We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but rooms not too clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
norwich
Level Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Excellent but rooms not too clean”
Reviewed October 6, 2007

Stayed at this hotel after seeing the wine region of SA. Upon first arrival at this hotel its very nice and clean. We were given chalet 11, which was nice and big. No bath but dbl shower. Upon waking up after our first nights sleep we found the room covered in bugs and dead things every where. We spoke to the reception who sent someone with fly spray. We went and spoke to the reception desk and they then moved us to chalet 13. Same style of room and bug free.

The maids for the room dont spend long cleaning at all, we were outside on the pool area and saw them spent less then 10 mins cleaning it. Even forget to take out the last people who stayed there guest comment cards. Also we sent out cleaning off and it came back damp!! Had to leave our heaters on to get it dry.

As people have said before, the hotel is a great stop of place and you get a lot of coaches coming and going at all hours of the day and night.

Now to the best bit: The service off the front desk staff and the waiting staff is excellent. Nothing was or did not appear to be too much trouble for them. We ate in the Ala Carte for the first two nights and the food was very good, wine excellent and the whole experience made you feel welcome. The bar area is bright and welcoming, only thing i did not like is the fact that Sky sports was on during pre dinner drinks. A little thing but i did not like it.

All in all, its a lovely place and if it was not for house keeping it would off been a little gem but i think we all like to know were sleeping in a clean room.

But go, you wont be upset u did.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — House keeping
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dean k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    235
    74
    21
    9
See reviews for
102
266
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pau, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2007

We stayed in Knysna Hollow during a trip on the Garden route and it was the best accomadation we had. The place is lovely, in a quite area away (but not far) from the town, and the staff very kind. The chalets are cute, with nice/huge and clean bathrooms.
The restaurant is also to be recommended : good food and nice wine list.

  • Liked — the confort
  • Disliked — no air conditioning
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibi-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2007

We stayed here for 3 days as part of a self organised tour along the garden route and have to say that it was the nicest place we stayed in. We had a thatched cottage right by a great pool and next door to the restaurant, so it was well placed for us as we had 2 young children. The restaurant staff were friendly and attentive - breakfast buffet was great - my son ate 5 croissants one morning and it was no hassle, they just kept topping him up :o) Coach parties were fine for us, didn't disturb us at all. Felt that we were amongst the youngest people there which was a bit odd, but didn't notice any disapproving looks at the children. Overall, a relaxing break from the travel with good clean faciltiies, great pool and helpful staff.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank ss_familyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2007

Groups of thatched cottages/lodges around pools. Very airy, clean, spacious rooms. Peaceful and relaxing. Grounds well maintained - some noise from water pumps or irrigation system, but this was turned off when requested at night
Two eating places - good quality restaurant and buffet/grill style. Both offer high quality food. Breakfast good choice from standard buffet style juices/fruits/cereals etc, hot dishes and eggs cooked on demand
Staff well trained, friendly. They even managed to keep a straight face when an American woman, after many questions about ducks, asked "and which species of duck does the Hippopotamus eat ?" !!
There is currently a traffic problem around Knysna because of repair work following heavy rain and land subsidence along the coast road, so journey times need extra time allowance, but once you are there, Knysna Hollow is an excellent place to chill out as well as being convenient for accessing local attractions such as Featherbed Nature Reserve

  • Liked — Grouping of cottages around pools
  • Disliked — No problems
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlemaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2007

We drove down from Cape Town to Knysna on arrival saw two or three coaches in the car park so could tell it was a tour stopping off point.

The reception staff were very friendly as were all the staff during our stay.

The hotel setting was beautiful and we had a lovely room in a thatched building just yards away from the main restaurants. The room was lovely and large and decorated very authentically.

Dinner in the a la carte was OK but no more than that - food was a little overcooked and although the service at our table was very good there were a few people complaining at the time they'd waited between courses. It was raining that night and the restaurant did seem to be at full capacity and this may have had something to do with it.

  • Liked — The beautiful setting
  • Disliked — The food in the restaurant
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for three days at the beginning of February, and enjoyed staying here. We stayed in a thatched room with an unbelievely high ceiling. The room contained everything that you would expect in a tourist hotel, other than a Safe, which we think the hotel should have provided. Most of the hotels we stayed in during our stay had one in the room. To be fair to the hotel they do ask you to store valuables in the hotel safe, but I know most people would prefer not to have this hassle, and much prefer there own personal safe. We also thought they could do with more places to put washing items on in the bathroom. On site there were three very good pools, of which I used two of them. During the day you pretty much had them to yourself. We eat at the restaurant on one night and had a perfectly acceptable meal at a reasonably price. Breakfast was ok.
Location wise Knysna Hollows is about a mile from the town , and therefore the atmosphere is a lot more relaxed than it would be if you stayed in the town. We did see one or two of the places in town we had considered staying at, and were glad we had chosen the Hollows.
One thing we did not like about the property was the coach parties, or to be more accurate the coaches. Each of the nights we stayed there were two coaches on site. The problem we found that the coaches engines were started very early in the morning at 7am or earlier which woke us. We might just have been unlucky as our accomodation was close to the car park.
Off site we like the waterfont as it was easy to get to and park, we eat there on two occassions, we also when on a catamaran from there. We would also recommend driving up to the heads where there is a restaurant as the views are wonderful.
There are plenty of activities to do in the area, we went canoeing up the Knysna river which was well worth doing it. We did also try and drive up to the forests, but gave up when we realised that the roads were unpaved.

  • Liked — Pretty location
  • Disliked — Lack of safe, Coach parties
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank needdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2007

Quiet location about 1 mile outside of Knysna with a series of rooms grouped around 3 swimming pools. Bar, buffet and a la carte restaurant attached all of which are excellent value.

Service from all of the staff was excellent and nothing appeared to be too much trouble.

Food and drink were of a high standard and very reasonably priced. Would happily return in future.

  • Liked — Peaceful
  • Disliked — Lack of phones/web access in rooms
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Seadog68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
2.0 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
3.1 mi away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Property: Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Address: 5 Welbedaght Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2km from the picturesque town of Knysna, Knysna Hollow Country Estate offers comfortable accommodation and friendly service in lush and tranquil surrounds. Three swimming pools, a first-class restaurant offering contemporary Cape cuisine with an extensive wine list and a relaxed environment all combine for a memorable holiday for the whole family. Various room types to choose from including Garden Rooms, Garden Chalets and our new Superior Eco Estate Rooms, each room type offering various levels of comfort and amenities at different rates. Enjoy the lush, country feel of our indigenous gardens, yet only 5 minutes from Knysna town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Knysna Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing