We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and nice set up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location and nice set up”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Knysna Hollow. Lovely units and all surrounding one of the pools. This also helped in it feeling more private than it could have been, if there was 1 pool.
The staff and management and Knysna Hollow know what it means to give good customer service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen75_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here. With thanks and regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    239
    74
    21
    9
See reviews for
102
270
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The Estate has many thatched roof villas in a lovely green setting. Ample parking. Large rooms, at least in the modern complex, with clean bathroom. Friendly staff always ready to assist. Very good quality & generous country breakfast is served. Nice swimming pool. About 5 minutes drive to the Waterfront, and 20 minutes to the East Head Cafe. Brenton-on-Sea is another 15 minutes away. Mario's Italian bistro at the Waterfront is a popular choice as is Ocean Basket.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Humouresque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive and detailed review of your recent stay at Knysna Hollow. We are always happy to hear when our guests are satisfied with their stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back soon. With best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very well located for those travelling through the garden route. Well appointed cottages (thought baths are very sparsely furnished). Service was friendly. Apparently one of the best restaurants in the Knysna area. We enjoyed our meal. Breakfast service is great (sit outside if travelling in the summer months). Three pool, well-maintained gardens (but not overly landscaped, retaining their natural charm).

Room Tip: Choose a cottage over a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magiccarpetride2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to stay at some time in the future. With kind regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed for two nights (January 2nd and 3rd) and apart from a picturesque scenic setting found nothing about this hotel noteworthy.
The rooms were decent sized and the beds were ok but closet space was inadequate without any safe for storage of valuables...unacceptable in my opinion. In fairness, the other furniture including a coffee table, two armchairs in the room and one outside on the verandah was decent. The bathroom was large and shower pressure was good but the sink (basin) had seen better days and was probably twenty years old!
The lighting was saved from being a total disaster by a fairly efficient standing lamp and there were a couple of plugpoints for appliance-charging which was a saving grace.
Service at checkin and at reception was bordering on the brusque side but the breakfast staff were cheerful and efficient. Breakfast was not special...but was filling and of acceptable quality and the sausages were remarkably good.
The hotel had lovely grounds and a nice garden but seemed to be on a cost-cutting mission..there was nothing added to the visitor's stay to make it memorable. This was a shame as a property as beautiful as this one could be a really top-notch hotel!

Room Tip: All the rooms i saw overlooked nice grounds...whether any of them were better appointed than my room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Knysna Hollow and we are disappointed to hear that you found your stay to be average. We appreciate the detailed feedback and will look at ways we could improve upon our offering to our guests. With thanks from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for two night on our way east. The hotel was easy to find and the staff were very friendly and welcoming, as was Charlie the cat! The food was plentiful and tasty and the service excellent.

There was only one little problem. On entering our room, there was a noticeable unpleasant damp smell every time. However, this soon almost disappeared once all the windows were opened. However, it was always there on our return. Apart from that, the stay was a very enjoyable one and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive comments on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow and we are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. With best regards for the New Year from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located in a quiet area just out of town, a car is an essential.
Large room near a pool. No airconditioning but was not required. Service all round was very good. Lack of any English TV channels is a minor negative.
Do yourself a favour and eat at least one dinner in the restaurant. Food is well prepared and priced very reasonably.
I recommend the Krynsna Hollow, especially for families.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. May we wish you a prosperous 2013 and we hope to welcome you back soon. With kind regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I will definitely return, staff are very friendly and helpful, accommodation is clean and neat! Love the large double shower we had in our room! The poolside service makes you feel like royalty, the location is just outside of the centre of knysna, tucked away between some hills, protecting you from the crazy busy knysna during the holiday season! A true escape! Will be the only place I stay when traveling past knysna from now on!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NumchuckZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow - we are all thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience and hope to be able to welcome you back at some stage in the near future. With Festive Season regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
809 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
4.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Property: Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Hollow Country Estate was badly damaged in the Knysna Wild Fires on June 7 2017 and the business is currently closed, pending substantial renovations and construction. We hope to be operational again in the latter half of 2018 and plan to re-open with a superior, 4-star standard of accommodation complemented by a brand-new destination restaurant and wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knysna Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing