We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's the attraction ??? ...”

Featherbed Nature Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$2,299.68*
and up
11-Day South Africa Highlights Tour from...
Ranked #12 of 80 things to do in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featherbed is a privately-owned, registered Nature Reserve and a South African Heritage Site, No.59. It is a pristine piece of paradise situated on the Western Head of Knysna and is accessible by ferry only.In order to protect the splendour of the natural beauty, access to the Reserve is controlled. Numbers are limited and visits are only permitted in the company of the Reserve's specialist guides.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a beautiful sunny day to take the ferry over to the Eastern Head of Knysna where this reserve is. Our tour group took 4.5 hours to complete the visit. Much too long !!!! I expected to learn about the flora of South Africa ... the guide of the tractor ride to the top of the dune talked into a mic. You never knew what he was seeing and describing -- therefore, nothing was learned. Same goes for the guide heading the 2.5 km hike back to the restaurant. He talked to one person at a time, the person behind him.
Lunch was a stampede for food, a boring buffet, although the dessert did include the delicious malva pudding.
This excursion was just a chance to get some fresh air and some exercise, which can be rare when travelling with a tour group. The ferry ride is relaxing ... boring ???! We did get a few nice pictures of the Western Head and of Knysna.

2  Thank belleamie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"buffet lunch"
in 81 reviews
"nature reserve"
in 96 reviews
"boat trip"
in 109 reviews
"milkwood trees"
in 18 reviews
"sea caves"
in 12 reviews
"trailer ride"
in 20 reviews
"fantastic buffet"
in 9 reviews
"walking stick"
in 10 reviews
"eco tour"
in 11 reviews
"western head"
in 29 reviews
"km walk"
in 16 reviews
"walked down"
in 12 reviews
"indian ocean"
in 39 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 15 reviews
"spectacular views"
in 34 reviews
"knysna heads"
in 48 reviews
"lovely trip"
in 9 reviews
Filter

684 - 688 of 948 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

Yes, we went with a tour group, but it didnt spoil our enjoyment. The boat trip over was very pleasant, and the trip up the mountain and down again was good fun. We saw loads of birds, beautiful flowers, two whales out at sea, interesting plants, cliff caves, etc. as well as fabulous views along the coastline.
The restaurant at the bottom provided a great lunch with good choice, under the shade of the old trees.

Thank CarrigeenYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were told that we HAVE to do that. What a boring experience which could have been much more pleasant if we could do it on our own and not with huge tourest group. The walk etc is stunnig but the experience a disaster and ripoff

1  Thank HanlieDurbanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFeatherbedCo, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our premier attraction on the Garden Route, the Featherbed Eco Experience. We take your complaint seriously and it is with sincere regret that we read that you experienced our tour in the way you did.

Unfortunately it would not be possible to allow individual guests to roam the Private Nature reserve on their own and get left to their own devices due to our stringent safety regime. Our qualified guide accompanies each group not only in the event of any medical emergencies but also to impart integral information regarding fauna and flora and the history of the headland explaining the fauna & flora of our pristine headland and the history surrounding the Company existence for the past 29 years.

Not only would this endanger each individual client but also our headland as guests would wonder off the allocated paths and possibly destroy the sensitive landscape and ruin this beautiful site. It is unfortunate that you feel that our tour is a rip off however, if you were to do a comparison to a similar activity, which includes an all guided tour comprising of a ferry ride, 4x4 unimog drive an optional 2.2km walk and a medetarainan buffet lunch you would see that our fee is rather affordable.

When you felt that your experience was a “Disaster” we only wished you brought it to our attention on the day in order address your concerns directly after the tour. The Featherbed Company operating for almost 30 years prides itself in having each individual guests leaving us with an unforgettable experience on the Knysna Lagoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Loved it all even the lunch which was excellent but not for anyone who has difficulty in walking for pathways and walk are steep and uneven, also wear trainers.

Thank charlie007cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excelent value for money, nice boat trip around half an hour each way, good walk down the hills, views to die for, lunch was excellent spoilt for choice!

Thank PamY_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Featherbed Nature Reserve also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Featherbed Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing