We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Under Milkwood Chalets
Ranked #1 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“magic staff”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stunning setting and views over the lagoon from the 3-bedroomed chalet. Lovely comfy bed and staff who really went the extra mile to make our short stay memorable. Will definitely go back for a longer stay. Very good value for money. Our Swedish visitors didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: ask for a chalet on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeni l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    86
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
165
92
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stay for 2 nights at Under Milk Wood resort, and was blessed with sunshine. Under Milk Wood is a nice relaxing place for a weekend away of even a one night stay. The staff are very friendly and helpfull. We even went out to the Knysna forest for a walk and then visit the Knysna elephant park. We wanted to stay longer but due to our next visit in Port elizabeth we would've sray longer. Lying on the sand at the beach right in front of the cabin was nice, you dont have to worry about anything. Exellent service. I will be back, that's a fact.

See you soon Under Milk Wood.

Room Tip: all the log cabins are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

This is the second opportunity I stayed at Under Milkwood and it again did not disappoint.

Beautiful log cabins, spotlessly clean, very well equipped. You feel quite comfortable using the fully fitted kitchen - all utensils are very clean, equipped with everything you may need. Bedrooms are comfortable and bathrooms very clean.

The living room and master bedroom have double doors that open out onto a fantastic wooden deck with spectacular views across the glorious Knysna Lagoon. There is a fully equipped bbq on the deck with table and chairs allowing to you enjoy a traditional "braai" while taking in the magnificent vistas.

The cabins are cleaned every day and evn the bbq is cleaned for you after its use.

There is easy direct acces to the lagoon to use the kayaks provided or walks on the lagoon bed at low tide. Really good to do this 1st thing in the morning before breakfast.

An amazing facility, with staff providing exceptional service with the trademark warm african smile.

I will most definately be back!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SafferB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I loved it, views are incredible, staff are so friendly and I found the room to be exceptional. I certainly look forward to visiting again soon. A truly luxurious experience in every way. Paul from London

Room Tip: Ask for sea view if possible, but even the other rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We checked in to Under Milkwood and found that it smelled like the Staff never discovered cleaning tools. There was nothing special there except the placement of the hotel and the beach. To be exact, the smell was mildew.
The kids ran wild because there was nothing for them to do. We were going to stay for two days, but we made it a B&B. Please do NOT come here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fourinourfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Amazing place. Log cabins right on the shallow beach of Knysna inlet - kids were delighted. Beautiful cabins with 2 bed, 2 bath, full kitchen, BBQ and living. We only had one night but should have stayed a week. It is out of town but that is not all bad! Sunset was amazing and the kids loved being paddled around in the canoes (all included).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

Stayed here just a couple of nights during a tour of the Garden Route. Wished it was longer. We were in a waterfront cabin (Strangely called "Sailors Arms") The cabin had a fairly basic twin bedroom, a double bedroom with en-suite, a fully equipped kitchen and a comfortable lounge area opening onto a balcony with spectacular views across the lagoon. Just a few steps down from the balcony was a small private beach, with canoes you could paddle around in if the fancy took you. There was a separate decked area at the side with the ubiquitous barbecue and an outdoor dining area. The lodge does serve breakfast, but it is much better to buy your own and sit on your balcony and take in the view. Although there's no restaurant/bar on site, Paquita's Restaurant & Bar is a short walk down the hill right on the Eastern Head (where the ocean enters the lagoon) Not exactly gourmet, but good value and a top location. All in all, Under Milkwood is an idyllic little place if you want to chill out. Take note it is about 6km outside Knysna town centre, so if you want to look around the town, you'll need to drive.

  • Liked — The great location
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing to dislike
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
800 reviews
7.8 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
3.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
3.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Under Milkwood Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under Milkwood Chalets

Property: Under Milkwood Chalets
Address: 13 George Rex Drive | The Heads, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Under Milkwood Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the tidal shores of the famous Knysna Lagoon, lies a collection of 16 self-catering timber chalets, nestled amongst leafy vegetation and indigenous Milkwood trees. The tranquil setting offers guests a haven of leisure and comfort. It is the only resort at the world-renowned Knysna Heads to have direct access to the beach, which is framed by the Featherbed Nature Reserve and the majestic Outeniqua Mountains on the far horizon. Perhaps while relaxing on your patio, you will even catch a glimpse of one of South Africa's most striking birds, the scarlet-winged Knysna Loerie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Under Milkwood Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing