We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good hotel in Knysna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Knysna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located in a quiet area just out of town, a car is an essential.
Large room near a pool. No airconditioning but was not required. Service all round was very good. Lack of any English TV channels is a minor negative.
Do yourself a favour and eat at least one dinner in the restaurant. Food is well prepared and priced very reasonably.
I recommend the Krynsna Hollow, especially for families.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qld-traveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. May we wish you a prosperous 2013 and we hope to welcome you back soon. With kind regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    194
    60
    18
    8
See reviews for
86
215
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I will definitely return, staff are very friendly and helpful, accommodation is clean and neat! Love the large double shower we had in our room! The poolside service makes you feel like royalty, the location is just outside of the centre of knysna, tucked away between some hills, protecting you from the crazy busy knysna during the holiday season! A true escape! Will be the only place I stay when traveling past knysna from now on!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NumchuckZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow - we are all thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience and hope to be able to welcome you back at some stage in the near future. With Festive Season regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

the room was fine, as was the pool - however we did not receive any pool towels. we had dinner at the hotel restaurant and the food was below average, though the lady serving us charming... but didn't make up for the culinary disappointment. all in all ok if you don't eat there.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gast70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow and we are disappointed to hear that you did not find the food up to standard in our restaurant - hopefully we may be able to make it up to you should you return at some stage in the future. Thank you once again and all the very best for the Festive Season from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed in the garden chalet for two nights while we enjoyed the local area on a month long South Africa holiday. Conveniently located if you have your own car (which we did), Knysna Hollow was great for our needs.

The room was spacious and the bathroom huge and nicely appointed; although the rooms only had a fan and not airconditioning this was fine for the cooler December nights.

There were two pools we could make use of and both were very quiet and cool.

We only ate breakfast and it was the only minor disappointment - the staff seemed to have difficulty in cooking the hot food properly. The bacon and the sausages were both partially undercooked and very unappertising.

Staff were happy to help book us in with activities and we received a 10% discount at the Elephant Park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrissa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you very much for giving us your feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and sincere apologies for the problem you experienced with the breakfast. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Knysna Hollow at some time in the future. Kind regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton-on-Sea, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Wonderful hospitality, best food ever - great stop over when traveling between Cape Town and PE . Previously had a family re-union at Knysna Hollow - 90 of us - Knysna Hollow was a perfect venue.
Lynda

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is about 3km from the centre of Knysna. Apparently, it has 3 pools - one is a reasonable size, one is much smaller and round. I didn't see the third one. The food was good and the staff were generally friendly and helpful. This is a hotel used by coach parties - some only appear to stay overnight - and at breakfast and dinner the restaurants were always busy and sometimes extremely noisy. My room was one of a dozen or so in a crescent-shape around the round pool area and sometimes this pool area was extremely noisy late at night as guests seemed to congregate there. The bed was comfortable and the room was of a decent size, although the lighting was poor and it was a bit difficult to read. The bathroom was OK - the shower was very good with plenty of hot water. Unfortunately, there was no safe in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whereintheworld957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your candid comments and feedback on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow - I must apologise for any inconvenience you may have encountered due to our high occupancies in peak season, but we are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us nonetheless. With warm regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Although the rooms are not as grand as its sister hotel Perrys Bridge Hollow , the thatched roofed chalets were spacious and very comfortable. There is no air conditioning , just a ceiling fan but in the cool nights in December this wasn't an issue . Great breakfast , very pleasant staff , free wifi is available but not great a connection.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renee080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow - we sincerely value your candid feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 29 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.9 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#2 of 29 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Property: Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Address: 5 Welbedaght Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2km from the picturesque town of Knysna, Knysna Hollow Country Estate offers comfortable accommodation and friendly service in lush and tranquil surrounds. Three swimming pools, a first-class restaurant offering contemporary Cape cuisine with an extensive wine list and a relaxed environment all combine for a memorable holiday for the whole family. Various room types to choose from including Garden Rooms, Garden Chalets and our new Superior Eco Estate Rooms, each room type offering various levels of comfort and amenities at different rates. Enjoy the lush, country feel of our indigenous gardens, yet only 5 minutes from Knysna town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Knysna Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing