We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Area”
Review of Knysna Lagoon

Knysna Lagoon
Book In Advance
More Info
$120.00*
and up
Half-Day Knysna Village Cycle Tour
Ranked #5 of 76 things to do in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
281 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Pretty Area”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We enjoyed seeing the lagoon from the apartment we rented. The tidal change was greater than we expected which made for different views each time we looked.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adventurers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    179
    26
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The bomb”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Knysna lagoon is actually an estuary, with abundant wild life, fish, bird life and OYSTERS! Many restaurants lace the water, and several can be reached by boat, which offers that little special extra. Spend the day fishing by boat, cruise into the harbour for cocktais, go skiing or visit a beach restaurant, arriving in style on the water. So much to do here. No boat? Rent a house boat or make use of one of the many ferries.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Arrow69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
176 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

WE had a calm pleasant stroll around the area. Nothing too spectacular but we needed some unwinding after all the adrenaline of our adventure in the area of the past few days so it was just the ticket.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GRIMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“SAIL WITH FEATHERBED SAILIING CHARTER”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A worthwhile experience with Featherbed. The large catamaran was spotless and was handled very competently by the skipper and crewman. Light sailing was done in the lagoon but the thrill was motoring out past the Heads into the Indian Ocean. The swell was noticeable on the outside but for us the winds were too light. It was very scenic and picture worthy. This is not a Gin Cruise! The skipper prefers to get the sails up. Duration was about two hours. Safe and fun and plenty of sea air, go for it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank beaway24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect afternoon trip”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Planned to go on a cruise to the nature reserve, but as it was out of season there were not enough people to go, so ended up on a catamaran trip around the lagoon instead. It was blissful, the weather was great, especially for September, and we sat on the front of the boat as it went through the Heads out into the ocean. Earlier that day, whales were spotted but we were not so lucky although we did see a seal as we headed back into the harbour! Would thoroughly recommend this relaxing trip which lasted about 1hr 20mins.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mandyd1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knysna Lagoon also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Knysna Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing