We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views”

Featherbed Nature Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$2,299.85*
and up
11-Day South Africa Highlights Tour from...
Ranked #12 of 80 things to do in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featherbed is a privately-owned, registered Nature Reserve and a South African Heritage Site, No.59. It is a pristine piece of paradise situated on the Western Head of Knysna and is accessible by ferry only.In order to protect the splendour of the natural beauty, access to the Reserve is controlled. Numbers are limited and visits are only permitted in the company of the Reserve's specialist guides.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

A leisurely boat ride takes you from Knysna to Featherbed Nature Preserve. The preserve is filled with lush, rich plant life. A vehicle takes you up the steep mountain to the top which affords you stunning views of the coastline. The hike to the bottom is steep in places and some of the viewpoints are on tricky paths but don't skip any of them, especially the steps down to the caves. The final path back to the start is along the coastline. It is such a beautiful, unique experience. I LOVED IT.

Thank maisoui_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Maissoui

It is such a pleasure to hear that you LOVED our eco-experience. It is always so refreshing to see the positive comments!!

Please do visit us again.
Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"buffet lunch"
in 81 reviews
"nature reserve"
in 96 reviews
"boat trip"
in 109 reviews
"milkwood trees"
in 18 reviews
"sea caves"
in 12 reviews
"trailer ride"
in 20 reviews
"fantastic buffet"
in 9 reviews
"walking stick"
in 10 reviews
"eco tour"
in 11 reviews
"western head"
in 29 reviews
"km walk"
in 16 reviews
"walked down"
in 12 reviews
"indian ocean"
in 39 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 15 reviews
"spectacular views"
in 34 reviews
"knysna heads"
in 48 reviews
"lovely trip"
in 9 reviews
Filter

535 - 539 of 948 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

Amazing trip, the nature is treating us with its best views in the reserve. It is a truly special place. The boat trip and then the walk were very entertaining as well as, thanks to our guide Ally, very informative. Thanks to Ally's unique style of guiding we have enjoyed very much. A truly unique experience. Not to forget that the food in their restaurant was yummy , the staff friendly and professional. Congratulations to the restaurant manager Micheal for incredible service offered.

Thank AlexdeMooij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Alex

Thank you so much for your positive review!! We are very pleased that the team exceeded your expectations.

Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time on the boat cruise around the lagoon on our way to the reserve. The boat looked a bit rusty, but I relaxed once I climbed on board. Gabriel our guide was very enthusiastic and seemed very knowledgeable of the area. The 2km hike down the mountain was enjoyable thanks to the agreeable weather. You have to take the steps to the caves, what a breathtaking scenery. At the end was a lovely lunch to finish off the wonderful trip. I would definitely recommend it.

Thank Siphiwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Siphiwe

Thank you for your comments. Just to put your mind at ease, our ferry is built out of aluminium which does not rust. She is a very trustworthy vessel.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

A boat ride from Knysna takes you to the Featherbed Reserve. Our Guide Ali (who orinated from London UK!) was amusing and informative . The trip to the top of the reserve gave stunning views of the coastline . I would not recommend coming down by foot if you have mobility issues as it is steep and rough underfoot. You can take the bus down again. However, it is worthwhile if you can manage it as is the walk along the coastline. Lovely views and interesting flora and fauna .

Thank Bellou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Bellou2

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed it.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

On the first day I was given completely wrong directions to the place and I was 10 min late and "they couldn't wait" and then on the second day I've tried going on the cruise there where not enough people so they just cancelled it (Obviously I was not inform and was told only when I got there).

after I've told them about what happened and complained about it they've said that "it's regulations" and there is nothing they can do about it.

Really unprofessional and inconsiderate service!

Thank Itamar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Itamar M

We regret you feel that way. We would like to note that your directions were given to you telephonically whilst en-route to us. We kept the boat for an extra 5 minutes, however we had to depart on time out of respect for our other guests who were on time and also had tight schedules to meet. We willingly re-scheduled your tour for the next day, however due to weather conditions prevailing we had to cancel the tour 15 minutes prior to departure. You were informed of that decision immediately and personally.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Featherbed Nature Reserve also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Featherbed Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing