We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and I liked it very much. Our garden room was attractive, immaculately clean and comfortable. I liked the fact that the garden rooms were set in a circle around a very pleasant garden area where there were sunbeds and chairs, as well as a small swimming pool. We were on a coach tour and our first dinner was included..this was a set meal with choices for each course and I thoroughly enjoyed it, as well as the dinner the following night which I was able to choose from the main menu. There was a great selection of fruits, hot and cold food as well as pastries and juice, for breakfast. The staff I came in contact with were helpful and friendl and I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gools68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us - it is always tremendously gratifying to hear that our guests have enjoyed their time at Knysna Hollow and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon! With warm regard from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 538 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

While I enjoyed my stay here, I have mixed reviews. The guest lodge was comfortable and we enjoyed our group dinners there - having plenty of wine helped. The room however, felt a bit like a hostel. There were three of us sharing for this tour. The beds were comfortable and there were chairs on the porch to enjoy the environment. But the bathroom was strange. It didn't feel 100% clean, the shower(s) were awkward - there was one long rectangle with shower heads on each end as if we're meant to shower together. I guess some people may enjoy that sort of things but they were far enough apart that it was strange. And we had a heck of a time turning off the water! At one point we had to call for help because we couldn't get the hot water off and it was scalding.
Otherwise it was entirely pleasant.

Room Tip: You'll need a car to get to town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you ever so much for the detailed feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we really appreciate your constructive input. With kind regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in January 2013 and had a wonderful time.We stayed in one of the chalets which was fitted with everything we required.The restaurant food was very good (a little slow on one of the nights (i think 2 bus tours came in that night for diner and that might explain the delay)but the staff were very friendly and polite.The landscape around the hotel were very well maintained and we enjoyed the privacy of the area.
We would stay in the hotel again if we ever return to SA.

Room Tip: The chalet were beautfull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miketheredfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you very much for the positive feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow - we are all thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! With warm regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Having visited Knysna Hollow in 2012 on a coach tour, we decided to come back independently. Everything was perfect from the location and rooms to the staff and the restaurant. With such a peaceful setting in beautiful gardens and with so many activities available in the area we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theportersof46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your second stay here - we hope to be able to welcome you back for a third visit sometime soon! Kind regards from Clive and the entire Knysna Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The standards and facilities at Knysna Hollow are A1. The rooms and chalets are impeccably presented, the grounds are maintained to perfection, the outdoor pools and pool areas are spic and span, and if you should find that you need anything which is not already provided, the General Managers, Clive and Liesel Battell will ensure that is sourced with the utmost expediency. Breakfast on the lawn is wonderful, one is more or less surrounded by nautre, and generally the two restaurants and the 'pub' provide gratifying fare to suit most tastes. The rates are attractive, they are comparable to a UK / Europe city centre chain, except that here you are in the lap of luxury and tranquility. This is a location where, once you leave the lagoonside main road and drive the few hundred metres to the former Country Estate, you can switch off, sign off, and leave the rest of the world behind you. The flip side of this is, there is very little else to do here if you are holidaying. So, tuck into some fresh oysters, peruse the gardens, swim, relax, and enjoy......

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwritetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thanks for the great feedback on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow, we always appreciate the time given to post a review and we are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. With kind regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Last week I spent 4 nights at Knysna Hollow on conference. I have to say it was a fabulous stay. This place is really amazing... a special oasis on the Garden Route and is so close to everything. We did not spend time out and about exploring, besides going on a sunset cruise but you can see it is so central and would be a great place to base yourself when exploring the beauty of the Garden Route.

Knysna Hollow is really a special place - you feel so welcome - the staff are so friendly and nothing is an effort. The food was great - varied and tasty from breakfast through to dinner and the tea-time snacks were a real treat fresh and tasty - well done guys.

Lovely conference venue - spacious and comfortable (even a fire place for those colder times of the year). This was a great choice of venue - a superb country estate with beautiful lush gardens that were a treat when we were on our breaks.

The accommodation was simple, but spacious and comfortable and more importantly very clean. It was good to be able to sleep well during a long conference.

All in all this was a really great week away and the whole package (location, venue, staff, food and accommodation) made the conference enjoyable and although we were really busy I felt relaxed.

Room Tip: I stayed in a Garden Room which was simple and comfortable and VERY clean. I have stayed in a Superi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RascalSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thanks for the fantastic feedback on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow. Myself and all the staff really appreciate the detailed information and we hope to be able to welcome you back at some stage in the near future. With kind regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Knysna Hollow and all its staff have the perfect set up for seminars. We spent 2 wonderful days on site whilst working, only pausing for the odd break to enjoy the snacks on hand. Ever meal was superb and the friendly well mannered staff made our time at the grindstone pass quickly and without delay. The 6am breakfast start was a treat for an early riser like myself! The location is quiet and arranged to insure privacy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thanks for the positive feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we all appreciate the time taken to give us your comments. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back sometime soon! Kind regards from Clive and the crew at Knysna Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
862 reviews
2 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Hollow Country Estate was badly damaged in the Knysna Wild Fires on June 7 2017 and the business is currently closed, pending substantial renovations and construction. We hope to be operational again in the latter half of 2018 and plan to re-open with a superior, 4-star standard of accommodation complemented by a brand-new destination restaurant and wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Knysna Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing