We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views”

Featherbed Nature Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$2,227.69*
and up
11-Day South Africa Highlights Tour from...
Ranked #12 of 80 things to do in Knysna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featherbed is a privately-owned, registered Nature Reserve and a South African Heritage Site, No.59. It is a pristine piece of paradise situated on the Western Head of Knysna and is accessible by ferry only.In order to protect the splendour of the natural beauty, access to the Reserve is controlled. Numbers are limited and visits are only permitted in the company of the Reserve's specialist guides.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have just returned from our eco tour of the Featherbed nature reserve and we really enjoyed the spectacular views from the top of the Eastern headland. We didn't see any wildlife but it was still interesting. Very good buffet lunch. Only critisism the party sizes are too large, 60 people in each group is too many. Eating at the Olive Tree tonight so will report on that tomorrow

Thank Jasmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Jasmin

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your eco-tour and appreciate your suggestion regarding group sizes.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"buffet lunch"
in 81 reviews
"nature reserve"
in 96 reviews
"boat trip"
in 109 reviews
"milkwood trees"
in 18 reviews
"sea caves"
in 12 reviews
"trailer ride"
in 20 reviews
"fantastic buffet"
in 9 reviews
"walking stick"
in 10 reviews
"eco tour"
in 11 reviews
"western head"
in 29 reviews
"km walk"
in 16 reviews
"walked down"
in 12 reviews
"indian ocean"
in 39 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 15 reviews
"spectacular views"
in 34 reviews
"knysna heads"
in 48 reviews
"lovely trip"
in 9 reviews
Filter

543 - 547 of 948 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

This is a private nature reserve located on the western headland . It is a guided tour of the reserve with guides who are very humorous at times . The tour comprises of a return boat trip lasting about twenty minutes . On arrival group is loaded into tractor trailers that will take you to the top . You then have the option of walking down a rocky trail back to the landing dock or returning with the tractor and then walking on the flat beach area . The buffet lunch is served under the milk wood forest and is plentiful and excellent . Try the ice cream and chocolate sauce ! Don't forget to TIP your guide , thanks does not pay there bills .

Thank JohnFinchPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear 666Satan

Thank you for once again visiting us. We truly appreciate your support. Our guides always try and bring in some humour to add a different element to our tours and we are pleased you enjoyed it. Please do visit us again soon.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Go on a boat and tractor ride and hike down the nature reserve. With hysterical commentary from the guide:) The landscapes are breathtaking

Thank MattAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear MattAfrica

A good laugh coupled with breathtaking views, a nature walk and some good old fresh air is medicine for the soul!!! Thank you for visiting us.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We started with a boat trip across the Knysna lagoon on a perfect day. Reaching Featherbed we travelled to the highest point by a sort of Tractor Train with lovely views over to Knysna and across the lagoon. Once at the top we had a leisurely 2.2 km walk through the forest with viewpoints overlooking The Heads and 120 steps to some caves back to the restaurant at the bottom. There we were served a lovely buffet lunch and could relax for an hour under the trees before heading back across the lagoon.
This is a nice trip for everybody no matter how old or what the abilities.
For myself I wish the walk in this beautiful area could have been extended.
All in all a very pleasant experience.

2  Thank BiggiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear BiggiJ

Thank you for taking the time to review our eco-experience. We are very pleased you enjoyed yourself and that you had a relaxing time.

Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Excellent combination of a return boat trip across the lagoon, a ride to the top of the headland, a walk down past caves and viewpoints, and three course lunch. Our friendly and informative guide (Gabriel) looked after us very well!

1  Thank Maybeormaybenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Maybeormaybenot

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your excursion. We will definitely thank Gabriel for doing a sterling job.

Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Featherbed Nature Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Featherbed Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing