaxing day by poolside, (even had lunch brought to you.), while kids swam and had fun. Absolute bliss. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thanks very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are all tremendously pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here in this beautiful part of South Africa. With warm regards from Clive and the Team at Knysna Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on our tour of South Africa with THompson's Africa. We stayed in Lodge 10 in a lovely large bedroom and bathroom. The lodge was well maintained with nice furnishings. Breakfasts and dinners were very good, though no sugar free preserves available. There was a limited hospitality tray. The lodges were cold, but an open fire with logs to burn is provided. The bar area is good to sit and chat in, but drinks are on the expensive side for South Africa.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbriaChevalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we may be able to welcome you back to our part of the world in the not-too-distant future. With warm regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I was booked in here by my agent on my way back from Port Elizabeth. On arrival I found the staff at reception to be very friendly and helpful. In the evening I had a wonderful dinner and again, the staff was good.

My room was very basic but comfortable.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to travellers.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
Thank SATOURER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Knysna Hollow and we are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. With kind regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
16.4 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
103 reviews
4.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
4.1 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#18 of 30 in Knysna
38 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belvidere Manor
Belvidere Manor
#17 of 30 in Knysna
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: $141 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Hollow Country Estate was badly damaged in the Knysna Wild Fires on June 7 2017 and the business is currently closed, pending substantial renovations and construction. We hope to be operational again in the latter half of 2018 and plan to re-open with a superior, 4-star standard of accommodation complemented by a brand-new destination restaurant and wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knysna Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing