We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location, great amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed in the garden chalet for two nights while we enjoyed the local area on a month long South Africa holiday. Conveniently located if you have your own car (which we did), Knysna Hollow was great for our needs.

The room was spacious and the bathroom huge and nicely appointed; although the rooms only had a fan and not airconditioning this was fine for the cooler December nights.

There were two pools we could make use of and both were very quiet and cool.

We only ate breakfast and it was the only minor disappointment - the staff seemed to have difficulty in cooking the hot food properly. The bacon and the sausages were both partially undercooked and very unappertising.

Staff were happy to help book us in with activities and we received a 10% discount at the Elephant Park.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrissa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and sincere apologies for the problem you experienced with the breakfast. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Knysna Hollow at some time in the future. Kind regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 538 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

Wonderful hospitality, best food ever - great stop over when traveling between Cape Town and PE . Previously had a family re-union at Knysna Hollow - 90 of us - Knysna Hollow was a perfect venue.
Lynda

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is about 3km from the centre of Knysna. Apparently, it has 3 pools - one is a reasonable size, one is much smaller and round. I didn't see the third one. The food was good and the staff were generally friendly and helpful. This is a hotel used by coach parties - some only appear to stay overnight - and at breakfast and dinner the restaurants were always busy and sometimes extremely noisy. My room was one of a dozen or so in a crescent-shape around the round pool area and sometimes this pool area was extremely noisy late at night as guests seemed to congregate there. The bed was comfortable and the room was of a decent size, although the lighting was poor and it was a bit difficult to read. The bathroom was OK - the shower was very good with plenty of hot water. Unfortunately, there was no safe in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whereintheworld957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you very much for your candid comments and feedback on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow - I must apologise for any inconvenience you may have encountered due to our high occupancies in peak season, but we are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us nonetheless. With warm regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Although the rooms are not as grand as its sister hotel Perrys Bridge Hollow , the thatched roofed chalets were spacious and very comfortable. There is no air conditioning , just a ceiling fan but in the cool nights in December this wasn't an issue . Great breakfast , very pleasant staff , free wifi is available but not great a connection.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank renee080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow - we sincerely value your candid feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed two nights at Knysna Hollow earlier in November and were impressed by the warm welcome we received and especially by the helpfulness of receptionist Cheryl when we needed a replacement for our rental car. She made several phone calls and assisted us in various ways. Our accommodation, chalet number 2, was excellent, spacious and comfortable, and very close to the main building. Although the restaurant was very crowded on both evenings, service was swift and waiting time short.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

A wonderful review of your stay at Knysna Hollow and thanks very much for taking the time to post your comments - we really enjoy hearing from our guests in regard to their experiences during their stay with us. All the best from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here..... would reiterate all the other reviewers have stated. The gardens setting and the pool area were delightful, and the flowers beautiful when we visited. The restaurant was very comfortable and the food and service excellent.
Our individual room was large and very comfortable.
Two quibbles: as with its sister hotel at Hippo Hollow, we suffered by being in a room with a door adjoining another room, which is not soundproof. Our neighbour snored loudly for hours, and despite headphones and earplugs, I found it very hard to get to sleep!!
Secondly, the bathroom, whilst refurbished and spotless, had a bath (no problem), but the shower fixture and hose was fixed to the wall, just above and behind the bath taps at one end, and could not be reached while sitting in the bath if one wanted to wash one's hair for example. Neither could it be used standing up, as there was no shower rail or shower curtain. So not much thought gone into planning that, then!!
Aside from that, great place to stay and a beautiful part of the world to enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow, or a room with no adjoining door to someone else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrigeenYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow and very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us (despite the snoring neighbours). We hope to welcome you back to Knysna Hollow at some time in the near future. Kind regards from Clive & the Knysna Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Spent one night. Great service, wonderful breakfast. Great poolside area with lovely surrounding gardens. Rooms clean and tidy with beautiful double showers. Staff very attentive and friendly. I can see why the bus loads of tourists choose to stay here, even if it is a little out of town

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tgerntholtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at Knysna Hollow. We are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us and hope to be able to welcome you back at some time in the future. With kind regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.0 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
3.1 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Belvidere Manor
Belvidere Manor
#15 of 30 in Knysna
301 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#25 of 30 in Knysna
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: $143 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Hollow Country Estate was badly damaged in the Knysna Wild Fires on June 7 2017 and the business is currently closed, pending substantial renovations and construction. We hope to be operational again in the latter half of 2018 and plan to re-open with a superior, 4-star standard of accommodation complemented by a brand-new destination restaurant and wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knysna Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing