We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful views”

Featherbed Nature Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$120.00*
and up
Half-Day Knysna Village Cycle Tour
Ranked #7 of 76 things to do in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featherbed is a privately-owned, registered Nature Reserve and a South African Heritage Site, No.59. It is a pristine piece of paradise situated on the Western Head of Knysna and is accessible by ferry only.In order to protect the splendour of the natural beauty, access to the Reserve is controlled. Numbers are limited and visits are only permitted in the company of the Reserve's specialist guides.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Beautiful scenery and a really pleasant walk. It might be a bit difficult for people with walking problems. There were a lot of steps but you are provided with walking poles which were really useful. The lunch stop was under shaded trees and the buffet meal was really good with lots of choice.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelsearchagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    272
    81
    21
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Outing not to be missed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The trip across the water by ferry was very pleasant. A super duper guide, Helen, who told us all about Knysna and the surrounding areas, Arrived on Nature Reserve to enjoy a tractor ride pulling us to the top of the mountain with a trailer. We saw animals , plants and the scenery was absolutaley out of this world. Well done to all who made our day so special.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe-Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromont, Canada
Level Contributor
313 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Perfect guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Yes, our guide was perfect. Beside being a beautiful women, she had a perfect pronunciation (she was not mumbling) and we could understand every word (she should has been a teacher) . She made our day (all the 25 of us). The boat ride is nice and once across you take a tractor to get on top of the hill. Nice little ride , a bit bumpy. Once at the top you get down on your own. Nice views of the sea along with the lagoon . Very beautiful place. Once down we had dinner which was very good . It includes shrimps and nice desserts. Definitively a place to visit as it is relaxing. I thank Helen for that day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank B265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
412 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing boat ride: not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This beautiful trip on the water is heavenly. it is relaxing, and so enjoyable. you stand on the deck and view the sandbars, dogs running on the bars, breathe the air that a fellow traveller called " satiny" and just enjoy being part of something big and beautiful. i could have continued cruising for longer.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank unhappytraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seamer
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice half day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

its a boat ride and then a tractor ride up to the cliff top and then a long walk down really enjoyed it. and the food was good as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank richardseamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Featherbed Nature Reserve also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Featherbed Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing