We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April 2013 for Five Nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“April 2013 for Five Nights”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay after an upgrade to a detached bungalow at a cost of about an extra 1200rands for the four nights .We initially had a garden room but were disappointed to find that there was no safe or,fridge, and only one chair inside and one garden chair on the patio . There was also no soap dish and tumblers in the shower room and the tea tray had only powdered milk . The upgrade gave us ,a large bath ,shower and twin wash basins,a fridge,two comfortable chairs inside and out , a double bed and not singles.No individual safe though valuables could be left in a safe at reception.
The setting is very pretty and the above may seem less important if your stay is only one or two nights.
The staff are very good especially in the restaurant where Denzel and Amos are particularly attentive. The food was very good.
We did enjoy our stay but I would definitely recommend booking the detached accommodation.

Room Tip: See above,our bungalow was near the back fence and there was some commuter traffic noise at 7am and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 804stomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks very much for the detailed and positive feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your upgraded room and that our Team took good care of you during your stay. With kind regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    238
    74
    21
    9
See reviews for
102
270
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Pity the garden rooms have only two single beds. Having some with double and some with two single beds would be more suited. Made sleeping uncomfortable at times.
We had a double shower but only one of the showers worked. Was comfortable and pleasant otherwise. Nice setting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us. Warm regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montegiorgio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel was booked by our travel agency during our trip thru the garden route,
The appearance of hotel is nice, the cottage are big but the bathroom is horrible, they have 2 big shower and very small sink.
We had only one time dinner in the restaurant, food was OK but the atmospheres was cold, I couldn't read the menu because there is very little light, and they didn't even ask if we want to change the table.
Over all look like a motel, plenty of new guest every days and services are not warm at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cunillu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Knysna Hollow and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay here with us. We sincerely appreciate the feedback and will do all we can to improve in these areas, where possible. With warm regards from Clive and the Team at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A well placed hotel on the N2 just before Knysna. Situated in a well appointed estate with thatch cottages and two out door swimming pools. We paid for a suite which was very comfortable with a large bathroom( two hand bowls) and comfortable beds. The breakfast was good,everything you would want with eggs or omlette cooked fresh on the griddle. The restaurant was very good value and the deck good for a lunch time snack. We stayed for 8 nights and found the location great for getting out and around the area. Can recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a garden chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for the tremendous feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are all very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. With many thanks from Clive and the entire Team at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights during our trip along the garden route for our honeymoon. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised to discover our room had been upgraded and were lead to our chalet, with its thatched roof surrounded by beautiful gardens. All of which made it hard to believe you where in a town.

The staff are all so helpful, welcoming and friendly. It is also popular with coach trips, which can make dining a bit noisy. The good is also of good quality.

The only negative we do have and it is no means the staffs fault, was the early morning wake up calls from the guineafowl.

The concierge service also offers a car washing service for a small tip, nice touch.

Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tclark104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Knysna Hollow. We hope to be able to welcome you back at some time in the future. With kind regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed over at the Knysna Hollows hotel for 3 days and from the initial booking with Claudine to the time that we arrived, we were treated like VIP guests.The rooms of our garden chalet was very spacious with a very large bathroom and a long double shower that the 2 young boys absolutely loved. The bedrooms was very neat and our garden chalet was right next to the pool...certainly a recommendation.
The rondavel (hut shaped) chalets all have names of indigenous birdlife and the outlay of the chalets with ample flora of the area complimenting this added greatly to the peaceful setting.
Breakfast was excellent and something that I looked forward to and we all thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is set just of the N2 (national highway) and is a few kilometers outside of the town of Knysna which means that you're away from the hustle and bustle. The hotel is very family orientated although our only slightly bad experience was with a tourist who wanted to swim/train lengths in the hotel pool whilst my two boys was just trying to have a swim and she thought they were getting in her way but thankfully we were able to resolve this without hotel management's intervention. We were rather sad to leave at the end of our stay but this is a place that I will most certainly re-visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks very much for the great feedback on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow with your family and we are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Until the next time when we hope to welcome you back, all the very best from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Loved it! The little hut was great, a sitting room, two showers, comfy bed, beautiful setting what more can you ask for. We had a great time here the staff were great and Denzel you are great "Denzel Washington" we so enjoyed your fun and the awesome service...I still have the autographed wine label! Great fun!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHRMLWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback on your recent stay with us here at Knysna Hollow - we are all tremendously happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will pass your comments on to Denzil (Washington) as well. Kind regards from Clive and the entire Knysna Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
800 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
2.0 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Property: Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Address: 5 Welbedaght Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"We regret to inform you that Knysna Hollow was completely destroyed in the fire and will not be in operation in the foreseeable future." Located just 2 km from the picturesque town of Knysna, Knysna Hollow Country Estate offers comfortable accommodation and friendly service in lush and tranquil surrounds. Three swimming pools, a first-class restaurant offering contemporary Cape cuisine with an extensive wine list and a relaxed environment all combine for a memorable holiday for the whole family. Various room types to choose from including Garden Rooms, Garden Chalets and our new Superior Eco Estate Rooms, each room type offering various levels of comfort and amenities at different rates. Enjoy the lush, country feel of our indigenous gardens, yet only 5 minutes from Knysna town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Knysna Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing