We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Idyllic place”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Lovely hotel stayed here for two nights. Rooms very clean and spacious staff very friendly. Would definitely return to this hotel if staying in this area again. Gardens were beautiful and tidy despite the onset of the winter! Kynsna itself is very clean and only about a 15 minute walk from this hotel into Knysna. A visit to the Featherbed Nature reserve is a must.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshirefriars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review of you recent stay at Knysna Hollow and we are all thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Warm regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    230
    73
    21
    9
See reviews for
102
262
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The rooms here are all spread out over a large area. The rooms are dated and have obviously been here for a long long time.

There is a wall heater which is useful for quick drying socks, etc, and a separate bathroom with toilet and large large shower. Old style basin with mixer. Shower worked fine with plenty of pressure and hot water.

Dinner and breakfast was fine – watch the 30 rand corkage if bringing your own wine. The place is a little out of the way so no close shops in walking distance that I could see. Breakfast only starts at 7am which may be inconvenient for some.

WIFI internet is throughout the complex but only the first 50Mb per day is free which I used up just checking emails - I wondered whether the metering system is inaccurate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozitravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you very much for the detailed review of your recent stay at Knysna Hollow, we certainly appreciate the time taken and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your travels through South Africa. With kind regards from Clive and the Team at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights as part of our 2 week trip of South Africa.All positive,friendly attentive staff,excellent food at a reasonable price.Had the standard accomodation,this was more than adequate for a 2 night stopover,if you stayed for longer you might want to upgrade.I didn't think it necessary.If returning to this area, I would have no hesitation in checking in here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jockhaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks ever so much on the great review of your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. It makes a real difference to the whole Team to hear about our guest's experiences and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon! Kind regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We were booked here as a party of five and were upgraded to their chalets. These hobbit houses with thatched roofs are very large and quit charming. The roaring fire was needed to take off the chill, tile floors and stone walls kept in the damp. The one pitiful electric heater did little to warm the morning. Breakfast was typical and good. We did eat dinner and food was better than average. This is squarely a tourist hotel as the two big tour busses in the lot made clear. They left early though and did not affect us.

We did come back on the return drive west and enjoyed it all over again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank handyman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks very much for the great review of your recent stay. We are all very happy to hear that you did enjoy both your stays with us and we sincerely hope we may be able to welcome you back sometime soon again! Best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Knysna Hollow, having stayed in her sister hotel nr Kruger we knew we were in for a treat and was not disappointed. The rooms were comfortable and well set out. The bathrooms of a good size, having the most amazing double shower! The food here was divine with a great array of wines to choose from. In the afternoon it was great to set the chairs out on our little stoep with a coffee and just take in the sounds and smells of South Africa. In a great location within Knysna marina. If you get a chance have a bubble gum or lime milkshake from the shops at the harbour they were amazing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigghogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Wow, what a great review thank you! We are all thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully you will be able to return to Knysna Hollow for another stay at some time in the future. Thanks again and best regards from Clive and the crew at Knysna Hollow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We held our annual sales & marketing conference at Knysna Hollow in Jan 2013. It really was such a great venue to have a conference at. The peaceful garden setting is stunning, especially as a break between sessions, or at the end of the day. The three swimming pools, offer a refreshing dip on a hot summer's day. Cuisine is of a high standard, but it is also a short 5min drive to Thesen Island and a variety of great restaurants. The chalet I stayed in had its own lounge with fireplace and a newly renovated bathroom. It is just a 5min walk to the Knysna Lagoon and another 20min walk to the Knysna Waterfront. The hotel does not have a gym, but I particularly enjoyed running along the lagoon in the mornings. The conference room had all the required technology

Room Tip: Ask for a garden chalet! It costs more, but is a thatched stand-alone unit with fireplace and a bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LodgeLover888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for the detailed and positive feedback on your recent conference stay with us earlier this year at Knysna Hollow and we are all thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time at Knysna Hollow. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you and your Team back to Knysna Hollow in the near future. With warm regards from Clive and the entire Knysna Hollow crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Knysna Hollow has everything you'll need for a few days in the area. We had a garden room by one of the 3 pools, a massive bed, lovely high ceilings and a fab double shower...no fighting for who goes first!
The restaurant for breakfast has a lovely feature stone fireplace and the breakfast selection was great.
There's a bar/pub with TV for those who want to watch sport in a pub atmosphere.
The a la carte restaurant was lovely the good friendly service and great food....but then we didn't have a bad meal in South Africa at all.
The only slight downside for me was it's location, while the grounds are lovely you are a short drive from downtown Knysna with it's Waterfront restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKBritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks ever so much for your review of your recent stay with us here at Knysna Hollow. We are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Knysna and we hope to be able to welcome you back at some time in the not-too-distant future. With warm regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
3.1 mi away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
2.0 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Property: Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2km from the picturesque town of Knysna, Knysna Hollow Country Estate offers comfortable accommodation and friendly service in lush and tranquil surrounds. Three swimming pools, a first-class restaurant offering contemporary Cape cuisine with an extensive wine list and a relaxed environment all combine for a memorable holiday for the whole family. Various room types to choose from including Garden Rooms, Garden Chalets and our new Superior Eco Estate Rooms, each room type offering various levels of comfort and amenities at different rates. Enjoy the lush, country feel of our indigenous gardens, yet only 5 minutes from Knysna town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knysna Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing